SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-07-2010, 07:10 AM
btrcp2000 btrcp2000 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 888
Splitting sage from WHS, best place to store photos/music??

This weekend begins the umpteenth rebuild of my sage server, which I have separated from WHS to its own win7 machine. It will be backed up however by an off-the-shelf Acer h340 WHS box. For stuff that is permanent (baby pics, music,ripped dvds), is it best to store on whs and have sage pull from there, or to store on the sage machine and have whs back up along with everything else? Are there speed issues if sage is always pulling from somewhere else on the network? What if the WHS box is asleep?
__________________
[size=1]Current Server:V9 UNRAID Docker, SuperMicro x9dri-LNF4+, 32 GB ECC, 2x Xeon e5-2660v2, storage array 6TB, 2 Dish r5000HD tuners, 1 HDHomerun Quatro, 1 HDHomerun Extend
4 Nvidia Shield TVs with Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-07-2010, 07:49 AM
ohpleaseno ohpleaseno is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: South Florida
Posts: 464
Put everything on the WHS with folder duplication turned on. I strongly recommend (especially for the pictures) that you use some sort of online storage for them (picasa is super cheap).

I have the same setup as you (went from a WHS install of sage to a Win7). If your sage box get borked, instead of having to restore a ton of media, you're only doing the system and recordings.

I have SJQ set up to transcode recordings older than three weeks and automatically move them to the WHS. The less you have in the backup, the faster and easier it is to restore a broken machine.
__________________
Server: WHS with 11TB of storage
Clients:1) HD-200 to a Samsung 32" Slimfit CRT HDTV 2) HD-200 to a Pioneer 26" X1 LCD
Tuners: 1) HD-Homerun 2) Avermedia USB ATSC
Twitter: ohpleaseno
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-07-2010, 08:10 AM
btrcp2000 btrcp2000 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 888
Hmm, hadn't thought about the recordings. I don't really care about them in terms of backup. I have not had a functional whs box in several weeks, and I forget can I tell the WHS nightly backup process to ignore the separate physical drive that contains the recordings, and only focus on the OS drive?
__________________
[size=1]Current Server:V9 UNRAID Docker, SuperMicro x9dri-LNF4+, 32 GB ECC, 2x Xeon e5-2660v2, storage array 6TB, 2 Dish r5000HD tuners, 1 HDHomerun Quatro, 1 HDHomerun Extend
4 Nvidia Shield TVs with Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-07-2010, 08:38 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by btrcp2000 View Post
Hmm, hadn't thought about the recordings. I don't really care about them in terms of backup. I have not had a functional whs box in several weeks, and I forget can I tell the WHS nightly backup process to ignore the separate physical drive that contains the recordings, and only focus on the OS drive?
Yes. You can go back into the PC you have configured for backup and uncheck the physical drives and/or have it exclude folders in the WHS console.

As to your original questions I have and/or work with my photos/music files on another PC and have WHS back up that PC and those files. (So I copy/sync those files out to WHS which is my Sage server) I think it is 6 of one, half of dozen of the other as to how you want to do it. I'm not sure there are any real disadvantages in either.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-07-2010, 08:52 AM
tchapin tchapin is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 279
If you're keeping the WHS box, I would use that to store your "static" content. However, if the WHS server goes to sleep and does not support "wake on lan", that content will be unavailable.

You should have no network speed issues with having the static content on a separate box from the physical sage machine. Tons of people do that.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-07-2010, 10:49 AM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,344
For sake of ease, keeping pictures and documents on the WHS is better. For best protection against loss, keeping the files on another networked computer is probably better. You can set WHS not only to backup each computer, but it can duplicate the backups across several drives too. So you are basically getting the same duplication feature you would have if you kept the files on the WHS machine, but they are also located on the local computer. Therefore there is an additional layer of protection IMHO doing it that way.

That being said, it is much easier keeping all those files on the WHS machine and that is how my household does it.
__________________
i5 quad core server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-300 HD Extenders (hooked to my whole-house A/V system for synched playback on multiple TVs - great during a Superbowl party)
Amazon Firestick 4k and Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-07-2010, 03:11 PM
btrcp2000 btrcp2000 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 888
Getting such good answers here, I'll throw out another question:

My h340 came with one 2tb drive, and has not even been plugged in yet. Given my awful experience with whs sys drives (lost three os drives in the past 10 months, 2 simultaneously in a raid1 config), I am considering putting in a smaller os drive and fresh reinstalling the h340 whs disc, and using the 2tb for storage, while adding another 2tb for duplication, for a total of three drives. I learned long ago that I prefer to have files on a separate physical disc from the os, as it is always the os drive that goes, it seems.

Would anyone bother with this, or is it overkill/paranoia?
__________________
[size=1]Current Server:V9 UNRAID Docker, SuperMicro x9dri-LNF4+, 32 GB ECC, 2x Xeon e5-2660v2, storage array 6TB, 2 Dish r5000HD tuners, 1 HDHomerun Quatro, 1 HDHomerun Extend
4 Nvidia Shield TVs with Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-07-2010, 04:12 PM
RocKKer RocKKer is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 196
Alot of enterprise servers use a local/internal drive for the OS and separate/external (SAN or NAS usually) storage for data, so your not paranoid and it is not overkill. It's practical if you can afford the additional drive and makes darn good sense for just the experience you have had.

I keep my OS drive separate from my storage array.

It's not "if" you will lose a HDD it's "when".
__________________
SageTV Server v9.2.2, Ubuntu Server 18.04.4 x64, Java 1.8.0_252, Xeon E5-2690, 32GB, 6X6TB WD Red - Software Raid 6, 2X HDHR3 (OTA), 3X HD-200
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to set up Place Shifter for use with SageTV WHS? Texas-Hansen SageTV Placeshifter 6 09-01-2009 12:36 PM
Music Store Integration moamoa SageTV Customizations 2 11-26-2006 06:52 PM
Splitting a Sage license ellweber SageTV Software 2 03-28-2006 09:26 AM
splitting large Sage TV videos Slickferret General Discussion 18 10-13-2004 12:35 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.