SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-24-2010, 09:16 PM
timg11's Avatar
timg11 timg11 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 456
Smooth fast forward, rewind, and slow motion on HD300?

I'm thinking of buying an HD300. I've never been able to get acceptably smooth playback without pausing and jitter on my system that uses SageTV running on the computer. In another thread someone suggested the HD300 might do a better job.

Another thing I don't get with SageTV is smooth fast forward, rewind, and slow motion. All I get is skip forward or back by X second intervals. Can the HD300 support smooth fast forward, rewind, and slow motion?
__________________
HD300 extender with (2020 New Build) SageTV 64 bit V9.2.2 (service mode), Running on Windows 10 (64 bit), Intel Core i7-10700K CPU, 16G RAM, GIGABYTE Z490 UD motherboard. NVidia GTX1650 Super; Viewsonic LCD on one output and Mitsubishi WD57734 HDTV via DVI/HDMI on other output. HDHomeRun HDHR5-4US tuner, Hauppauge 1512 HD-PVR2 connected to Google Fiber TV GFHD200, tuned with USB-UIRT.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-25-2010, 10:33 AM
timg11's Avatar
timg11 timg11 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 456
Hi HuntHunt - I see you have the HD-300. I've been using SageTV with the computer directly. It only supports skip forward and back by "n" second increments, and does not do true (smooth) FF and REW.

Does the HD-300 provide smooth FF and REW and slow-motion as well as the skip forward and back functions?

* merged *
__________________
HD300 extender with (2020 New Build) SageTV 64 bit V9.2.2 (service mode), Running on Windows 10 (64 bit), Intel Core i7-10700K CPU, 16G RAM, GIGABYTE Z490 UD motherboard. NVidia GTX1650 Super; Viewsonic LCD on one output and Mitsubishi WD57734 HDTV via DVI/HDMI on other output. HDHomeRun HDHR5-4US tuner, Hauppauge 1512 HD-PVR2 connected to Google Fiber TV GFHD200, tuned with USB-UIRT.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-26-2010, 07:56 AM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by timg11 View Post
Does the HD-300 provide smooth FF and REW and slow-motion as well as the skip forward and back functions?
Yes, the HD Extenders always have (all the way back to the HD100).
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 10 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9x64, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-26-2010, 01:08 PM
Shield Shield is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjpjpjpj View Post
Yes, the HD Extenders always have (all the way back to the HD100).
True, but for me it's been a mix 'n' match of success. When I use the slow ff/slow rew, it'll work perfectly for say, a ripped .mkv file, but not work well for HD Homerun content (mpg). It's strange.
__________________
HD300/HD200 clients
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-26-2010, 01:29 PM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shield View Post
True, but for me it's been a mix 'n' match of success. When I use the slow ff/slow rew, it'll work perfectly for say, a ripped .mkv file, but not work well for HD Homerun content (mpg). It's strange.
All I have are HDHRs and they've always worked. Admittedly I don't use the smooth option hardly at all - I almost exclusively use the jump buttons - but in the few times I have used it or accidentally pressed it, it has always worked fine.
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 10 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9x64, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-26-2010, 01:40 PM
paulbeers paulbeers is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,550
The smooth fast forward/Remind really isn't all that "smooth", it is almost like it jumps forward by a certain amount of frames but even then it isn't really all that smooth. While this is only a guess, my thoughts on this are for several reasons:

1. Hard dives have a seek time. Usually this is in the 10's of milliseconds.
2. There is also network latencies.

Both of these combined means that it would be hard for a device to truly do perfect smooth fast forward/rewind especially when it comes to high data streams like HD. I think it's pretty close (when I've used it). Heck I was never even impressed by parents original Tivo and that didn't have network latency and was only SD. Although my wife and I just use skip (when something hasn't been comskipped yet). Fast forward and rewind are really remnants of the old VCR days. On a DVD you skp chapters right?
__________________
Sage Server: AMD Athlon II 630, Asrock 785G motherboard, 3GB of RAM, 500GB OS HD in RAID 1 and 2 - 750GB Recording Drives, HDHomerun, Avermedia HD Duet & 2-HDPVRs, and 9.0TB storage in RAID 5 via Dell Perc 5i for DVD storage
Source: Clear QAM and OTA for locals, 2-DishNetwork VIP211's
Clients: 2 Sage HD300's, 2 Sage HD200's, 2 Sage HD100's, 1 MediaMVP, and 1 Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-26-2010, 03:03 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Smooth ff/rew have been horrible for me. I get instances where I'll be fast forwarding and all of a sudden it will jump several minutes forward and then I'll have to rewind because it went too far. I assume it's something to do with the video because it will happen in the same spot every time.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-11-2011, 07:30 PM
MrMark MrMark is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Richmond, TX
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by timg11 View Post
I'm thinking of buying an HD300. I've never been able to get acceptably smooth playback without pausing and jitter on my system that uses SageTV running on the computer. In another thread someone suggested the HD300 might do a better job.

Another thing I don't get with SageTV is smooth fast forward, rewind, and slow motion. All I get is skip forward or back by X second intervals. Can the HD300 support smooth fast forward, rewind, and slow motion?
It has a smooth fast forward button, but honestly, it's not all that smooth. I have one of my two HD300's connected to the server via gigabit Ethernet but that doesn't seem to help. What actually happens is that during fast forward at any speed greater than 4X, the displayed still frames tend to fall behind the timeline. Sometimes it will hang on one particular frame for longer than usual, and when that happens, a lot of time typically passes so that you miss the point you were trying to find, such as the end of a commercial. You'll find yourself a minute or two into the show, so then you have to skip back multiple times to get where you want to be.

I had been using skip forward instead of Fast Forward and that seemed to work as expected, so I may go back to that method..but I would have to re-program my universal remote to send skip instead of fast forward, so it would take a few minutes.

I also wondered if there was any way to configure the server or extender to advance at 8X instead of 16X...it might be able to keep up better at 8X, but as it stands right now, one button press is 4X and a second button press is 16X...I looked for a configuration option, but didn't see it in the amount of time I had before my wife started getting weary of my tinkering.

With that said, the 300, in general, has proven to be much more like an appliance than the Windows client, so I'm happier than I was (although I'd still like to know why I have to un-plug and re-plug the HDMI cable on the HTPC in order to make the SageTV audio work)...

-Mark
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD Theater 200-Forward and Rewind is not smooth srinil_ind SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 1 09-04-2010 07:38 AM
Fast Forward / Rewind HDTV Problems jorton SageTV Beta Test Software 20 08-28-2009 11:57 AM
Fast forward and rewind hangs or freezes menace SageTV Software 3 02-23-2008 03:37 PM
6.2.6 - Fast Forward / Rewind slow with 2hrs+ recordings CanadianEh SageTV Beta Test Software 1 08-24-2007 07:35 PM
Fast Forward / Rewind questions mike1961 SageTV Software 3 04-04-2006 10:49 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.