SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV HD Theater - Media Player

Notices

SageTV HD Theater - Media Player Discussion related to using the SageTV HD Theater as a Media Player, i.e.: in use while not connected to a SageTV server. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to using a SageTV HD Theater as a Media Player should be posted here. Use the SageTV Media Extender forum for issues related to using it while connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-26-2010, 05:25 PM
wildgoose wildgoose is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 156
HD200/300 playback and AVCHD question

I have the WDTV Live and am considering the HD300 or the HD200 for a better interface of playback of recorded shows from Sage Media Center. (The ability to output video at source resolution is a nice bonus.) I am hoping to sell my WDTV Live if the Sage does everything I need. I am using a HDHomeRun tuner.

Couple of questions:

1) Does the HD200/300 have a zoom feature when playing back content?

This is useful for watching wide screen content broadcasted in 4:3. My WDTV Live have 1x, 1.1x, 1.2x, etc which is quite nice for this purpose.

2) Does the HD200/300 allows gapless playback of AVCHD files?

I can play AVCHD .mts files using my WDTV Live, but there's a long pause (3-4 sec) when it goes to the next file. I am hoping the Sage can do better in this regard. It needs to start processing the next file before the current file is finished playing. I am not expect this in standalone mode, I want to know if it works in Extender mode with Sage MC.

3) How much slower is the HD200 vs the HD300 for my needs? I like to get the HD300, but the extra $70 and that it runs hotter does concern me a bit..

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-26-2010, 06:47 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildgoose View Post
I have the WDTV Live and am considering the HD300 or the HD200 for a better interface of playback of recorded shows from Sage Media Center. (The ability to output video at source resolution is a nice bonus.) I am hoping to sell my WDTV Live if the Sage does everything I need. I am using a HDHomeRun tuner.

Couple of questions:

1) Does the HD200/300 have a zoom feature when playing back content?

This is useful for watching wide screen content broadcasted in 4:3. My WDTV Live have 1x, 1.1x, 1.2x, etc which is quite nice for this purpose.
Not in so many words, but it allows you to define custom aspect ratio modes with arbitrary crop settings that work perfectly for all sorts of weird content. Also it has a few built in modes including at one that's good for stuff like that.

Quote:
2) Does the HD200/300 allows gapless playback of AVCHD files?

I can play AVCHD .mts files using my WDTV Live, but there's a long pause (3-4 sec) when it goes to the next file. I am hoping the Sage can do better in this regard. It needs to start processing the next file before the current file is finished playing. I am not expect this in standalone mode, I want to know if it works in Extender mode with Sage MC.
It works that way (seamless) for BDs, but i have no idea about the AVCHD format.

Quote:
3) How much slower is the HD200 vs the HD300 for my needs? I like to get the HD300, but the extra $70 and that it runs hotter does concern me a bit..
In extender mode it's not that much faster, it is faster but not as dramatically as in standalone mode, well at least if you're not running a lot of customizations. I'm not sure I agree that it runs hotter. It definitely gets warm, but I think the chips are more directly tied to the case so the case dissipates heat more directly. My HD200 in my (open) equipment cabinet gets rather warm too.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-27-2010, 06:35 PM
wildgoose wildgoose is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 156
I bite the bullet and ordered the HD300. How fast does Sage ships the unit? I am in SJ, CA. Hope I'll get it this weekend.

Does HD300 requires v7 of Sage MediaCenter? Or will it work with v6.6? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD200/300 and Wireless N Question BobbyDing SageTV Media Extender 6 10-23-2010 09:22 AM
AVCHD clip playback in sage benjatelcom SageTV Software 20 09-28-2010 01:27 AM
HD200/300 BonBon SageTV Media Extender 1 09-04-2010 12:08 PM
M2TS AVCHD playback on Apple Macbook Client benjatelcom SageTV Beta Test Software 4 01-05-2009 11:12 AM
PowerDVD8 and sage M2TS AVCHD playback benjatelcom SageTV Software 0 10-14-2008 11:56 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.