SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-18-2010, 06:41 AM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,337
Playback Pauses/Hangs then FF catchup

Not positive of the issue but think it might be network related.

SageTV V6.6
HD200 & HD300

Starting to have occassions where the playback just hangs for 1-5 seconds and then when it starts again it looks like it FF to new spot. If I go back, it plays fine until the next pause.

Trying to figure out how to troubleshoot & resolve this issue.

Playback file is on a storage server, not the Sage Server.

It has just recently began past couple days. Sometimes great response, sometimes this pause/FF.

WAF is taking a beating
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-18-2010, 08:11 AM
RonBoyd's Avatar
RonBoyd RonBoyd is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by graywolf View Post
Starting to have occassions where the playback just hangs for 1-5 seconds and then when it starts again it looks like it FF to new spot. If I go back, it plays fine until the next pause.
Yes. I have the same issue. Except that my pauses are much longer... sometimes a minute or more.

v7 w/HD300
Windows Vista w/ 1TB External Drive for media storage.

In addition, during this pause, the HD300 becomes inaccessible (at least, with the Remote Control) but the Server has complete access to SageTV and all the functions. Also, the computer's Resources show no stress during the pause.

My first thought was "Network Problem" but I have found no Network issues; for instance, with Windows Task Manager. I have concluded that the problem is in the HD300 itself -- probably firmware related.

Last edited by RonBoyd; 11-18-2010 at 09:05 AM. Reason: Added "Network" thought.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-18-2010, 08:51 AM
wrems's Avatar
wrems wrems is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 1,332
I've been seeing this from time-to-time too.

v7 on HD200
Win7 with local hard drive

It just started happening in the past month or so...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-18-2010, 09:03 AM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,337
Have you done any troubleshooting?
What have you looked at to try and resolve it?
Have you turned on any type of logging? If so, what?

I have tried by updating the /etc/hosts file on the hd200 & hd300 putting in the info for the SageTV server and the Storage server

192.168.1.150 StorageServer
192.168.1.140 SageTV

That has speed up the menu responses most of the time, but hasn't addressed the pauses at times.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-18-2010, 09:10 AM
wrems's Avatar
wrems wrems is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 1,332
No, I haven't gotten as far as to track it down. Posting here is about the first step...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-18-2010, 09:22 AM
RonBoyd's Avatar
RonBoyd RonBoyd is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrems View Post
No, I haven't gotten as far as to track it down. Posting here is about the first step...
+1

(Wouldn't know where to start really.)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-18-2010, 09:26 AM
wrems's Avatar
wrems wrems is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 1,332
My problem seems infrequent; maybe once per evening of TV. I wouldn't say it's not everyday either... Which really makes for a interesting issue to root out. I did recently reformat and reinstall windows/Sage on my server. With a minor hope that my problems would mysteriously go away.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-18-2010, 09:36 AM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Not sure but it sounds like either a network or hard drive issue.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-18-2010, 09:50 AM
RonBoyd's Avatar
RonBoyd RonBoyd is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent View Post
Not sure but it sounds like either a network or hard drive issue.
I mentioned above that the Server has all the SageTV Functions available during this "Pause." That includes accessing the files on the hard drive -- doesn't that rule out a HD problem?

I am unsure how to investigate a Network problem occuring between the Server and the HD300 when all other Network Attached devices are acting normally -- particularly a problem that involves the data being "dammed-up" and then released as, I suppose, a single packet. Another handicap is that one only has a very short window to work in -- seconds or at most ~minute.

Any suggestions would be welcome... and acted upon.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-18-2010, 09:52 AM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonBoyd View Post
I mentioned above that the Server has all the SageTV Functions available during this "Pause." That includes accessing the files on the hard drive -- doesn't that rule out a HD problem?
No. If your recording drive is separate from your OS drive it could be a read/write access issue on the recording drive.

Check the logs for the exact moment where the pause is happening. Might not hurt to submit a trouble ticket with SageTV on this.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-18-2010, 10:15 AM
RonBoyd's Avatar
RonBoyd RonBoyd is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent View Post
No. If your recording drive is separate from your OS drive it could be a read/write access issue on the recording drive.

Check the logs for the exact moment where the pause is happening. Might not hurt to submit a trouble ticket with SageTV on this.
I am failing in my attempt to describe this. I am speaking of the same drive used (in the above description) by both the HD300 and the Server -- and it is not the HD where the OS is located.

Which Logs are you referring to specifically?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-18-2010, 10:23 AM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonBoyd View Post
I am failing in my attempt to describe this. I am speaking of the same drive used (in the above description) by both the HD300 and the Server -- and it is not the HD where the OS is located.
I understand. And I think it could be something to do with your recording hard drive. Not sure, but don't rule it out as an issue yet.
As I said could be something else as well. These things can be tough to troubleshoot.

Quote:
Which Logs are you referring to specifically?
How to Turn on and use logs to troubleshoot

You can submit a support request here
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-18-2010, 02:43 PM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,337
Guess I'll need to turn on the SageTV Server and Extender Debugging Logs.

Checked the Storage Server and had no errors or dropped packets that I saw from it.

ifconfig eth0
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:30:48:b0:a7:33
inet addr:192.168.1.150 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:1987244594 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:1820859173 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:2807047514 (2.6 GiB) TX bytes:4120010826 (3.8 GiB)
Interrupt:25 Base address:0x8000
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-24-2010, 10:45 AM
fventura fventura is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 72
HD200 Pause then FF

I had a similar problem a few days ago. My issue turned out to be a faulty or failing hard drive. I run Win2003 server and errors where evident in the Windows event viewer.

I was running audio file conversions from my laptop, reading from a music drive on the server. Media Monkey reported it couldn't access the drive anymore.

On the server I could access the drive just fine, it wasn't until I tried to do a bulk conversion process from my laptop that the drive would produce errors.

The music drive is completely separate from the sage drive but perhaps the same IDE channel. I cleared the event viewer after replacing the drive to see if errors returned so I don't have the exact error to share with you.

The issue with Sage has not reoccurred since replacing the drive either.
(3-4 year old 500g Maxtor Sata II drive)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-24-2010, 10:50 AM
kamp kamp is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 13
I've been having the same issue as well. I currently have the media stored on a 1TB external hard drive that's attached to my Linux box while the server is running on Windows. I've been planning on switching that drive to the Windows machine to see if that clears up the problem (and lessens the 60-70% network utilization that I've been seeing on the Windows machine).
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-24-2010, 11:45 AM
RonBoyd's Avatar
RonBoyd RonBoyd is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by fventura View Post
I had a similar problem a few days ago. My issue turned out to be a faulty or failing hard drive.
I, originally, had the SageTV recordings spread onto two 500GB shared (but not with SageTV Server) drives. I had the problem. I have since transfered all the recordings to a (brand new) 1.5 TB drive. I still have the same behavior.

I am leaning more to a System "Resource" solution. Although, I have a Dual Core (2.40 ghz/2.39 ghz) Windows Vista machine with 4 GB memory installed. It rates a 5.5 on the Memory Windows Experience Index. The "problem" occurs even when SageTV is the only (non-system) program running.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-24-2010, 01:11 PM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,337
I've check the drives, no errors reported.

Might have had too much going on the unRAID server. Made some modifications to some other apps I have running there to "pause" during the "prime" tv watching hours and things have seemed to have settled down.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-24-2010, 04:26 PM
Savage1701 Savage1701 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Roscoe, IL
Posts: 668
I can reproduce that issue three ways on my system:

1. Disk Defragmentation & Indexing. Best to make sure both are disabled.

2. RAID migration and/or verification, especially if the RAID card can have its resources biased towards those vs. I/O & R/W requests.

3. Not using a static IP for my clients and my HD200. I then put their MACs (either the NIC's on the PC's or the MAC of the HD200) into my router, along with the reserved IP address.

I've had the Defrag and Indexing issue happen when XP decided to just start doing it on its own, ususally after a Windows Update. I can control the RAID issue from my RAID's GUI or CLI. I had the IP address issue occur on my HD200 when I updated the firmware and got an IP address via DHCP that was used by another system that hardly ever was turned on, but when it was, it caused issues. I had to go back in and give it an unused static IP address that matched up with my router's reserved IP address table.
__________________
Asus P5Q Premium MB, E6750, 4GB RAM, 32-bit XP Pro SP3, 3Ware 9590SE controller, 80GB 7.2K Laptop boot drive w/SuperSpeed Cache Utility & eBoostr, (1) KWorld ATSC-110, (1) 950Q USB, (1) 2250 tuner, (1) HD-PVR using USB-UIRT, (1) 1600 Dual card, (1) DVICO Fusion 5 Gold, (1) Hauppauge 1250, (1) Hauppauge 2250, 8 various storage HD's, NEC-based x1 USB add-on card, 2 outdoor antennas capturing 2 different OTA markets, Dish Network w/HD Receiver for HD-PVR.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-26-2010, 12:23 PM
dlandrum dlandrum is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrems View Post
No, I haven't gotten as far as to track it down. Posting here is about the first step...
+1
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-26-2010, 02:09 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,217
I saw this issue in the past and rebuilt my server. I was never 100% sure but I think the problem was caused by issues on my System drive - this server was running WHS and recording to drives in the WHS storage pool although the drivers were not duplicated.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MVP pauses during playback GuitarManDave SageTV Media Extender 3 01-27-2009 12:53 PM
SageTV 6.2 Pauses During Playback joe123 SageTV Software 4 11-05-2007 07:55 PM
Odd playback issue, pause 3 seconds, then quick catchup? IncredibleHat SageTV Software 14 09-28-2006 08:36 PM
SageTV playback having 1 min pauses lovingHDTV SageTV Software 0 06-27-2005 08:41 PM
Stuttering playback or pauses in playback kny3twalker SageTV Beta Test Software 2 05-06-2004 08:10 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.