SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV HD Theater - Media Player

Notices

SageTV HD Theater - Media Player Discussion related to using the SageTV HD Theater as a Media Player, i.e.: in use while not connected to a SageTV server. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to using a SageTV HD Theater as a Media Player should be posted here. Use the SageTV Media Extender forum for issues related to using it while connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-18-2011, 08:18 AM
Sagebrush Sagebrush is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 45
Question Source for HD300 Breakout Connector

I'm running analog audio out of the breakout connector on the HD300. The included cable is long and bulky, to say the least. I'd like to make my own, using just the audio outputs and ground.

I figured out the pinout but have not been able to find a source for the male connector. Does anyone know where I can purchase one?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-18-2011, 08:50 AM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
From the pictures it looks like a 9 pin mini din to me (but have not confirmed)...
http://www.amazon.com/IEC-Mini-Din-P...040215&sr=1-20

but you could probably just snip the breakout cable that came with it and put new ends on it...

or start with something like this and snip it and terminate it correctly....
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-18-2011, 11:09 AM
Sagebrush Sagebrush is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 45
razrsharpe, thanks for the suggestions!

The Amazon connector looks like it should work. Using it's description, I also found one at Digi-Key http://search.digikey.com/scripts/Dk...36224774316397 that looks the same but is cheaper and has detailed drawings. The drawings and specs give me more confidence that it should fit.

The connector for the breakout cable is larger in diameter than a typical mini-DIN, such as is used for PS/2 keyboards and mice. From the MonoPrice photos, it appears that their connector may not have the right pin geometry...and it may also be too small in diameter.

I had considered cutting the Sage cable, but wanted to keep it intact for possible future use.

I plan to order the part from Digi-Key...a great excuse to find more stuff to buy from them!

Barry



Quote:
Originally Posted by razrsharpe View Post
From the pictures it looks like a 9 pin mini din to me (but have not confirmed)...
http://www.amazon.com/IEC-Mini-Din-P...040215&sr=1-20

but you could probably just snip the breakout cable that came with it and put new ends on it...

or start with something like this and snip it and terminate it correctly....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-18-2011, 12:56 PM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
i had checked newark and allied and came up blank... forgot about digikey... that link didn't come through properly though... is this what you found? Can you post the pinout for the connector? It would help people for other people that want to do this.
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-18-2011, 04:23 PM
Sagebrush Sagebrush is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 45
Yes, razrsharpe, that is the correct link.

I used a simple continuity tester to determine the pinout. Looking into the male cable connector, here's what I found: Pinout
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD300 source output resolution default selection wildgoose SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 11 11-05-2010 02:09 PM
HD300 using USB drive as source sacrament055 SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 4 10-29-2010 02:08 PM
SCART RGB through breakout cable on the new 300? radiopaque SageTV Media Extender 2 09-01-2010 12:36 PM
DVI Connector Width AWS Hardware Support 2 02-21-2006 06:02 PM
Breakout Cable to HDTV Help DKT Hardware Support 0 10-15-2004 08:01 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.