SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-31-2005, 05:40 PM
Swede Swede is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 7
Divx playback skips a few frames

I'm using SageTV to watch .avi movies I've imported to the media library. The movies run fine 95% of the time, but every now and then, it skips a few frames, making me miss important plot points. Gspot says I have 5 compatible codecs to watch the movie, and it doesn't skip when I watch the movie in another player (media player classic).

Does anyone know what the problem is? Im running SageTV 2.1. All the settings are default.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-31-2005, 06:32 PM
korben_dallas's Avatar
korben_dallas korben_dallas is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,250
Play one of the AVI files in regular WMP. Go to Files > Properties and see which (divx) video and audio decoders it is using.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-01-2005, 02:03 AM
Swede Swede is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 7
Media player 10 is using the XviD MPEG-4 Video Decoder. Should I change the decoder being used in Sage? How do I do that? When I look, all I can change is the MPEG-2 decoder from default to the ffdshow4 MPEG-4 decoder?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-01-2005, 01:07 PM
korben_dallas's Avatar
korben_dallas korben_dallas is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,250
Unfortunately, SageTV 2.x does not have configuration settings for file types outside of MPEG-2/DVD (do I hear a feature request!).

Doesn't XviD have a decoder configuration app? I haven't setup that codec on my PC since I reinstalled Windows, but I seem to remember seeing a little utility that would let you change settings for the XviD directshow filter. If so, completely shut down the SageTV UI and stop the service (if you are using the service), then make some changes in the codec app, and then restart SageTV to see how they affect your playback.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-01-2005, 03:58 PM
Swede Swede is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 7
OK, I guess maybe it'll be solved in the next version of sage, thanks for the input!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-01-2005, 08:00 PM
korben_dallas's Avatar
korben_dallas korben_dallas is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,250
You're more optimistic than I !!!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.