SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > Customization Announcements

Notices

Customization Announcements Announcements from SageTV customization developers.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-23-2012, 05:09 AM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,364
Plugin: DVB-S Importer

I am very pleased to announce the DVB-S Importer plugin which is able to keep up to date the .FRQ files of all your DVB-S tuners.

Please note that only tuners that are configured and used natively in SageTV are supported and therefore network tuners are currently not supported.

The "KingOfSat" website is used for Europe & Atlantic satellites (75.0E-61.0W) and "LyngSat" website is used for Asia (160W-75.0E) and Americas (61.0W-160W) satellites.

The plugin is available from the SageTV v7 plugin repository under "General" tab and once installed it need to be configured properly via its configuration page.

I suggest to make a backup of your current .FRQ files and leave the "Overwrite Lineup" option to FALSE until you're happy with the results.

The update is automatically triggered at every EPG update, however you can force the update any time by pressing the appropriate button.

The lineup is updated via channel name matching mechanism, so after your first run you might notice that some channels doesn't show in the new .FRQ file and that is because the channel name in the original .FRQ file doesn't match the one in the source website, so manually updating the channel name (not used by SageTV) in the original .FRQ file will fix that and you need to repeat this operation until all your original channels are back as before.

On the source website there are some instances where channels with the very same name exists on different transponders, in this case the importer will automatically append and underscore at the end of the channel name to make the name unique. If for some reason a channel you think have the right name, but is not coming back in the new .FRQ then please add an underscore at the end of the channel name and perform a further update.

When you want to add a new channel to an existing .FRQ, simply put the new channel number, the satellite number the new channel is related to (typically 0 unless you have multiple satellites per LNB file) and the channel name separated by tabs or spaces as below:
Code:
CH:nnnn sat:X #:Channel name
then run the update again and you'll see that the tuning information will be inserted automatically for you...

If you want to add all the current available channels for a particular satellite position (without performing a channel scan) you will have two options:
  • When the .LNB file contains only one satellite definition -> Simply delete the current .FRQ file before running the update.
  • When the .LNB file contains two or more satellite definition -> Modify the current .FRQ file by adding the text below as is (copy/paste recommended), but replacing the text in red with the satellite number and in blue with the satellite position you want, finally run the update. You will see the new .FRQ file populated with the whole channels list for the given satellite position in addition to the existing lineup you might have.
    Code:
    # Lineup: 0, 13.0E, 1970-01-01 00:00
To make things absolutely clear, when I talk about the channel name in the .FRQ file, that name has nothing to do with the channel name displayed in your guide, they simply not interfere with each other.

When your're happy with the new generated .FRQ files, you can safely turn the "Overwrite Lineup" option to TRUE, so that the plugin will keep the existing .FRQ files up to date for you, forever

Please use this link to post bugs and feedback...

If you find this software useful please consider to make a DONATION

Thanks
Eddy
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard

Last edited by routerunner; 09-10-2013 at 12:58 PM. Reason: Clarifications
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-26-2012, 09:11 AM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,364
Hauppauge Nova HD DVB-S2 support

I've been an Hauppauge Nova HD DVB-S2 user like you and I know the pain to setup this card for DVB-S2 transponders (Windows registry patch), so I decided to natively support this card in the next release whereby the Windows registry entries will be automatically updated/created as well.

...another load off your mind...

Eddy
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-27-2012, 07:55 AM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,364
New version available

Please be aware that a new version of the plugin (1.0.1) is available to download.
  • Small fix when adding new channels to existing .FRQ.
  • Added support to the Windows registry fix for Hauppauge Nova HD DVB-S2 tuners.
Eddy
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard

Last edited by routerunner; 11-27-2012 at 08:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-05-2012, 03:19 AM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,364
New version available

Please be aware that a new version of the plugin (1.0.2) is available to download:
  • Support the whole "King Of Sat" satellites (75.0E-61.0W).
  • Updates only configured tuners.
  • Doesn't require restarting the SageTV service.
Eddy
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard

Last edited by routerunner; 12-06-2012 at 08:41 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-21-2012, 04:28 AM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,364
New version available

Please be aware that a new version of the plugin (1.0.3) is available to download:
  • Fixed some minor issues on Atlantic birds.
  • Support the "LyngSat" satellite directory for Asia & Americas.
NOTE: The LyngSat satellite directory is not accurate as KingOfSat and lots of information are missing, therefore the LyngSat data are only used for Asia and Americas whereby KingOfSat still provide data for Europe and Atlantic. If you notice that some channels are missing where they shouldn't then please PM me the failing satellite position for investigation.


Thanks
Eddy
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-08-2013, 03:41 AM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,364
New version available

Please be aware that a new version of the plugin (1.0.4) is available to download:
  • Added support for unconventional LNB/FRQ file naming combo.
Eddy
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard

Last edited by routerunner; 01-08-2013 at 03:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dvb-s, frq, lineup


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plugin: DVB4Sage EPG Importer Jabroni SageTV v7 Customizations 9 09-14-2014 03:26 AM
Plugin :: PlayOn Hulu/Netflix Queue Importer evilpenguin SageTV v7 Customizations 215 03-24-2011 03:15 PM
XMLTV importer Vaughan SageTV Australia/New Zealand 2 09-22-2010 06:22 AM
er... how do i run the xmltv importer sfag SageTV United Kingdom 4 01-20-2009 07:14 AM
So what importer are most using? wilsonj SageTV Australia/New Zealand 3 02-15-2007 05:34 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.