SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-28-2015, 11:34 AM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,305
Reliable Power Supply for HDPVR

I've seen at least one post about this but wanted people's general opinion.

Is there a high quality power supply that people use for their HDPVRs? I'm getting tired of replacing them every year or so when they die (and the associated recording issues that occur before that event happens), and would rather just spring for something that should last a long time.


--------------------------------------------
Update: instead of buying small power supplies and having them repeatedly fail, power it from your PC.

Here's a link to basic instructions for connecting the HD-PR to your PC's power supply.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV

Last edited by Opus4; 08-15-2018 at 04:30 PM. Reason: Added link to later post
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-28-2015, 11:49 AM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
The Netgear ones I was buying as replacements only lasted a year or so. As a result, I wound up going back to the originals from Hauppauge.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-28-2015, 11:58 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
The one I ordered from Digi-Key is still going strong after several years of continuous use.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-28-2015, 12:03 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
The one I ordered from Digi-Key is still going strong after several years of continuous use.
Do you have a link to the one you bought?
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-28-2015, 12:05 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
The one I ordered from Digi-Key is still going strong after several years of continuous use.
Could you point out which model it is on their site? My to-do list also contains "order extra HD-PVR power supplies"... I had a couple from Hauppuage, but I used them to replace the power supplies on my home energy usage monitor, because apparently lots of those types of power supplies go bad.

Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-28-2015, 12:19 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
No, sorry, looked in my email and I couldn't find it.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-28-2015, 12:26 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
No, sorry, looked in my email and I couldn't find it.
Can you go look on it when you're home to see if there's a model number or something?
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-28-2015, 10:01 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,453
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
I've seen at least one post about this but wanted people's general opinion.

Is there a high quality power supply that people use for their HDPVRs? I'm getting tired of replacing them every year or so when they die (and the associated recording issues that occur before that event happens), and would rather just spring for something that should last a long time.
I use one purchased from Radio Shack, going on three years now. I'm out of town...will post the make/model when I return.

EDIT: turns out I had a reference on my ipad: http://www.amazon.com/Enercell-5VDC-...ct_top?ie=UTF8

it's a radio shack house brand, but doesn't seem to be available at their web site. interchangeable tips are purchased separately I believe. even though it's not listed on RS's site, quite often they have things in the back. 2730411 is the RS skew.
PS - I run my system thru a Furman line conditioner to minimize voltage fluctuations.
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson

Last edited by tvmaster2; 07-28-2015 at 11:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-29-2015, 12:11 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,305
Ohhh...that's an awesome idea to just use the PC's power supply to power the HPDVRs. I shall be doing that sometime in the near future.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-29-2015, 12:29 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,612
And don't even worry about getting a bracket. If most Sage users are like me they will have some old molex Y connectors around - and they are pretty much obsolete since SATA hard drives don't use that type of connection. Just cut off one of those, twist the wire onto the barrel connector from a failed HD-PVR power supply, apply a bit of solder, or use a crimped butt connector, and you will be good to go as long as the HD-PVR isn't too far from the PC. You can just feed the cord out the back of the PC where the PCI cards would go.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-29-2015, 01:13 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
And don't even worry about getting a bracket. If most Sage users are like me they will have some old molex Y connectors around - and they are pretty much obsolete since SATA hard drives don't use that type of connection. Just cut off one of those, twist the wire onto the barrel connector from a failed HD-PVR power supply, apply a bit of solder, or use a crimped butt connector, and you will be good to go as long as the HD-PVR isn't too far from the PC. You can just feed the cord out the back of the PC where the PCI cards would go.
That was exactly my plan. :-)
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD PVR power supply tvmaster2 Hardware Support 13 01-12-2012 03:13 PM
HD Theater 300 Power Supply Oddity SageTV Media Extender 3 12-06-2010 01:13 PM
Power supply drowned! radiopaque SageTV Media Extender 4 11-17-2010 01:09 PM
HD PVR power supply Fingergottes Hardware Support 1 09-22-2008 01:13 PM
Weak Power Supply ? 65 W Droid Hardware Support 4 03-04-2004 07:55 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.