SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-10-2015, 10:40 AM
888jay 888jay is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Shawnee, KS
Posts: 4
Google Fiber+TV

Hello,

Google Fiber came to our neighborhood last week so I'm investigating my options.

Right now I have an HDHomeRun Prime + CableCard + TWC and stream to all of our pc's via Windows Media Center and to our living room TV via an Xbox extender. Given that WMC is a dead end product I'd love to switch over to Google Fiber Gigabit+TV.

However, I've come to find out that there's no app to stream Fiber TV to the desktop over the LAN. Someone suggested I use Slingbox but that seems kind of silly when there's a far superior product already built into the network box.

Are there any plans for a Windows app that can access Fiber TV over the LAN?

Thanks,
Jay
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-10-2015, 12:51 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,612
You should probably contact Brent (aka Geektonic) as he has had GF for a couple of years now.

And maybe GF will play nicely with SageTV Open Source as GF's DVR is SageTV 8.0.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-10-2015, 02:20 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by 888jay View Post
Hello,

Google Fiber came to our neighborhood last week so I'm investigating my options.

Right now I have an HDHomeRun Prime + CableCard + TWC and stream to all of our pc's via Windows Media Center and to our living room TV via an Xbox extender. Given that WMC is a dead end product I'd love to switch over to Google Fiber Gigabit+TV.

However, I've come to find out that there's no app to stream Fiber TV to the desktop over the LAN. Someone suggested I use Slingbox but that seems kind of silly when there's a far superior product already built into the network box.

Are there any plans for a Windows app that can access Fiber TV over the LAN?

Thanks,
Jay
I don't know of any plans per se, but I can tell you what I believe will and won't happen with Google Fiber TV. Just know these are my educated thoughts, not official word.

There is currently no way to stream Google Fiber TV to the desktop or even to a mobile device outside your home network. You can today stream to your iOS or Android mobile device inside your home, GF network. I think we will eventually be able to stream to those mobile devices outside the home network (over the internet), but I suspect they are working out the agreements with the networks on that. Same thing happens with all the cableco's - this isn't HTPC as we knew it with SageTV.

As to the stream to desktop, I have no idea really, but I'll be surprised (pleasantly I guess) if they ever do that. That's just my guess though. Think of Google Fiber TV this way:
Your Network/Storage box is your SageTV server - albeit strictly locked down server.
Each TV will need an extender like we used with SageTV. In the Google Fiber world they call this the "TV Box". There is no exception to this rule at least so far. You want to display TV to a TV, you'll need a TV Box.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-10-2015, 04:31 PM
888jay 888jay is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Shawnee, KS
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent View Post
Think of Google Fiber TV this way:
Your Network/Storage box is your SageTV server - albeit strictly locked down server.
Hi Brent,
Thanks very much for your input. My wife and I both work from home and we each already have four screens on our desks. There's just no room for more. That's what we love about accessing TV through a client app (in our case, WMC) because it can be positioned on whatever monitor has open real estate at the time. On top of that, right now I pay $2/mo for a single CableCard that streams to five locations in the house vs. $5/mo that Google wants for each TV box ($25/mo total).

I guess the issue here is the "strictly locked down" part; or perhaps I have misconceptions of how the software works. But it seems like it would be a pretty simple task to have a SageTV client for access over a private home network.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-10-2015, 09:09 PM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,759
Is the Google Fiber TV app willing to run in a Chrome window using ARC?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-11-2015, 05:58 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by 888jay View Post
But it seems like it would be a pretty simple task to have a SageTV client for access over a private home network.
I'm sure there's no technical barrier to using SageTV client, and it would be simple, but it's also pretty clear that Google does not want, maybe is not allowed (content owners may require secure playback devices), to have their system allow that.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-11-2015, 07:03 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
I've no doubt Google Fiber uses the standard SageTV network interface between its 'server' and its 'clients' as traditional SageTV does, it's just likely the video files themselves are protected, so the standard SageTV client wouldn't be able to play them.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-11-2015, 12:38 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
I believe all above are correct - it's due to the content protection and licensing. Definitely not a technical restriction. SageTV is still running things inside Google Fiber TV thus far at least.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-11-2015, 02:53 PM
888jay 888jay is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Shawnee, KS
Posts: 4
Yes, I see now where I got confused. The copy-protection / DRM is the constraint. I (wrongly) assumed that since the Google Fiber app allowed streaming in your home to an iOS or Android device that this meant they had some kind of licensing in place to play protected content.

But their support forum has multiple caveats:
With the Google Fiber app, you can start watching TV in one room and finish watching the same show in another room, or switch the video from a TV to your mobile device or vice versa, if the show is available to watch on a mobile device.
If the show is available on your mobile device, the name of your mobile device appears on the list. If it does not appear, it indicates that the show is not available to watch on mobile devices. If you have only one TV Box and the show is not available to watch on mobile devices, Transfer to does not appear on the option menu.
Some shows do not play on your mobile device; however, we are constantly working with the programmers to bring our subscribers new and innovative ways to interact with content.
Still, even if you could play the content currently available on the Android app via a Windows SageTV client, which I assume is copy-freely or copy-once, that would be a start!

I really want to ditch Windows Media Center.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-11-2015, 09:46 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by 888jay View Post
I really want to ditch Windows Media Center.
Switch to SageTV.. It still is the best option, even with HD-PVR's and Cable Boxes.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-11-2015, 10:12 PM
888jay 888jay is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Shawnee, KS
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
Switch to SageTV.. It still is the best option, even with HD-PVR's and Cable Boxes.
I would, gladly, if it could play protected content without WMC in the background!

But the lure of gigabit internet is a siren-song I find hard to resist. And my Windows 7 / Windows Home Server media system is destined for the dust bin of history.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-12-2015, 02:04 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by 888jay View Post
I would, gladly, if it could play protected content without WMC in the background!
That's why I said with an HD-PVR and cable box...
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-12-2015, 12:01 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by 888jay View Post
I would, gladly, if it could play protected content without WMC in the background!

But the lure of gigabit internet is a siren-song I find hard to resist.
You could always just get the Google Fiber Internet-Only package and skip the TV part. I think your biggest problem with using SageTV in KC is the fact that TWC and AT&T (the other major players in town) lock down most/all of their channels so HD-PVR isn't a great solution there.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-12-2015, 12:23 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
or CableCard isn't a great solution.. while HD-PVR is about the only viable solution.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-12-2015, 02:32 PM
jm9843 jm9843 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
That's why I said with an HD-PVR and cable box...
Google Fiber TV -> HD-PVR -> SageTV v9
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Google Fiber Box? rwc General Discussion 12 08-04-2014 07:25 PM
Google Fiber jbrandon General Discussion 27 01-26-2014 05:46 PM
Is TWC using Google Fiber? pjpjpjpj General Discussion 4 12-12-2013 07:56 AM
Google Fiber Launched Yesterday...any word about the Google Fiber TV? rwc General Discussion 4 11-14-2012 03:23 PM
Google Fiber nycjoe General Discussion 300 10-22-2012 08:26 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.