SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Clients Development

Notices

SageTV Clients Development This forum is for discussions relating to SageTV Open Source Clients Development.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #321  
Old 10-30-2017, 07:17 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
Actually it's not huge, just there are so many other more important things to fix or to make better, that this takes a back seat.



Yes, the MiniClient runs on your phone, and the interactions are managed there, but the video is sent to the device on the TV for playback. But for sure, it's all running on your phone.
and it mostly runs pretty damn well on my phone. many a sporting event has been viewed in the clutch this way...
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #322  
Old 10-30-2017, 09:31 PM
jchiso jchiso is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 608
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
... I should also travel with a universal remote as sometimes it can be tricky to switch a hotel TV's input to HDMI...
I do just that. I will also occasionally pack a cheap JP1-enabled remote and a cable and create custom configs for places I stay fairly regularly ...
Reply With Quote
  #323  
Old 10-31-2017, 04:19 AM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 998
I usually just watch on my tablet on the road, but would use a Chromecast if I could cast SageTV to it. What would be cool is if I could use the phone as a SageTV remote without the overlay showing up on the TV. But I think playback improvements is where I'd like to see focus. I keep going back to the HD300 because I just can't get everything working reliably on my SHIELD. (5.1 audio is a must for home which I understand means a less forgiving player.) But even IJKPlayer on my tablet on the road has issues with my streams especially skipping. I get that this is probably Comcast's fault, but it would be awesome if there was some way to get it working.
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #324  
Old 10-31-2017, 05:35 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,521
Quote:
Originally Posted by KarylFStein View Post
I usually just watch on my tablet on the road, but would use a Chromecast if I could cast SageTV to it. What would be cool is if I could use the phone as a SageTV remote without the overlay showing up on the TV. But I think playback improvements is where I'd like to see focus. I keep going back to the HD300 because I just can't get everything working reliably on my SHIELD. (5.1 audio is a must for home which I understand means a less forgiving player.) But even IJKPlayer on my tablet on the road has issues with my streams especially skipping. I get that this is probably Comcast's fault, but it would be awesome if there was some way to get it working.
Not to hijack this thread... but I actually spent the last weekend updating the MiniClient core libraries (ijkplayer and exoplayer). I'm actually testing using ExoPlayer as my main player right now (as of last night). If this week goes well, then I think that I'd consider ExoPlayer to be on par with IJKPlayer. The biggest challenge that I have with ExoPlayer is the seek handling has been flaky, but, I think I've found/fixed it. Personally, I'd love to just go with a single player, and ExoPlayer is finally getting to the point where I think it can be used as the primary player. This also means that things like embedded CC/Subs can be a reality as well, since it has a means to extract that data, and I just need to send them to SageTV for rendering. All my streams are h264 ts files, and likely, using mpeg2 will have different results.
Reply With Quote
  #325  
Old 10-31-2017, 06:37 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by KarylFStein View Post
What would be cool is if I could use the phone as a SageTV remote without the overlay showing up on the TV.
Can't you use the remote via the Web UI on a phone or whatever browser you want?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #326  
Old 10-31-2017, 09:51 AM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 998
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Can't you use the remote via the Web UI on a phone or whatever browser you want?
That would close the mini-client, or does today.
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #327  
Old 10-31-2017, 10:03 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by KarylFStein View Post
That would close the mini-client, or does today.
Ok, I thought you meant using the phone as a remote for playback on the Shield or other AndroidTV device.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #328  
Old 10-31-2017, 08:02 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
Not to hijack this thread... but I actually spent the last weekend updating the MiniClient core libraries (ijkplayer and exoplayer). I'm actually testing using ExoPlayer as my main player right now (as of last night). If this week goes well, then I think that I'd consider ExoPlayer to be on par with IJKPlayer. The biggest challenge that I have with ExoPlayer is the seek handling has been flaky, but, I think I've found/fixed it. Personally, I'd love to just go with a single player, and ExoPlayer is finally getting to the point where I think it can be used as the primary player. This also means that things like embedded CC/Subs can be a reality as well, since it has a means to extract that data, and I just need to send them to SageTV for rendering. All my streams are h264 ts files, and likely, using mpeg2 will have different results.
Great news... looking forward to testing it.

k
Reply With Quote
  #329  
Old 11-07-2017, 08:35 PM
Dargason Dargason is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 516
So I'm getting closer to a purchase of a device for miniclient alternative. My Hd300 in the living room has been dead for a while now, and I finally landed a developer job so I might splurge on something.

It sounds like the MiBOX is the device for me, based on what I've read here. I'm not really an audiphile and I don't really care about 4k playback. My source is a pair of HRHomeRun tuners recording OTA HD channels. Unfortunately, these recordings don't work well with my FireTV gen 2...

Before I bite the bullet and buy one or two, I thought I'd ask if anyone has their eye set on something new on the horizon I hadn't seen yet?

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #330  
Old 11-08-2017, 06:40 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dargason View Post
So I'm getting closer to a purchase of a device for miniclient alternative. My Hd300 in the living room has been dead for a while now, and I finally landed a developer job so I might splurge on something.

It sounds like the MiBOX is the device for me, based on what I've read here. I'm not really an audiphile and I don't really care about 4k playback. My source is a pair of HRHomeRun tuners recording OTA HD channels. Unfortunately, these recordings don't work well with my FireTV gen 2...

Before I bite the bullet and buy one or two, I thought I'd ask if anyone has their eye set on something new on the horizon I hadn't seen yet?

Mike
I don't know what HDHR produces, but, I will say that overall, mpeg2-PS streams appear to cause more grief than h264 TS streams. I use the latter, and be honest, my setup works as good as HD300. The MiBox is a decent budget client, I think it will work well (I have 1), but I also have 2 NVidia Shield TV units, and these do work much better.
Reply With Quote
  #331  
Old 11-08-2017, 07:41 AM
Dargason Dargason is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 516
I'm not really sure what the HDHR produces either... my understanding is that they just tune to the OTA digital signal and pass the data to SageTV to be recorded. No transcoding. Consequently, what I get is whatever format happens to be broadcast and it's a mix of things depending on the station and show.

I've tried the miniclient on the Amazon FireTV and it sorta works on some stuff, and not at all on others. Not really usable, unfortunately. I'm hoping the MiBOX can handle the mix of formats much better.

Maybe I just need to buy one and try it out. I can probably return it if it doesn't work very well.
Reply With Quote
  #332  
Old 11-08-2017, 07:47 AM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,803
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
I don't know what HDHR produces, but, I will say that overall, mpeg2-PS streams appear to cause more grief than h264 TS streams. I use the latter, and be honest, my setup works as good as HD300. The MiBox is a decent budget client, I think it will work well (I have 1), but I also have 2 NVidia Shield TV units, and these do work much better.
HDHR can be configured to produce TS or PS files. It does not transcode - it captures the digital stream directly from OTA or digital cable (clear QAM), so could be MPEG2 or h.264 (or possibly even h.265). However, I believe all OTA currently being broadcast in the US is MPEG2. Depending on the station the content could be 1080i, 720p, 480i, or 480p.
__________________
Server: Athlon II X4 630 CPU, Gigabyte MA770T-UD3P (AM3) Motherboard, VisionTek Radeon HD4670 PCIe w/ Component output to 50" CRT Rear-Projection HDTV (Mitsubishi), Win7-64Bit (Home Premium), 4GB RAM
Capture Devices (8 tuners): Colossus (x1), HD-PVR (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250
Reply With Quote
  #333  
Old 11-08-2017, 08:12 AM
Dargason Dargason is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 516
Hmm... I just checked and it seems that what I have is actually an HDHR Extend, which features the 'ability to convert the incoming video into H.264 format, making it more suitable for streaming over wireless connections and to portable devices like phones and tablets.'

I think I'll try enabling that and seeing if the FireTV (and FireTV Stick that I won at a hackathon) will work. Maybe I won't have to buy anything!
Reply With Quote
  #334  
Old 11-08-2017, 09:10 AM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 998
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dargason View Post
Hmm... I just checked and it seems that what I have is actually an HDHR Extend, which features the 'ability to convert the incoming video into H.264 format, making it more suitable for streaming over wireless connections and to portable devices like phones and tablets.'

I think I'll try enabling that and seeing if the FireTV (and FireTV Stick that I won at a hackathon) will work. Maybe I won't have to buy anything!
You might want to look over this thread:

https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=64584
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #335  
Old 11-08-2017, 09:25 AM
Dargason Dargason is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 516
Thanks for the link! I actually found the post on the silicondust forum saying that you couldn't enable the transcoding for SageTV, and I'm think it's not something I want to try to figure out. It sounds like it's not trivial.
Reply With Quote
  #336  
Old 11-08-2017, 02:21 PM
Dargason Dargason is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 516
I picked up a MiBox and it was easy to set up and install everything. I was able to test a few different shows before it started updating my OS and all my apps.

The videos played fine, although there were some artifacts (interlacing, maybe) but certainly watchable. The remote will take a little getting used to. Navigating the UI is fast and responsive, and it's not difficult to start/stop a video, but I haven't yet figured out an easy way to skip around. I was able to pull up the OSD but didn't get to play much with it.

I noticed when I installed the app it said 'gamepad required'. I'm not sure what that means, exactly. Is there a different remote that uses the gamepad interface?
Reply With Quote
  #337  
Old 11-08-2017, 02:42 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dargason View Post
I picked up a MiBox and it was easy to set up and install everything. I was able to test a few different shows before it started updating my OS and all my apps.

The videos played fine, although there were some artifacts (interlacing, maybe) but certainly watchable. The remote will take a little getting used to. Navigating the UI is fast and responsive, and it's not difficult to start/stop a video, but I haven't yet figured out an easy way to skip around. I was able to pull up the OSD but didn't get to play much with it.

I noticed when I installed the app it said 'gamepad required'. I'm not sure what that means, exactly. Is there a different remote that uses the gamepad interface?
If you click the help icon in the on screen navigation it will show the smart remote comamnds.

They are listed here as well.

https://github.com/OpenSageTV/sagetv..._NAVIGATION.md

When playing a video, if you use the left/right it should do the 10/30 second skip ahead/back. If you long press left/right, then it will skip commercials. Select during playback will pause play video. The only other nagigation item that might be handy is that long press up/down will do a page/up down.
Reply With Quote
  #338  
Old 11-08-2017, 03:34 PM
Dargason Dargason is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 516
Thanks, Sean!

Yeah, after the box finished updating I had a chance to play with it some more and I found the help menu. Skipping forward and back doesn't seem to be as instant on the MiBox as it was in the HD200 or HD300 and I think that's what threw me off before.

Ironically the app that gave me the most problems was the Vudu app. It kept crashing, so I cleared the cache and data and disabled notifications. Then I restarted and it seemed to lock up the device. I eventually got it running and fixed the problem by uninstalling the app completely, rebooting, and reinstalling.

Next step I think will be to configure a better start page somehow...

Awesome job, Sean!

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #339  
Old 11-21-2017, 09:14 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stu Gare View Post
I quite like the idea of running the android mini client direct on a Sony Android TV.
Not quite time to upgrade any TVs yet, but I think I'll go for one of these next. No external device needed to run sage then :-)
Just curious, has anyone actually tried this? I'm curious how well it works.

FWIW, I saw that LG has their OLEDs on sale now, which has me really tempted, but then I remembered that Sony's run AndroidTV and that I'd had the same thought, would be cool to just run Sage directly in the TV.
Reply With Quote
  #340  
Old 11-22-2017, 09:05 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
I can't imagine the experience with the built in is going to be any better than a mi box, and a mi box is portable (love taking it on vacation with us).
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sage control via ios or android device profit Hardware Support 9 01-02-2012 05:18 PM
WD TV Live Observations and Other box comparisons? Cortopassi SageTV Media Extender 8 10-24-2011 02:56 PM
Poll for Android Device Users smoothtlk SageTV v7 Customizations 21 06-29-2011 08:50 AM
Digibox output comparisons planetc SageTV United Kingdom 4 01-30-2009 10:43 PM
Using Motorola Tuner device for capture device cyberfreak Hardware Support 4 02-22-2007 02:47 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.