SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV EPG Service

Notices

SageTV EPG Service Discussion related to the SageTV EPG Service used within SageTV. Questions about service area coverage, channel lineups, EPG listings, XMLTV, or anything else related to the service or programming guide data for SageTV should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 11-21-2017, 01:39 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,072
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiki View Post
Unfortunately Sage relies on the HD flag attached to each airing in the EPG and doesn't have a mechanism for tracking HD channels. Would be nice if you could tell Sage that a given channel was HD and it should treat everything on that channel as HD regardless of the EPG flag.
Good point. When it comes to recording scheduling that makes the most sense. It should prefer HD channels over SD, not HD shows. If a show is SD on an HD channel, it's because it's older and there isn't an HD version or it's simply a mistake in the EPG.

The code for preferring HD airings is in Scheduler.java, controlled by the properties setting "prefer_hdtv_recordings_over_sdtv."

Code:
  final boolean preferHD = Sage.getBoolean("prefer_hdtv_recordings_over_sdtv", true);
.
.
.
      if (preferHD && a1.isHDTV() != a2.isHDTV())
      {
        // We care about doing HD over SD and one of these is HD while the other is not. In this case we pick the HD
        // one first.
        return a1.isHDTV() ? -1 : 1;
      }
Airings have an associated StationID. Does the EPG have any data to know which channels are HD? There may need to be a new field added to the Wiz DB channel table to mark as HD.

Another option is when airings get created, all airings sharing a channel with any HD airing get marked HD.

Last edited by wnjj; 11-21-2017 at 01:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-21-2017, 02:20 PM
rickgillyon's Avatar
rickgillyon rickgillyon is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Whitley Bay, England
Posts: 1,944
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
Another option is when airings get created, all airings sharing a channel with any HD airing get marked HD.
This makes sense, but probably a good idea to allow it to be disabled in case it breaks stuff for some people.
__________________
unRAID Server: Intel Core i5 7600K, 16GB DDR4, 2x512GB PCIe M.2 Cache Pool, 2x4TB SATA3 Parity Drive, 2x3TB + 1x4TB SATA Array, 1x TBS 6284 PCIe DVB-T2 Quad, 2x TBS 6205 PCIe DVB-T Quad, Cable TV from TBS2603 sat/IP, IPTV via Telly & node-ffmpeg-mpegts-proxy, unRAID 6.6.6, TVheadend for recording back end, OpenDCT, SDEPG, SageTV 9
Clients: 3 Nvidia Shields, 2 Android Miniclients (Amlogic S905X), 3 Win10 Pro PC Clients
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-22-2017, 09:24 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
Airings have an associated StationID. Does the EPG have any data to know which channels are HD? There may need to be a new field added to the Wiz DB channel table to mark as HD.

Another option is when airings get created, all airings sharing a channel with any HD airing get marked HD.
No, there is no flagging of a channel as being HD or not. Best that could be done is to 'guess' from the callsign, but that is certainly not a reliable method. Alternatively, we could actually add a new property to the channel object to hold this value, and it could be set a variety of ways (based on resolution data from a channel scan and/or updated with recordings), or even a manual flag set in the channel config screen.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-22-2017, 08:21 PM
BobPhoenix BobPhoenix is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
a manual flag set in the channel config screen.
Personally this would be MY preference if I had a vote.
__________________
"Keep your goals away from the trolls"
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new Linux setup - problem with sdepg and BMT jt4242 SageTV Linux 5 03-07-2017 06:28 PM
Sage recording/scheduling problem. sunray SageTV Software 3 08-05-2011 09:49 AM
Scheduling problem White94Cobra SageTV Software 4 12-03-2009 01:52 PM
Scheduling Series\Favorites Problem SWKerr SageTV Software 4 10-23-2009 02:13 PM
Problem with Scheduling Look Ahead nerys SageTV Customizations 2 04-26-2006 01:45 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.