SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Github Development

Notices

SageTV Github Development Discussion related to SageTV Open Source Development. Use this forum for development topics about the Open Source versions of SageTV, hosted on Github.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #61  
Old 03-09-2017, 02:46 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Nice. That seems to have done it. Thanks for all the work on this.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 03-09-2017, 03:59 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
Nice. That seems to have done it. Thanks for all the work on this.
That's great news! Thanks for being so willing to try and try again.
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 03-09-2017, 04:47 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
That's great news! Thanks for being so willing to try and try again.
No problem. I'll never mind figuring out bugs with everyone around here to help. Have to do it for work so I sure don't mind when it is something that I personally use. Especially if it can help someone else.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 03-09-2017, 05:09 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,301
Awesome...great teamwork on this one. The fix is now pushed to GitHub.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 03-09-2017, 06:13 PM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 998
Glad to be able to contribute something meaningful I hope. BTW, my name is Karyl not Karly. I get the latter a lot in emails and forum posts for some reason. In conference calls it's usually "Karl/Carl" even though I try to enunciate the first consistent to avoid being called Daryl. If you watch The Walking Dead, my name is pronounced like Carol, but Carl and Daryl are also acceptable as they are all badasses . Karly, however, sounds like some Disney Clubhouse name!
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 03-09-2017, 06:53 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,491
Quote:
Originally Posted by KarylFStein View Post
Glad to be able to contribute something meaningful I hope. BTW, my name is Karyl not Karly. I get the latter a lot in emails and forum posts for some reason. In conference calls it's usually "Karl/Carl" even though I try to enunciate the first consistent to avoid being called Daryl. If you watch The Walking Dead, my name is pronounced like Carol, but Carl and Daryl are also acceptable as they are all badasses . Karly, however, sounds like some Disney Clubhouse name!
I noticed that and was wondering if that happens to you a lot. I was waiting for a correction.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 8x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.3.0-rc6 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 03-09-2017, 07:03 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by KarylFStein View Post
Glad to be able to contribute something meaningful I hope. BTW, my name is Karyl not Karly. I get the latter a lot in emails and forum posts for some reason. In conference calls it's usually "Karl/Carl" even though I try to enunciate the first consistent to avoid being called Daryl. If you watch The Walking Dead, my name is pronounced like Carol, but Carl and Daryl are also acceptable as they are all badasses . Karly, however, sounds like some Disney Clubhouse name!
My Grandfather's name was Carol. People assumed he was a woman when they saw his name. When the man built like a fridge showed up they were plenty confused.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 03-10-2017, 04:34 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,301
Lol...got it Karyl.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 03-11-2017, 05:08 AM
waynedunham waynedunham is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by KarylFStein View Post
Glad to be able to contribute something meaningful I hope. BTW, my name is Karyl not Karly. I get the latter a lot in emails and forum posts for some reason. In conference calls it's usually "Karl/Carl" even though I try to enunciate the first consistent to avoid being called Daryl. If you watch The Walking Dead, my name is pronounced like Carol, but Carl and Daryl are also acceptable as they are all badasses . Karly, however, sounds like some Disney Clubhouse name!
One of my best friends now I met on an Atari User Group forum "way back in the day". Myself and another friend "assumed" it was a woman given the first name Kim.
When we me *HIM* at our first AUGOGH (Atari User Group of Greater Hartford) meeting we were surprised. Pretty sexist I guess, but up until that time neither of us had met a male Kim, but plenty of female Kims.

Until they either meet him in person, or talk to him on the phone he says people still assume he is a woman because of the name.
__________________
Wayne Dunham
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 01-20-2018, 06:01 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
This issue seems to have come back. Were there any updates to the network encoder that could have made this come back? Worked fine until about a month ago.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 01-26-2018, 01:13 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Anyone else getting random pauses in recordings/live TV with Colossus network encoders? I don't get why this suddenly came back up. Nothing on my encoding server or the unraid docker has changed. Log is full of the below.

Quote:
Fri 1/26 13:13:29.656 [FSManager@42d00142] MMC connected to encoding server at 192.168.1.42:6969
Fri 1/26 13:13:29.656 [FSManager@42d00142] MMC sent request to 192.168.1.42:6969 of GET_FILE_SIZE /var/recorded_tv_2/PAWPatrol-S03E09-PupsSaveApolloPupsSavetheHippos-26678965-0.ts
Fri 1/26 13:13:29.657 [FSManager@42d00142] MMC received response from 192.168.1.42:6969 of 675972424
Fri 1/26 13:13:30.478 [NetEncoderMonitor@314862df] (Retryable)Error communicating with encoding server:java.net.ConnectException: Connection refused (Connection refused)
Fri 1/26 13:13:30.478 [NetEncoderMonitor@676f61f8] (Retryable)Error communicating with encoding server:java.net.ConnectException: Connection refused (Connection refused)
Fri 1/26 13:13:30.478 [NetEncoderMonitor@314862df] Error communicating with encoding server:java.net.ConnectException: Connection refused (Connection refused)
Fri 1/26 13:13:30.479 [NetEncoderMonitor@676f61f8] Error communicating with encoding server:java.net.ConnectException: Connection refused (Connection refused)
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 02-01-2018, 12:19 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,301
If nothing has changed in the software and you're starting to get more random connection problems...maybe you've got a piece of network hardware that's causing the problem. I've definitely had switches start to flake out on me like that and go bad before. If you don't think that's it, then post the log from both ends when the connection problem occurs and I can take a look to see if it could be software related and not due to network connectivity problems.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 02-01-2018, 04:00 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
If nothing has changed in the software and you're starting to get more random connection problems...maybe you've got a piece of network hardware that's causing the problem. I've definitely had switches start to flake out on me like that and go bad before. If you don't think that's it, then post the log from both ends when the connection problem occurs and I can take a look to see if it could be software related and not due to network connectivity problems.
I don't think that is it because the Windows 2012 server is a VM inside unRAID and it's connecting to the SageTV docker sean created.

See logs in this link.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 02-01-2018, 04:11 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,301
I need to see logs from both ends (encoding server and main SageTV server) and then also let me know what time in the logs the error occurs at. Those are just encoding server logs you posted. And from what you said...it definitely doesn't sound like a network issue then.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 02-01-2018, 04:36 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
I need to see logs from both ends (encoding server and main SageTV server) and then also let me know what time in the logs the error occurs at. Those are just encoding server logs you posted. And from what you said...it definitely doesn't sound like a network issue then.
I put both logs. One is labeled docker, the other encoding server.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old 02-02-2018, 09:41 PM
texneus texneus is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: DFW
Posts: 269
If you haven't, try the obvious: reboot your colossus PC, possibly even power cycle it. While using a Colossus as a network encoder works well, it unfortunately does not resolve existing issues. Pauses/stutters is exactly what it does when it goes for too long.
__________________
Server: Asrock C236WSI, Xeon E3-1225, 32GB RAM, NAS4Free (FreeBSD) 11.1 w/Ubuntu VM for SageTV
Tuners: HD Homerun Quatro (OTA), Hauppauge Colossus HDMI capture (CATV)
Clients: SageTV client on Windows 7 HTPC, NVidia Sheild
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 02-03-2018, 09:59 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by texneus View Post
If you haven't, try the obvious: reboot your colossus PC, possibly even power cycle it. While using a Colossus as a network encoder works well, it unfortunately does not resolve existing issues. Pauses/stutters is exactly what it does when it goes for too long.
Done that multiple times. Honestly with windows 2012 I don't have the pause/stutter issue others have with windows 7.

I've thought about scrapping the server and starting over since it's only job is SageTV network encoder. Haven't had the time.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.

Last edited by panteragstk; 02-03-2018 at 10:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 02-03-2018, 11:58 AM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,301
From the logs you posted it looks like the main server never even was able to communicate with the network encoder at all. The entire log file is filled with constant connection errors.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 02-03-2018, 01:04 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
From the logs you posted it looks like the main server never even was able to communicate with the network encoder at all. The entire log file is filled with constant connection errors.
Exactly. The odd thing is that it works fine a lot of the time.

Any ideas on what to try? I could spin up a VM of another OS real quick just to see if it works.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 02-03-2018, 11:33 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
So, I put up another VM to act as an encoding server and the issue is still present. I'm thinking at this point it is the Docker that's having the problem.

I'm considering scrapping it and starting over (with the exception of my wiz.bin) to see if that fixes the issue.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV as a network encoder / recording on network encoder works, not from server perfessor101 SageTV Software 0 06-21-2014 05:59 AM
Network Encoder Problem nox71 SageTV Beta Test Software 0 06-22-2010 07:23 PM
Weird Network Encoder Problem interloper SageTV Beta Test Software 0 04-09-2009 06:50 AM
HD-PVR as network encoder problem phelme Hardware Support 9 07-28-2008 12:38 AM
Problem setting up network encoder Alfiegerner SageTV Software 1 12-29-2006 11:30 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.