SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-14-2018, 03:10 PM
SteveP SteveP is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 133
FLIRC works great at adapting IR remotes like Streamzap to any application

I was having trouble getting my Streamzap remote to work properly with SageTV on a new Win 10 setup. I found FLIRC and it works great.

FLIRC is a small USB-based device that converts remote control IR signals into keyboard presses. Windows 10 recognizes FLIRC as just another USB keyboard. The software comes with a few pre-made configurations for applications like Kodi and WMC. You just select a key shown on screen and press a button on your remote that you want to correspond with the key press for your application.

For SageTV, I used the full keyboard configuration to select the key presses for controlling SageTV. You can assign one or more keyboard keys to a single remote button. For example, assign keys Ctrl+R to to the volume up button on the remote to raise the volume in Sage.

For remotes that send alternating different codes for each button, such as Streamzap, you have to assign the keyboard keys to remote buttons twice for each button.

I was also able to assign the extra colored buttons to start an application and perform other functions. To launch an application, I found the site https://www.guidingtech.com/2285/key...launch-chrome/ which explains how to start an application from a keyboard. This was easy to do. In my case, I assigned keyboard letter F to start Firefox. Windows automatically added Ctrl+Alt. In FLIRC I assigned my blue remote button to keys Ctrl+ALT+F. Now I can launch Firefox immediately which has tabs premade to access Netflix and Amazon Video. To compliment this action I set my yellow button to issue Ctrl+Tab which steps through the open Firefox tabs. The green button switches between open applications by sending Alt+Esc.

Cheers,
Steve

Last edited by SteveP; 03-14-2018 at 03:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-03-2018, 02:53 PM
Dargason Dargason is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 516
Thanks for the post, Steve. Based on your review, I purchased one for my brand new client and I'm very happy.

The only issue I found was that it didn't work terribly well with the sage tv remote I had lying around from an extender. The problem was that I had to press every key twice before it would 'take'.

I ended up using a different remote (from a now-dead blu-ray player) that works perfectly. Then later I found the following which sounds related to my issue: Every other button press not registering.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-11-2018, 05:28 PM
mlcarson mlcarson is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Lompoc, CA
Posts: 79
I think one of the best remotes for SageTV via Flirc is the Tivo remote. You have to use them in IR mode but they last forever and have a good button layout since they're designed for Tivo's own DVR.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-11-2018, 05:38 PM
Dargason Dargason is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 516
Hmm... I used to have one of those, but I think I donated it...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-06-2018, 04:44 PM
SteveP SteveP is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 133
Sorry for the extremely late reply. I've been off building systems to digitize VHS tapes plus 8mm and 16mm film.

I vaguely remember the issue you are talking about. I believe registering each key twice in succession is the answer just as the information in the link mentions. On some remote I had, some of the keys alternated between two codes. Registering each key twice took care of the issue.

Ok, now back to my other very deep techinical rabbit holes I'm rooting around in.

Steve
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Use FLIRC as interface between Streamzap remote & Sage on Win 10? SteveP Hardware Support 2 03-14-2018 02:36 PM
Very poor TV playback with PVR-150, works great in WinTV2K gregoriosb Hardware Support 4 04-30-2009 04:13 PM
Ok, Good job Sage. This one works great. pgitta SageTV Software 0 08-26-2008 10:12 AM
Hauppauge 1600 works great but not in SageTV snoopy Hardware Support 7 05-29-2007 02:41 PM
Any way to use Streamzap IR receiver with other remotes? SteveP Hardware Support 18 08-30-2004 09:49 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.