SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-22-2019, 11:57 AM
will will is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 797
Easy way to set show data for manual time recording?

Hello,

I often record shows from an on-demand source because the OTA recording was choppy or the show is only available to me on-demand.

Is there anyway to set the actual EPG guide data to a recording that is no data? If there is, what is the easiest way to do that?

Thanks for the help,
Will
__________________
Will

OS: Windows 7
Hardware: Intel Core i7-920 with 12GB RAM & an Adaptec 5805 with a Chenbro 36-port SAS Expander
Case: Antec 1200 with 4 iStarUSA trayless hot-swap cages (20 drives max)
Drives: 8 Toshiba/Hitachi 2TB drives in a RAID 6 & 7 Toshiba 3TB drives in a RAID 6
Capture Cards: HDHomeRun Connect Quatro 4, Hauppauge 60 HD-PVR
Players: 5 HD300s, 2 HD200s, 1 Client, 1 MiniClient
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-24-2019, 10:51 AM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 671
How are you recording from an on-demand source? I use Play-on for that.
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU @3.00GHz; 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3-12800 DDR3 1600MHz; 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s 64 MB Cache 7200RPM HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: HD300; Onkyo TX-SR607; Sony XBR-65X850D
Client: HD300; Samsung UN46B7000
Client: Nexus Player / Mini-Client; Sony KDL-32L4000
Client: SageTV Placeshifter 7
Client: SageTV Client 9
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-24-2019, 11:05 AM
RonBoyd's Avatar
RonBoyd RonBoyd is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkGuy View Post
How are you recording from an on-demand source? I use Play-on for that.
Me too. Same question.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-24-2019, 11:57 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,587
I don't think there is a way to easily set EPG guide data, but there is a plugin to facilitate the naming of Timed Recordings. Would that do the trick?

Or you should be able to do that in the web UI or BMT as other options from outside of the SageTV UI.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-25-2019, 01:55 AM
VCRUser VCRUser is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 257
I use the Web UI whenever I need to edit metadata.
__________________
Server: Windows 7 SP1; 4gb RAM; 2TB SATA. Dell GX745. Inputs: Haup. 850 & 950Q on ATSC; Haup 1600 on ATSC & Comcast DTA with USBUIRT. Haup 1800 on ATSC. Sage 9.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-25-2019, 12:25 PM
will will is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 797
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkGuy View Post
How are you recording from an on-demand source? I use Play-on for that.
I stopped using PlayOn, the quality isn't there. I now record directly from the official apps - much better quality and reliability.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
I don't think there is a way to easily set EPG guide data, but there is a plugin to facilitate the naming of Timed Recordings. Would that do the trick?

Or you should be able to do that in the web UI or BMT as other options from outside of the SageTV UI.
I do use Timed Recordings but it doesn't tie into EPG. I was just curious if there was something new I wasn't aware of.

Quote:
Originally Posted by VCRUser View Post
I use the Web UI whenever I need to edit metadata.
Yeah, that will probably be the only option I have.
__________________
Will

OS: Windows 7
Hardware: Intel Core i7-920 with 12GB RAM & an Adaptec 5805 with a Chenbro 36-port SAS Expander
Case: Antec 1200 with 4 iStarUSA trayless hot-swap cages (20 drives max)
Drives: 8 Toshiba/Hitachi 2TB drives in a RAID 6 & 7 Toshiba 3TB drives in a RAID 6
Capture Cards: HDHomeRun Connect Quatro 4, Hauppauge 60 HD-PVR
Players: 5 HD300s, 2 HD200s, 1 Client, 1 MiniClient
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-25-2019, 12:36 PM
will will is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 797
When I edit a Timed Recording in BMT the show is stilled grouped as a Timed Recording.

Is there anyway to get it grouped as a normal show? I assume this is driven by the external ID field, is there anyway to look that up?
__________________
Will

OS: Windows 7
Hardware: Intel Core i7-920 with 12GB RAM & an Adaptec 5805 with a Chenbro 36-port SAS Expander
Case: Antec 1200 with 4 iStarUSA trayless hot-swap cages (20 drives max)
Drives: 8 Toshiba/Hitachi 2TB drives in a RAID 6 & 7 Toshiba 3TB drives in a RAID 6
Capture Cards: HDHomeRun Connect Quatro 4, Hauppauge 60 HD-PVR
Players: 5 HD300s, 2 HD200s, 1 Client, 1 MiniClient
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-26-2019, 08:17 AM
RonBoyd's Avatar
RonBoyd RonBoyd is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by will View Post
I stopped using PlayOn, the quality isn't there. I now record directly from the official apps - much better quality and reliability
I have no issue with the quality of the PlayOn recordings. However, I am always looking for ways to improve, therefore, I am curious what you mean by "directly from the official apps." Can you give me some examples of these apps?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-29-2019, 05:26 AM
will will is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 797
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonBoyd View Post
I have no issue with the quality of the PlayOn recordings. However, I am always looking for ways to improve, therefore, I am curious what you mean by "directly from the official apps." Can you give me some examples of these apps?
https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/sho...11&postcount=3
__________________
Will

OS: Windows 7
Hardware: Intel Core i7-920 with 12GB RAM & an Adaptec 5805 with a Chenbro 36-port SAS Expander
Case: Antec 1200 with 4 iStarUSA trayless hot-swap cages (20 drives max)
Drives: 8 Toshiba/Hitachi 2TB drives in a RAID 6 & 7 Toshiba 3TB drives in a RAID 6
Capture Cards: HDHomeRun Connect Quatro 4, Hauppauge 60 HD-PVR
Players: 5 HD300s, 2 HD200s, 1 Client, 1 MiniClient
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-29-2019, 02:11 PM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,178
Just thinking off top of my head.

Would using one of the xml2epg methods (really not familiar with them) work?
Do up the xml however it needs to be for your "dummy" channel to put in "epg" metadata, then to sage it wouldn't look like a timed recording?

No clue how much effort or if that would even work
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-29-2019, 02:59 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,587
I spoke to Slugger years ago about this and apparently it was a bit tricky. He should know as he built the EPG plugin for Schedules Direct before the SageTV EPG was shut down. Unfortunately he has left the SageTV community.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EPG Data for Manual Recording Changed cheekymonkey SageTV Software 0 03-19-2010 03:13 AM
Recording multiple formats of the same show at the same time? petreza SageTV Software 1 07-15-2007 11:31 AM
Please advice on how to pad a show's recording time. BergoniaC SageTV Software 3 07-31-2004 03:11 PM
Manual recording kept old epg start time? Alex0230 SageTV Software 1 05-22-2004 05:26 PM
making a manual recording, on a special channel, for an amount of time!? jimbobuk SageTV Beta Test Software 11 08-25-2003 04:45 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.