SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Linux

Notices

SageTV Linux Discussion related to the SageTV Media Center for Linux. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Linux should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-16-2006, 11:48 PM
zoop's Avatar
zoop zoop is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Elkridge, MD
Posts: 184
MediaMVP Issues

Anyone out there using the MVP yet with the linux version? After fighting with heap sizes and other install issues i appear to have a stable server with PC clients connecting without issue. Unfortunately the MediaMVP is not working quite as well... It appears to connect fine and the Sage main menu pops up without difficulty, but when i attempt to view a recording it spurts some sound and then the screen turns green and the sound stops. At this point it is locked and only a power cycle will rejuvinate it... sageout shows some pointer errors:

Tue 1/17 0:45:54.993 ERROR: Stack pointer is invalid in parser!
java.lang.Exception: Stack trace

but i am unsure if they are 100% related.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-17-2006, 09:56 AM
_Demo_ _Demo_ is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 863
Send a message via ICQ to _Demo_
Could you send a more complete log.

Thanks

_Demo_
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-17-2006, 10:11 AM
zoop's Avatar
zoop zoop is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Elkridge, MD
Posts: 184
Tue 1/17 11:06:35.686 ERROR: Stack pointer is invalid in parser!
java.lang.Exception: Stack trace
at java.lang.Thread.dumpStack(Unknown Source)
at sage.d$a.int(Unknown Source)
at sage.b.a.l.a(Unknown Source)
at sage.b.d.a(Unknown Source)
at sage.b.c.a(Unknown Source)
at sage.b.d.a(Unknown Source)
at sage.b.l.a(Unknown Source)
at sage.d.a(Unknown Source)
at sage.aw.a(Unknown Source)
at sage.aw.do(Unknown Source)
at sage.aw.for(Unknown Source)
at sage.aw.do(Unknown Source)
at sage.aw.for(Unknown Source)
at sage.aw.do(Unknown Source)
at sage.aw.for(Unknown Source)
at sage.aw.do(Unknown Source)
at sage.aw.for(Unknown Source)
at sage.aw.do(Unknown Source)
at sage.aw.for(Unknown Source)
at sage.aw.do(Unknown Source)
at sage.aw.for(Unknown Source)
at sage.aw.do(Unknown Source)
at sage.bm.hx(Unknown Source)
at sage.a.b$1.new(Unknown Source)
at sage.ak.a(Unknown Source)
at sage.b.d.a(Unknown Source)
at sage.b.c.a(Unknown Source)
at sage.b.d.a(Unknown Source)
at sage.b.l.a(Unknown Source)
at sage.d.a(Unknown Source)
at sage.aw.a(Unknown Source)
at sage.aw.a(Unknown Source)
at sage.d.a(Unknown Source)
at sage.d.a(Unknown Source)
at sage.d$1.run(Unknown Source)

the MVP is now working... i wonder if leaving it up for a bit longer before attempting to view a show made a difference... once the sage menu comes online are there other things still loading in the background?

thx

/jer
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-17-2006, 10:27 PM
zoop's Avatar
zoop zoop is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Elkridge, MD
Posts: 184
definately intermittant... works sometimes and not others. i am now getting a black screen (doesn't boot to the sage menu at all) and when i attempt remote IR input to the MVP, the sage server spits errors:

Tue 1/17 23:25:07.153 Closing down MiniPlayer
Tue 1/17 23:25:07.153 closeDriver0()
java.lang.NullPointerException
at sage.bl.case(Unknown Source)
at sage.bl.free(Unknown Source)
at sage.VideoFrame.try(Unknown Source)
at sage.VideoFrame.gn(Unknown Source)
at sage.UIManager.k(Unknown Source)
at sage.bo$2.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
Tue 1/17 23:25:28.940 initDriver0()
Tue 1/17 23:25:28.942 VideFrame had an error loading the file. It must abort the file load.
Tue 1/17 23:25:28.942 Closing down MiniPlayer
Tue 1/17 23:25:28.942 closeDriver0()

any help is appriciated

thx

/jer
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-20-2006, 08:09 PM
laurenglenn's Avatar
laurenglenn laurenglenn is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Levittown, PA
Posts: 601
Send a message via AIM to laurenglenn Send a message via MSN to laurenglenn
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoop
Anyone out there using the MVP yet with the linux version? After fighting with heap sizes and other install issues i appear to have a stable server with PC clients connecting without issue. Unfortunately the MediaMVP is not working quite as well... It appears to connect fine and the Sage main menu pops up without difficulty, but when i attempt to view a recording it spurts some sound and then the screen turns green and the sound stops. At this point it is locked and only a power cycle will rejuvinate it... sageout shows some pointer errors:

Tue 1/17 0:45:54.993 ERROR: Stack pointer is invalid in parser!
java.lang.Exception: Stack trace

but i am unsure if they are 100% related.
I am and it has just about no problems for me. Actually, I had another problem. The files play fine, but new recordings wouldn't show. Apparently SageTV lost the ability to render parts of the STV. I had to unplug the MVP and plug it back in.

Seemed to correct the problem, but I also keep getting a "stack pointer is invalid in parser" too..

Lauren
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-20-2006, 08:10 PM
laurenglenn's Avatar
laurenglenn laurenglenn is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Levittown, PA
Posts: 601
Send a message via AIM to laurenglenn Send a message via MSN to laurenglenn
Do you have the animations turned off?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-21-2006, 11:30 AM
zoop's Avatar
zoop zoop is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Elkridge, MD
Posts: 184
ya... i have actually found that i have to leave the MVP off for a bit before rebooting it to get it to boot all of the way. i have read in other hardware forums that there are overheating problems with some MVPs which can cause this. once the MVP is up and running i have to say it is quite solid and works as well as i can expect. after setting the server heap size to 260M and adjusting the videoframe/local_encoding_to_playback_delay to 4000 the server is working wonderfully with dual tuners. now to start tweaking!

thx

/jer
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-21-2006, 05:00 PM
laurenglenn's Avatar
laurenglenn laurenglenn is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Levittown, PA
Posts: 601
Send a message via AIM to laurenglenn Send a message via MSN to laurenglenn
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoop
ya... i have actually found that i have to leave the MVP off for a bit before rebooting it to get it to boot all of the way. i have read in other hardware forums that there are overheating problems with some MVPs which can cause this. once the MVP is up and running i have to say it is quite solid and works as well as i can expect. after setting the server heap size to 260M and adjusting the videoframe/local_encoding_to_playback_delay to 4000 the server is working wonderfully with dual tuners. now to start tweaking!

thx

/jer
How do you set the server heap size?

Lauren
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-21-2006, 05:03 PM
zoop's Avatar
zoop zoop is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Elkridge, MD
Posts: 184
it's an option when java is fired up in the startsage script

-Xmx260m

/jer
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-21-2006, 05:07 PM
laurenglenn's Avatar
laurenglenn laurenglenn is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Levittown, PA
Posts: 601
Send a message via AIM to laurenglenn Send a message via MSN to laurenglenn
Thanks! I set it and we'll see what happens. I'm guessing there needs to be more gc() commands in the STVs themselves for Linux.

**edit**

It seems to be working great. Thanks for that info. The 4000 ms delay and increasing the heap size seems to work well.
Lauren

Last edited by laurenglenn; 01-21-2006 at 05:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-23-2006, 12:15 AM
laurenglenn's Avatar
laurenglenn laurenglenn is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Levittown, PA
Posts: 601
Send a message via AIM to laurenglenn Send a message via MSN to laurenglenn
I also changed the following in my Sage.properties:

ui/system_memory_2dimage_cache_limit=200000000
ui/system_memory_2dimage_cache_size=160000000

--------------------------------------

I added this argument to the Java lines in Startsage:

-Xincgc

Itīs supposed to enable incremental garbage collection which is disabled by default. The CPU usage dropped from 85% down to under 10%.

Lauren
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-23-2006, 09:43 AM
_Demo_ _Demo_ is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 863
Send a message via ICQ to _Demo_
Those cache size are a bit excessive. You could try to use twice the default values but not 10 times...

_Demo_
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.