SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-08-2006, 07:52 PM
hammondr hammondr is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 43
Importing old BTV recordings into Sage 5.04

I am a new Sage trial user, deciding whether to migrate from BeyondTV. So far I am very pleased, but I have a few lingering doubts.

Does anyone know how to import the metadata info from BTV recordings into Sage so they are viewable like native SageTV Recordings? I know how to import the files into the "video library", and can watch them there. What I would like to do is import the files, either in automated fashion or manually, so they appear along with the recordings Sage managed itself.

I don't know where show metadata is stored in either BTV or Sage, or whether it's also stored in the MPG somehow, etc. Hopefully a kind soul here can help me.

Thanks.

p.s. The Sage version I am using is the downloadable trial 5.0.4.

Last edited by hammondr; 09-08-2006 at 07:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-10-2006, 04:43 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,821
I did this by using nielm's web interface. It has an option to alter the show details after which the show is displayed as an archived recording. You have to do each one by hand, no automation as far as I could find.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-15-2006, 02:45 PM
hammondr hammondr is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 43
web interface did it.

I'd much prefer a way to just dig into and edit the XML, but this worked for me ... after only a few short hours, I've imported ~100 of my 233 BeyondTV recordings. so much for sleep...

Thanks, tmiranda
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-16-2006, 04:06 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,821
Thank nielm
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-14-2006, 11:11 AM
Belgrath Belgrath is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by hammondr
I'd much prefer a way to just dig into and edit the XML, but this worked for me ... after only a few short hours, I've imported ~100 of my 233 BeyondTV recordings. so much for sleep...

Thanks, tmiranda
I'm not having as good a luck... I've taken my BTV files and placed them into the imported media directory, I refresh my listings.

Using the web interface I can find these new files but when I try to edit the dat via the web interface I get the following error.

==========================================
Error: failed setting airing on new MediaFile

Failed create new media file, nothing modified

Any suggestions, or perhaps provide a listing of the exact steps that you used to import the BTV recordings into your Archived recordings.

Thanks ahead of time,
Belgrath
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-14-2006, 11:58 AM
hammondr hammondr is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 43
worked some times, some times no

Belgrath,

I found that this method worked probably 80% of the time. This may be anecdotal, but I think it was more successful at adding metadata to .mpg files, and less able for .avi files. Sage didn't even recognize the .wmv files that were there, but that may change with SageMC 6.0 (beta is out now).

Something that I found worked pretty well was not including the cast and other long text fields on the data entry page. It would often fail if those fields were filled (and really long), and wouldn't fail often if I left them blank.

Let me know if this works for you?

-Ryan
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-17-2006, 09:04 AM
Belgrath Belgrath is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 82
No such luck

Belgrath
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.