SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-21-2008, 11:19 AM
-=Jeff=- -=Jeff=- is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 233
Newbie needs help and direction with SageTV

Hi all!!

I am currently a DishNet subscriber and in the hopes to save my family some $$ I would liek to cancel Dish and move to an OTA Solution.

I have been doing quite a bit of reading lurkign on a few forums and I am leaning towards SageTV.

My requirements are to be able to record OTA HDTV content. either to view after the recording is done, or Time shifted, start watching while it is still recording. I think I have my OTA solution in place, I just need to purchase an antenna and mount it.

I have an older 50" HDTV with no ATSC tuner so I need something for that. we have a total of 3 TVs in the house, but my plan is to start with one with this system and then expand as needed.

I was leaning towards the HDHomerun and then a SageTv HD Extender when they are again avail. I don't want to build another PC but I am willing to add on Hard Drives as needed.

I currently have 2 PCs in my house, both run XP-Pro. one is an AMD 3800x2 with 2 gig on RAM and a 256M video card (ati x1600 I think) this PC my wife uses for surfing the internet, Email etc. The other is a XP1900+ with 640M Ram (PC133). will either of these work for HD Content? either streaming live or recording?

Moving the Pc near the TV is not an option, but I think the HD Extender will solve that issue. I am slowly upgrading to 1GIG netowrk but I currently have 100M switches etc.

So will the slow 1900+ PC work for Sage Media Center? that slower pc will not be used for Watching anything, if not I assume my 3800+ machine shoudl work, but will it slow performance if it is recording while my wife uses it?

If I go this route and I like I will add another HD Homerun.

I also have a hauppauge WinTV PVR-150 in my the slower machine (due to location for an antenna connection) does the PVR-150 need to be in the same PC that I run the Sage TV Media Center? if not then I could use my faster PC as the Media Center and have the other PC with the PVR-150 and the HDHomerun feed it.

See I told you I was a Newbie..
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-21-2008, 12:08 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by -=Jeff=- View Post
Hi all!!

I am currently a DishNet subscriber and in the hopes to save my family some $$ I would liek to cancel Dish and move to an OTA Solution.

I have been doing quite a bit of reading lurkign on a few forums and I am leaning towards SageTV.

My requirements are to be able to record OTA HDTV content. either to view after the recording is done, or Time shifted, start watching while it is still recording. I think I have my OTA solution in place, I just need to purchase an antenna and mount it.

I have an older 50" HDTV with no ATSC tuner so I need something for that. we have a total of 3 TVs in the house, but my plan is to start with one with this system and then expand as needed.

I was leaning towards the HDHomerun and then a SageTv HD Extender when they are again avail. I don't want to build another PC but I am willing to add on Hard Drives as needed.

I currently have 2 PCs in my house, both run XP-Pro. one is an AMD 3800x2 with 2 gig on RAM and a 256M video card (ati x1600 I think) this PC my wife uses for surfing the internet, Email etc. The other is a XP1900+ with 640M Ram (PC133). will either of these work for HD Content? either streaming live or recording?
Either of those will be fine for recording/streaming (though the 1900 wouldn't be able to play it very well). My server is an XP 1800+ with 1GB ram.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-21-2008, 12:29 PM
-=Jeff=- -=Jeff=- is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
Either of those will be fine for recording/streaming (though the 1900 wouldn't be able to play it very well). My server is an XP 1800+ with 1GB ram.
Awesome, I will just buy some Ram for the 1900 and make that my recorder/streamer.

Now how many tuners will SageTV allow? I also wonder if there will be an issue If I installed 2 PVR-150 carss in the same PC
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.