SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-08-2008, 10:45 PM
TheraEdge's Avatar
TheraEdge TheraEdge is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 163
Sage HD Theater of Media Extender Questions

Sorry for this, lazy type post, but I wanted to get right to the point of all these questions. Plus my first daughter only 3 months old right now is kind of keeping my research time to a minimum.

I have been very interested in getting a media extender for the living room to get the Sage computer out of there. But some questions have been holding me back. So far I've only scratched the surface of the FAQ, and everything looks promising, but wanted to get some more definitive answers. I've also downloaded the Manuals for the HD extenders to see if I can understand and learn more about how they work before taking the plunge.

So here are some of my questions. It sounds like the interface you use on the extender is exactly what the interface would be on the computer running Sage TV it self, including customizations:

1.)Does this mean I can run ComSkip and nielm's (awesome) Multi-speed skip fast forward on the extender?

2.)How do you go about installing the add ons? Does the extender just run whatever is installed on the Sage TV PC?

3.)Does the remote control used have to be the one that comes with the extender or can you program in commands to use through it much like you would with the USB-UIRT that I am currently running directly on the Sage machine, so I don't have to lose my current remote set up? (Although it looks like the HD extender remotes are quite extensive for commands if that isn't possible)

4.)Can I use the HD extenders to play back TV recorded on my non-HD tuners on a non-HD TV? (It seemed like this was easily possible with the multiple lower resolutions & outputs other than HDMI supported) The HDTV is probably between a year or two off in the future still.

Well, those pretty much do it for my main questions. Any light that could be shed on any of them would be most helpful in my decision making process, and getting the PC out of the living room would score me many brownie points with the wife.

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-09-2008, 08:22 AM
bigbill's Avatar
bigbill bigbill is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 372
1.)Unknown to me

2.)Unknown to me

3.)You can use any IR remote if you program it via the same commands as you do with the server under detailed setup.

4.)I don't have an SD tv anymore, but it has SVHS and the Yellow RCA jack so it should work.
__________________
Sage Server: SageTV v9.1.8
Hardware Dell T20 Mini Tower, 4th Gen Pentium, 8GB RAM, Win10 Pro 64 bit, 3 x 4TB WD Green, 128GB SSD boot drive. Capture: 2 Dual HDHR, (OTA Winegard HD8200U, CM4221HD), 3 @ STP-HD200's fw=v20100909 TV's: 70", 55" & 40" Sony's - Playon/PlayLater, Blue Iris. FFMPEG script converting MPEG2 to MP4 long term storage.

Motorhome Sage Server: SageTV v9.1.8 Intel NUC6CAYH, HD300, Nvidia Shield 2017, 1 Dual HDHR 4TB Passport storage, Winegard BatWing RV antenna.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-09-2008, 08:35 AM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheraEdge View Post
It sounds like the interface you use on the extender is exactly what the interface would be on the computer running Sage TV it self, including customizations:
Correct. The only customizations I know of that won't work on the extenders are Netflix Watch Now Streaming and the Online Radio Plugins although there is a hack to get those working as well.

Quote:
1.)Does this mean I can run ComSkip and nielm's (awesome) Multi-speed skip fast forward on the extender?
Yes - both of these work on the extenders just fine.

Quote:
2.)How do you go about installing the add ons? Does the extender just run whatever is installed on the Sage TV PC?
As long as you've downloaded the files for the add-ons onto your SageTV Server PC, you install them on the extenders the same way as normal. Typically import or load your add-on or STVs right from the extender menu.

Quote:
3.)Does the remote control used have to be the one that comes with the extender or can you program in commands to use through it much like you would with the USB-UIRT that I am currently running directly on the Sage machine, so I don't have to lose my current remote set up? (Although it looks like the HD extender remotes are quite extensive for commands if that isn't possible)
You can train the extender to learn any IR remote control. Or you can use a universal remote such as the Harmony remotes and set it up that way.

Quote:
4.)Can I use the HD extenders to play back TV recorded on my non-HD tuners on a non-HD TV? (It seemed like this was easily possible with the multiple lower resolutions & outputs other than HDMI supported) The HDTV is probably between a year or two off in the future still.
Yes, you can watch HDTV and SD recorded shows on a standard def TV.

Quote:
getting the PC out of the living room would score me many brownie points with the wife.
Your wife will be very happy with the extender versus the PC. Mine definitely is. As a bonus I'm pretty happy as well since there isn't any PC-related maintenence to be done any more except for on the server itself.

Last edited by Brent; 12-09-2008 at 09:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-09-2008, 08:47 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheraEdge View Post
...nielm's (awesome) Multi-speed skip fast forward on the extender?
It's got smooth ffw out of the box.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-09-2008, 10:02 AM
TheraEdge's Avatar
TheraEdge TheraEdge is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 163
Well, thanks for all the input...smooth FF out of the box! Ooh, nice. I think I will have to get on the order list here then and hopefully get it before my Christmas Vacation kicks in so I can try to have some time to work on it and get it up and running.

Thanks again for all the responses.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD Programming freezes on HD Media Extender dadams SageTV Media Extender 11 11-30-2008 02:28 PM
HD Media Extender does not find Server HiDefDon SageTV Media Extender 25 11-10-2008 08:55 AM
NZ: Anyone using the HD Media Extender? argo SageTV Australia/New Zealand 7 06-10-2008 01:46 AM
HD Extender video quality issue TimmyToo SageTV Media Extender 6 12-19-2007 09:02 AM
SageTV HD Media Extender and Digital Cable Benny the Guard SageTV Media Extender 4 12-13-2007 05:29 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.