SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-13-2008, 07:47 PM
personalt's Avatar
personalt personalt is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 241
IR Blaster - Can I change IR commands so two boxes dont interfere

I think I can do this, but I want to be sure before spending a few dollars on a IR blaster and stick all my sage boxes in one closet.

Can I remap the sage commands on one of the boxes so that if I blast the signal for two or more sage boxes in the same closet they dont interfere?

It appears from the command menu i can remap commands to new IR commands but i wanted to make sure that is what the menu is saying since I dont have the IR blaster yet.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-13-2008, 07:59 PM
MrD MrD is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 387
what are you trying to control? most boxes have alternate codes for this reason. also the usb uirt has multiple channels so that one set of commands can be discrete to each box
__________________
[size=1]-MrD
=============
Linux Server 7.1.9 (1)HD300 (1) HD200 (1) HD100 (2) PC Clients
Intel Xeon L? 32Gb
CetonTV cable card /FIOS
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-13-2008, 08:32 PM
personalt's Avatar
personalt personalt is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 241
I want to stick 4 sage boxes in a closet. I was thinking of getting a xantech or niles ir hub.

something like this
http://www.crutchfield.com/p_190MSU4...rch=ir&tp=3375

Currently I run a IRA-2 into CQC which then controls the extenders via tcp/ip.
However I find there to be a litttle extra delay that way that is getting annoying

I was trying to get away from the computer. are you talking about using usb irt as a reciever or sender of ir data? or both?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-13-2008, 09:08 PM
CollinR CollinR is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,304
Yes you can just try it, it's in detailed setup.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-13-2008, 10:29 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,596
If you mean having 4 extenders in the same place: you can probably reprogram all IR codes except Power, so the same IR codes will turn them all on or off, or some combination that depends on the power state of each one. There are discrete power on & off codes, but again: the codes are the same for each one & can't be customized.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-13-2008, 10:41 PM
personalt's Avatar
personalt personalt is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 241
in the hd200 menu it looks like you can customize the power on/off buttons

could that be in the hd200?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MCE blaster with HD-PVR and other tuner? SageGk Hardware Support 1 12-08-2008 05:58 PM
MCE IR Blaster Question Striker:WG Hardware Support 0 11-30-2008 11:43 PM
IR Blaster in HD-PVR stops responding showson1 Hardware Support 8 10-17-2008 09:49 AM
Harmony 520 Remote With Hauppauge Commands Taddeusz Hardware Support 5 04-27-2007 06:04 AM
blaster NO work globulus Hardware Support 2 03-19-2007 08:13 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.