SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-29-2009, 08:20 PM
-=Jeff=- -=Jeff=- is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 233
WHS and drive pool question

Currently I am running a XP2500 + single core for my SageTV and X10, as well as a file server for some documents. Oh yeah this is an XP Pro machine


I was hoping to build a quad core in Feb, with WHS BUT, we bought a netbook for my wife instead.


I am still thinking of the WHS route, and might use my current XP box for the WHS set-up but I am curious on the Drive pool.. my Current MOBO has a sata Controller with 2 ports ( I have 2 750GB drives) then I added a PCI Sata card with one port (1 tb) and it also has an eSATA connection.

will eSATA be allowed in the drive pool? better yet is 2 SATA controller going to be an issue?

Lastly is the XP2500+ enough?

currently I have 2 PVR150s and another analog tuner (hardware encoder but I forget the name)

also have 1 HDHR, hoping to expand to a second HDHR.

I am using 2 HD100s and hoping to add a 3rd.

any info would be great.

I do have a Xp3800 x2 we use as our main desktop int he house ( wife more then me) which I could redo to be our Server..

thoughts and opinions are greatly appreciated
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-30-2009, 07:41 AM
Beefcake550 Beefcake550 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 706
I would think that's enough of a CPU for simply serving up files...

You can definitely add ESATA drives to the pool no problem. You can even add USB drives. No issues with the 2 STA controlelr thing either.. I have a RAID5 controller and the built in ICH10.

-B
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-30-2009, 07:53 AM
-=Jeff=- -=Jeff=- is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 233
Cool.. now I need to get a HD to use for the WHS install ( and get WHS). I like the Hardware I am currently using for my server. I know once I get started on the switch over i will have more questions.. it will probably be this summer once the seasons are over
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tutorial: SageTV on WHS with 64K clusters in the drive pool... S_M_E Hardware Support 257 01-29-2011 06:20 AM
WHS, Drive Pool, and 64k cluster size Beefcake550 Hardware Support 27 12-06-2009 06:53 PM
Explain the difference in backup drive and pool drive in whs PLUCKYHD Hardware Support 3 02-27-2009 01:19 PM
adding full drives to WHS pool, just making sure toony Hardware Support 5 02-25-2009 09:19 AM
Question on WHS and SageTV Media Server V6.5 for WHS Texas-Hansen SageTV Software 8 02-10-2009 07:55 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.