SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Placeshifter

Notices

SageTV Placeshifter Discussion related to the SageTV Placeshifter application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Placeshifter software application should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-02-2009, 03:43 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,333
Password and login - not!

Any idea why Placeshifter WOULDN'T be asking for a password and login name? I had to do a total reinstall to new drives; entered all the serials which was fine; created a new user account etc. However, when I pick the method that connects through locator or IP address, I'm never asked for a password/login name. Any idea what's up with that?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-02-2009, 08:31 AM
matt91's Avatar
matt91 matt91 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1,185
I assume you are trying this on your local network. My recollection is that it'll only ask for a username/password if you're from outside.

Have you tried it with your external IP address? (assuming that your router is forwarding the port correctly)
__________________
Server: Ubuntu 16.04 running Sage for Linux v9
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-02-2009, 11:09 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,333
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt91 View Post
I assume you are trying this on your local network. My recollection is that it'll only ask for a username/password if you're from outside.

Have you tried it with your external IP address? (assuming that your router is forwarding the port correctly)
I tried it based on my IP address, just for that purpose. I'll head down to my neighbours and give it a go.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-02-2009, 11:45 AM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
I tried it based on my IP address, just for that purpose.
Which IP address? Your router's WAN IP, or your server's LAN IP? The WAN IP should authenticate; the LAN IP typically does not (although there's a property to override that).
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-05-2009, 10:10 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,333
Quote:
Originally Posted by GKusnick View Post
Which IP address? Your router's WAN IP, or your server's LAN IP? The WAN IP should authenticate; the LAN IP typically does not (although there's a property to override that).
thanks -
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Placeshifter password lazy SageTV Placeshifter 1 03-15-2009 11:56 AM
1 of 3 linkstations wants a password cat6man SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 0 03-13-2009 02:19 PM
Placeshifter Password arpotu SageTV Placeshifter 1 07-22-2008 02:33 PM
Invalid username and password lovingHDTV SageTV Software 3 11-06-2004 06:33 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.