SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

View Poll Results: AnyDVD VS DVDFab
AnyDVD HD 54 70.13%
DVDFab (Blue-ray) 23 29.87%
Voters: 77. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-18-2010, 09:39 AM
nettech_gt nettech_gt is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 211
AnyDVD VS DVDFab

Both seem to be about the same. Which is best for ripping Blue-rays to your hard drive to view with an HD100 and why? THANX!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-18-2010, 09:50 AM
aflat aflat is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 302
You should put an other option there too. I personally use MakeMKV to rip all my blu-rays. I was putting them in mkv format anyways, and it doesn't need anydvd or dvdfab.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-18-2010, 10:02 AM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
There is one big difference between the two (and the main reason i use DVDFab)... you can't rip just the main movie with AnyDVDHD (at least that ive found, i own both)... I have no use for all the extras, soundtracks, etc... so i only rip the main movie
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-18-2010, 10:17 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
You can with Clown_BD with AnyDVD running though.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-18-2010, 10:23 AM
medwynd medwynd is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by razrsharpe View Post
There is one big difference between the two (and the main reason i use DVDFab)... you can't rip just the main movie with AnyDVDHD (at least that ive found, i own both)... I have no use for all the extras, soundtracks, etc... so i only rip the main movie
Yes, until Slysoft comes out with something like CloneDVD for Bluray you need to use Clown to strip out the extras. I personally rip my dvd's with everything except all the foriegn language tracks, etc but I like keeping menus and such.

I haven't gotten into ripping blurays yet though.

One of my friends bought DVD Fab back in the day when it had just come out and he got all of the software available at the time with a lifetime license for a mere 30$. I hadn't even heard of it at the time, I wish I had scored it then

I have the lifetime license for AnyDVD-HD though which I think is a worthwhile purchase. I hope when Slysoft comes out with their Bluray ripping software similar to CloneDVD that they toss a bone to owners of previous software.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-18-2010, 11:27 AM
RocKKer RocKKer is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 191
+1 on the movie only option of DVD Fab.
__________________
SageTV Server v9.0.4, Ubuntu Server 14.04 LTS Trusty Tahr x64, Java 1.8.0_77 - Xeon E5-2670, 16GB, 6X6TB WD Red - Software Raid 6, Antec 300, 2X HDHR3 (OTA), 3X HD-200
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-18-2010, 11:41 AM
SWKerr SWKerr is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,178
I think DVDFab and AnyDVD generally have different strengths. DVDFab is great at file conversion while AnyDVD will let you play\copy any disk real time. I would say DVDFab is overall the better tool but I use AnyDVD because I have gotten picky about my file conversions and upgrading to the BluRay version of DVDFab would cost money.

I currently use AnyDVD to rip everything.
:For BluRays I then use RipBot264 to convert it to a smaller m2ts if I intend to keep it on the server or just tsMuxer if I will just delete after watching.
:For DVDs I use MakeMKV to seperate the main movie or episodes. I then use tsMuxer to make it into a m2ts file if it will go into the permanent library. (Would love it if MakeMKV supported m2ts as well.)

I used DVDFab for a long time to rip and convert DVDs but moved to AnyDVD with the advent of BluRays. DVDFab is probably the best\easiest tool around to convert ripped disks to a compressed format of some kind. Now that it supports BluRays it is probably even a better choice for someone that doesn't want to learn the details of file formats and compression. For me the lack of support for creating m2ts files is the deal killer. I have pretty much standardized on that container at this point.

I didn't know MakeMKV would rip a BluRay. I see it is $50 with a 30 Trail so I will have to give it a try.

Last edited by SWKerr; 05-18-2010 at 01:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-18-2010, 12:45 PM
Beefcake550 Beefcake550 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 706
I use TSMuxer + AnyDVDHD to get only what I want (main movie). My setup may not be the latest, but it hasn't failed me yet, so I stick with it .
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-18-2010, 02:15 PM
Suntan Suntan is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 156
I use AnyDVD w/ ClownBD. It is annoying everytime a Clown update hassles you about updating to the latest java, but the ability to play a disc in the drive is beneficial and to my knowledge, not a feature that DVDfab offers.

Also, as a pure gamble as to who has more staying power in this rather “grey” market, I place my chits on AnyDVD over DVDfab.

-Suntan
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-18-2010, 02:43 PM
heffneil heffneil is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 747
Huge fan of DVDFab here. My only problem since using it for blurays is that disney productions and the audio tracks but I believe that is a different issue in itself.

DVDFab has been extremely reliable and has a pretty good community for support. I hope it never goes away!

Neil
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-18-2010, 03:22 PM
bastafidli bastafidli is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 728
+ DVDFab runs on Linux using Wine
__________________

TV: Samsung UN46D8000
Server: Intel Core i3 540, 4G RAM, Matrox G450, 70GB EXT3 encrypted software RAID1 system drive, 1TB XFS tv recording drive, 2TB EXT3 encrypted data drive mirror across 2 machines, 2TB EXT3 encrypted media drive mirror across 2 machines, CentOS 6 64 bit, Experimenting with DNLA servers
1Gb wired network
Disconnected after G day[HD 100 Media Extender, Placeshifter 7.x, SageTV 7.x, HDHomeRun]
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-18-2010, 04:56 PM
Naylia's Avatar
Naylia Naylia is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 754
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
You can with Clown_BD with AnyDVD running though.
+1 for this approach

Piece of cake, reduce to main movie, and just check a box if no DD track exists to convert to AC3 for playback on extenders
__________________
You can find me at Missing Remote. Or playing FF XIV. For XLobby users: XLobby MC
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-18-2010, 09:41 PM
davephan's Avatar
davephan davephan is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,911
I use both DVDFab7 (DVD) and AnyDVD HD. I don't have a blueray drive in my computer, and I've never ripped a blueray. I bought AnyDVD first, then DVDFab. DVDFab seems to do a better job with the ripping just the main movie. AnyDVD updates their software much more frequently. The update reminder messages with AnyDVD are nice. DVDFab rarely updates their software. There doesn't seem to be any notification in the software or even e-mail alerts that a newer version is available with DVDFab. I wish that DVDFab would build in an updating mechanism similar to AnyDVD.

Dave
__________________
SageTV: LIAN LI PC-K58, Gigabyte GA-EX580UD5, i-7 950 3.06 gig quad LGA 1366 CPU, Zalman CNPS9700 CPU cooler 1366 bracket, Memory 24 gigs GB, PNY NVIDIA GeoForce 9800 GT 1024 MB, Corsair 750w PSU, Samsung 500GB SSD boot, 3 SSD recording drives
Capture cards: 2 - HDHR Primes - Comcast Xfinity CableTV
Extenders: 1-HD-300, 2-HD-200
Software: Windows 7 Pro X64, Ghost 15, VideoReDo TVSuite 4 h.264, Playon (Netflix), OpenDCT
UnRAID File Server 4.7 Pro: Lian-Li PC-G70B, MBD-X8SIL-F-O, i3-540, 16 TB
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-18-2010, 09:50 PM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by davephan View Post
The update reminder messages with AnyDVD are nice.
or really annoying depending on your POV
Quote:
DVDFab rarely updates their software. There doesn't seem to be any notification in the software or even e-mail alerts that a newer version is available with DVDFab. I wish that DVDFab would build in an updating mechanism similar to AnyDVD.
i get a notice if there is a new version available when i start DVDFab (only when new version is avail and only during dvdfab start)... maybe its an option somewhere?
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-19-2010, 07:51 AM
Suntan Suntan is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 156
Just throwing it out there, as I’ve never tried it after getting AnyDVD, but couldn’t a person just use the “free” version of DVDfab with AnyDVD running in the background for the purpose of stripping the main movie/audio?

The pay version of DVDfab is mostly for cracking updates (and ability to compress rips too if my memory serves) but ripping the main movie was always a capability of the free version.

Has anyone done this?

-Suntan
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-19-2010, 07:54 AM
lpitman lpitman is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 52
I use both...anyDVD is always first to crack encryption on new BD's but DVDFab will copy just main movie...so both have there strengths.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-19-2010, 11:03 AM
RocKKer RocKKer is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suntan View Post
Just throwing it out there, as I’ve never tried it after getting AnyDVD, but couldn’t a person just use the “free” version of DVDfab with AnyDVD running in the background for the purpose of stripping the main movie/audio?

The pay version of DVDfab is mostly for cracking updates (and ability to compress rips too if my memory serves) but ripping the main movie was always a capability of the free version.

Has anyone done this?

-Suntan
I don't believe you can run both at the same time. I know DVDFab warns you if AnyDVD is running, I don't remember the exact message but I think the idea was DVDFab wouldn't work.

I believe you can rip the whole DVD/BRD with any of the tools (AnyDVD, MakeMKV, DVDFab, etc) then run the ripped files thru the free version of DVDFab to pull out the movie only, I used to do that sometimes with DVD files, I assume it would work with BRD's also. You end up with full size BRD movie.

I like my BRD's smaller then full size, so I run the movie thru BD-Rebuilder to re-encode to a smaller size, one of the options in BD-Rebuilder is "movie only" so for me it doesn't matter what is in the original rip, (although I think ripping movie only is faster).
__________________
SageTV Server v9.0.4, Ubuntu Server 14.04 LTS Trusty Tahr x64, Java 1.8.0_77 - Xeon E5-2670, 16GB, 6X6TB WD Red - Software Raid 6, Antec 300, 2X HDHR3 (OTA), 3X HD-200
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-19-2010, 01:56 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Regardless, I think the distinguishing feature between free an pay DVD Fab is the shrinking/reauthoring functions, I think the ripping (and decrypting) are free. Though I do have a vague recollection that for BD you have to pay for, maybe it's just "more frequent" updates for BD.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-19-2010, 02:33 PM
bastafidli bastafidli is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 728
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
Regardless, I think the distinguishing feature between free an pay DVD Fab is the shrinking/reauthoring functions, I think the ripping (and decrypting) are free. Though I do have a vague recollection that for BD you have to pay for, maybe it's just "more frequent" updates for BD.
You are correct, Free can rip, Paid can reauthor. Both will notify you about updates (On Windows, not on Linux). Also the Paid one doesn't work on Linux under Wine, since apparently the registration functionality is broken. The free one does work.
__________________

TV: Samsung UN46D8000
Server: Intel Core i3 540, 4G RAM, Matrox G450, 70GB EXT3 encrypted software RAID1 system drive, 1TB XFS tv recording drive, 2TB EXT3 encrypted data drive mirror across 2 machines, 2TB EXT3 encrypted media drive mirror across 2 machines, CentOS 6 64 bit, Experimenting with DNLA servers
1Gb wired network
Disconnected after G day[HD 100 Media Extender, Placeshifter 7.x, SageTV 7.x, HDHomeRun]
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-19-2010, 05:27 PM
Suntan Suntan is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 156
As of a few months back, the 'free' one got the updates significanty after the paid one. Which, for something like BR decryption, severely imits the value of the free one as a ripper/cracker. Unless you are the type that doesn't go for new releases.

-Suntan
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Utility: AnyDVD Updater KJake SageTV Customizations 43 03-04-2011 08:02 PM
Utility: AnyDVD Rip Wrapper KJake SageTV Customizations 63 11-27-2010 03:27 PM
AnyDVD rips not playing in sagetv AJ Bertelson SageTV Software 71 01-28-2009 11:34 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.