SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-16-2013, 10:11 AM
ccsmoke ccsmoke is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 153
HD PVR Power Adapter

I have a Rev E1 HDPVR (blue light) that I noticed the PQ started to wash out. Rebooted the computer then got device not recognized. Troubleshooted it down to the wall wart as pulled one off of dlink AP and seemed to work.

The wall wart that came with it is a 5v 3a vs the dlink is 5v 2a but was little warm. Would under amperage cause issues? The 5v 3a seem to be rare or questionable quality so was thinking about getting a dlink 5v 2.5a one.

The unit had been pretty stable until this issue.

Thanks

Scott
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-18-2013, 03:10 PM
BobPhoenix BobPhoenix is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccsmoke View Post
I have a Rev E1 HDPVR (blue light) that I noticed the PQ started to wash out. Rebooted the computer then got device not recognized. Troubleshooted it down to the wall wart as pulled one off of dlink AP and seemed to work.

The wall wart that came with it is a 5v 3a vs the dlink is 5v 2a but was little warm. Would under amperage cause issues? The 5v 3a seem to be rare or questionable quality so was thinking about getting a dlink 5v 2.5a one.

The unit had been pretty stable until this issue.

Thanks

Scott
2A is fine. It doesn't appear to be an amp problem burning them out. I've gone from 2A to 3A to 2A now on mine they were genuine Hauppauge replacements. The HD-PVR seems to just age them quickly. I've been thinking about creating my own cable and powering them from the power supply in my PC. Just haven't gotten around to it yet. Since I have 3 in operation I have 4-6 bad wall warts with the multiple replacements I've done.
__________________
"Keep your goals away from the trolls"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-19-2013, 09:35 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,589
This is a very common problem (capacitor plague) - I have had both power supplies fail for my HD-PVRs and there is even a blog post about this: A Defect with the HD-PVR will eventually fail for all
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD-200 power adapter jluster SageTV Media Extender 15 02-09-2012 06:18 PM
HD300 Power Adapter Helheim SageTV Media Extender 3 09-28-2010 12:51 PM
hd300 power adapter compatibility with hd200 impro SageTV Media Extender 4 09-10-2010 12:38 PM
Media Extender Australia - Power Adapter zbobz SageTV Media Extender 17 02-16-2007 11:22 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.