SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-01-2015, 10:21 AM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,821
Weather broken?

Using Sage 7.1.9 the built-in weather functions are no longer working correctly. Is anyone else seeing these problems?

Problem #1: Weather maps not drawing the map background -only showing the radar overlay and the "WU" Weather Underground logo. So, on a clear day, you see nothing but a blank screen, on a rainy or snowy day, you see some green blobs, but with no cities or states in the background, you can't tell where they aer.

Problem #2: Weather only updates if you check the weather screen and only in the morning. If I check the weather screen in the morning, the update time will be some time in the past hour. But, if I check it in the evening, it won't update (The update time and date will be from the last time I happened to check it in the morning, which could be today or could be a couple days ago).

I have several weather locations set up in different parts of the US and all seem to have this same behavior. Re-starting Sage or re-starting my computer don't seem to help. I see the same thing whether viewing locally at the server pc, or from an HD200 extender.

Is anyone else seeing these problems? Any ideas on how to troubleshoot?
__________________
Server: Athlon II X4 630 CPU, Gigabyte MA770T-UD3P (AM3) Motherboard, VisionTek Radeon HD4670 PCIe w/ Component output to 50" CRT Rear-Projection HDTV (Mitsubishi), Win7-64Bit (Home Premium), 4GB RAM
Capture Devices (8 tuners): Colossus (x1), HD-PVR (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-01-2015, 01:40 PM
SVinzant's Avatar
SVinzant SVinzant is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 28
I am seeing weather issues too. I haven't dove in to deep to see what is going on, it's def. not updating.

EDIT: I am seeing the exact same issues that Tiki is describing.

Last edited by SVinzant; 03-02-2015 at 04:41 PM. Reason: Update original post.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-01-2015, 06:41 PM
Thomas Wischgol's Avatar
Thomas Wischgol Thomas Wischgol is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 256
I am seeing the same issues. It refused to update a few days ago but then a couple days later it started up again. The weather radar is still missing the background image though.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-01-2015, 07:21 PM
Denali Denali is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 158
I've noticed the same effects. Weather not updating for several weeks mainly in the afternoon and the radar background for several days. The sagetv log shows:
"Weather Underground returned error status. Type: invalidkey Description: this key is not valid due to exceeding rate plan"
It looks like OPUS4 needs to look at the weather feature.
__________________
HTPC: Gigabyte GA-Z170XP-SLI, I7-6700, 16GB, Windows 10 Pro x64, Hauppauge HVR-1600, WinTV-dualHD, Colossus 2, Samsung 850 EVO 120GB, Seagate 3TB, WD 3TB, 3TB, 5TB, Java v1.8.0_231, SageTVx64 v9.2.1.826, Samsung UN60EH6003F, Dish ViP222K, ViewHD 1x2 HDMI Splitter.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-02-2015, 06:04 AM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,821
Quote:
Originally Posted by Denali View Post
I've noticed the same effects. Weather not updating for several weeks mainly in the afternoon and the radar background for several days. The sagetv log shows:
"Weather Underground returned error status. Type: invalidkey Description: this key is not valid due to exceeding rate plan"
It looks like OPUS4 needs to look at the weather feature.
I'm wondering if that key value is exposed some place where it can be edited (like in the sage.properties file). Maybe the answer is to create a personal account on Weather Underground so we can use our own key.
__________________
Server: Athlon II X4 630 CPU, Gigabyte MA770T-UD3P (AM3) Motherboard, VisionTek Radeon HD4670 PCIe w/ Component output to 50" CRT Rear-Projection HDTV (Mitsubishi), Win7-64Bit (Home Premium), 4GB RAM
Capture Devices (8 tuners): Colossus (x1), HD-PVR (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-02-2015, 02:57 PM
egeller egeller is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Drexel Hill, PA
Posts: 241
Hey Tiki:

I thought it was just me, but you described the symptoms I am seeing.
__________________
Server:UnRaid;2x Intel Xeon E5; SuperMicro moboard;Also:BM3000 w/ WMC; 2x Ceton ETH 6; OpenDCT
SageTV Extender:3x HD200 1x HD300
Sage TV: 9.2.1, Standard STVi, Comskip Playback, Web Interface, 24 Hour Clock, SRE, YouTube2015, Playon
All in lovely Drexel Hill, PA
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-02-2015, 08:24 PM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,068
Saw these symptoms a week or two ago, then they went away, now they are back. The written forecast and alerts appear to be working, but not the radar.
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 8.1 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-03-2015, 07:03 AM
willowpc willowpc is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 5
Extended forecasts no longer displaying

Extended forecasts stopped displaying three days ago although overview screen is still being updated ok.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-04-2015, 09:38 AM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,068
Opus/Narflex: I know you guys are obviously prioritizing your "real" work over SageTV (understandably), but can you at least let us know whether there will there be a fix to this issued eventually?
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 8.1 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-04-2015, 03:37 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,596
I noticed the lack of updates a while back, but I thought it was my system, since I was having computer issues at the same time, so I'm glad this topic was posted... someone is looking into why it is happening & hopefully it will get fixed soon.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-04-2015, 06:43 PM
Thomas Wischgol's Avatar
Thomas Wischgol Thomas Wischgol is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 256
Great Andy! It is nice to know that a software that was discountinued years ago is still getting support.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-04-2015, 10:45 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,477
still the best program for the money I've ever purchased. can you imagine how great it would have been if development continued?
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-05-2015, 07:34 AM
mechling-burgh mechling-burgh is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 391
I would settle to just have ffmpeg updated, just to take care of the bad recordings from Comcast on the prime. But ya been playing with kodi and plex and I still can't find anything close to the hd300s I have. They just work as a rule the bad recordings seem to be the only problem I have. If I use the ffmpeg option in SageDCT I get micro blocking every now and then.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-05-2015, 03:09 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,061
Quote:
Originally Posted by mechling-burgh View Post
I would settle to just have ffmpeg updated, just to take care of the bad recordings from Comcast on the prime. But ya been playing with kodi and plex and I still can't find anything close to the hd300s I have. They just work as a rule the bad recordings seem to be the only problem I have. If I use the ffmpeg option in SageDCT I get micro blocking every now and then.
Maybe you should ask Andy to update the FFMPEG for SageDCT as that is where the problem is. ... This is not a SageTV problem as SageTV never supported the Prime.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-05-2015, 03:14 PM
mechling-burgh mechling-burgh is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 391
I know that, but I thought this problem was tracked down to the ffmpeg on sage being the problem at one time. Something about the audio stream or something. If I run the bad file through sage convert it plays fine. I don't know if its the hd300 or Sage it's self problem.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-07-2015, 06:07 PM
BlueH2O's Avatar
BlueH2O BlueH2O is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 98
My weather is not working either, but my experience is a little different than what some of you have described. Data has not updated since 3/5/15. If I try to re-set the location, I get "No locations were found while searching for" anything I type there. Re-installed the plugin, no effect. I thought maybe the full moon made it go mad.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-09-2015, 08:03 AM
BobPhoenix BobPhoenix is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueH2O View Post
My weather is not working either, but my experience is a little different than what some of you have described. Data has not updated since 3/5/15. If I try to re-set the location, I get "No locations were found while searching for" anything I type there. Re-installed the plugin, no effect. I thought maybe the full moon made it go mad.
I just reinstalled one of my SageTV servers and got the same "No locations were found while searching for" message. A couple of hours later I got my weather back without me doing anything. It looks like SageTV stored the location even though it gave the error message because when I started getting temperatures and forcasts later they were correct. I will check when I get home tonight and see if the locale is listed correctly.


Edit: knew I forgot something will check when I get home tonight if I remember.
__________________
"Keep your goals away from the trolls"

Last edited by BobPhoenix; 03-13-2015 at 07:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-12-2015, 06:06 PM
Beaker's Avatar
Beaker Beaker is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Central Iowa
Posts: 65
Me Too

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiki View Post
Is anyone else seeing these problems? Any ideas on how to troubleshoot?
Same here.
__________________
"Worry does not empty tomorrow of its sorrow; it empties today of its strength." Corrie Ten Boom

Core-i5 6600k
16GB RAM
Hauppauge WinTV-QuadHD
Win10
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-13-2015, 11:48 AM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,308
We're aware of this problem and it should be taken care of any day now.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-13-2015, 12:00 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
And amazingly enough, there's apparently an issue with the weather app on Google Fiber TV this week as well...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Weather Channel eliminating free weather data feed iolaus SageTV Software 69 08-26-2012 11:17 AM
FYI - Google Weather Broken peterjb SageTV Australia/New Zealand 1 11-21-2011 03:07 PM
Downloaded Google Weather Update, No weather? symgryph SageTV v7 Customizations 3 11-18-2011 08:55 AM
Using Weather Network as a feed for Canadian Weather Fastrack SageTV Customizations 2 03-22-2009 09:47 PM
weather.com weather extractor for mlbdude2 1.8.7 (v1.0.1 / July 6) nielm SageTV Customizations 105 10-08-2004 06:54 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.