SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-12-2013, 09:03 PM
will will is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 797
Opinion Needed - Integrating Chromecast with SageTV

So I have come up with this novel idea of how to get Chromecast into my SageTV setup.

My idea is to use a:
  • HD-PVR 1512
  • J-Tech Digital Hdmi To Hdmi w/the Chromecast

The J-Tech device should take care of the HDCP and the HD-PVR is how I'll get the feed into Sage.

I'll setup the new HD-PVR as a new source and map a channel with no EPG content to it. Since you use your phone/tablet to control the Chromecast I don't have to worry about the remote.

I'd like to get some opinions on the feasibility of this setup. Also, I currently use two 1212 HD-PVRs (which work great). Does anyone know if the 1512 will work with the 1.5.7 drivers? I've read that people have had issues with the 1512 and live streaming feeds with HD200s. I'm hesitant to update my drivers as my two 1212s work great (no lockups in a very long time).
__________________
Will

OS: Windows 7
Hardware: Intel Core i7-920 with 12GB RAM & an Adaptec 5805 with a Chenbro 36-port SAS Expander
Case: Antec 1200 with 4 iStarUSA trayless hot-swap cages (20 drives max)
Drives: 8 Toshiba/Hitachi 2TB drives in a RAID 6 & 7 Toshiba 3TB drives in a RAID 6
Capture Cards: HDHomeRun Connect Quatro 4, Hauppauge 60 HD-PVR
Players: 5 HD300s, 2 HD200s, 1 Client, 1 MiniClient

Last edited by will; 11-12-2013 at 09:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-13-2013, 01:27 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
What is it you are actually trying to accomplish?

I'm not sure the HD-PVR will be able to record from the chromecast, I'm betting most apps implement HDCP.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-13-2013, 08:21 AM
will will is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 797
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
What is it you are actually trying to accomplish?
I'm trying to distribute full 1080p/5.1 on-demand services to my extenders without having to install additional hardware at each TV or have to change the TV source/audio source when I want to watch HBO GO, Hulu, or Netflix.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
I'm not sure the HD-PVR will be able to record from the chromecast, I'm betting most apps implement HDCP.
Correct, the Chromecast does implement HDCP but the J-Tech Digital Hdmi To Hdmi can help with that (it is the middle man between the Chromecast and the HD-PVR).
__________________
Will

OS: Windows 7
Hardware: Intel Core i7-920 with 12GB RAM & an Adaptec 5805 with a Chenbro 36-port SAS Expander
Case: Antec 1200 with 4 iStarUSA trayless hot-swap cages (20 drives max)
Drives: 8 Toshiba/Hitachi 2TB drives in a RAID 6 & 7 Toshiba 3TB drives in a RAID 6
Capture Cards: HDHomeRun Connect Quatro 4, Hauppauge 60 HD-PVR
Players: 5 HD300s, 2 HD200s, 1 Client, 1 MiniClient

Last edited by will; 11-13-2013 at 08:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-13-2013, 11:18 AM
sacrament055 sacrament055 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 429
That sounds like a good idea and it seems like it should work. I'm curious to see how this works out for you.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-13-2013, 02:32 PM
IVB's Avatar
IVB IVB is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oak-town, CA
Posts: 1,083
Bah. When I bought my $35 Chromecast, I opted to buy a new $1K HDMI switching receiver. And $2K projector/106" screen. And $2K in speakers. And, it'll only cost me $5K/room to do the same everywhere!

But hot damn, does the Chromecast sound great, Google Play Movies have never looked better.
__________________
------------------------------------
My Home Automation YouTube channel
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-13-2013, 03:22 PM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
Quote:
Originally Posted by will View Post
So I have come up with this novel idea of how to get Chromecast into my SageTV setup.

My idea is to use a:
  • HD-PVR 1512
  • J-Tech Digital Hdmi To Hdmi w/the Chromecast

The J-Tech device should take care of the HDCP and the HD-PVR is how I'll get the feed into Sage.

I'll setup the new HD-PVR as a new source and map a channel with no EPG content to it. Since you use your phone/tablet to control the Chromecast I don't have to worry about the remote.

I'd like to get some opinions on the feasibility of this setup. Also, I currently use two 1212 HD-PVRs (which work great). Does anyone know if the 1512 will work with the 1.5.7 drivers? I've read that people have had issues with the 1512 and live streaming feeds with HD200s. I'm hesitant to update my drivers as my two 1212s work great (no lockups in a very long time).
I have a chromecast, and i don't understand how or what you are trying to do exactly. can you elloborate?

what are you going to "cast" to the chromecast? is it that you want to throw something to the tv, and have the HDVPR capture it so it is then available to other devices on the "sage" network? similiar to the old school loop back channel we are all familiar with from Sage 6 and netflix days?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-14-2013, 06:02 PM
will will is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 797
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiX64 View Post
I have a chromecast, and i don't understand how or what you are trying to do exactly. can you elloborate?
Well I'm looking for a way to get full 1080p Netflix/Hulu/HBO Go (when Chromecast eventually supports HBO Go) to my five TVs throughout the house without having to buy separate Chromecasts for each TV.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PiX64 View Post
is it that you want to throw something to the tv, and have the HDVPR capture it so it is then available to other devices on the "sage" network? similiar to the old school loop back channel we are all familiar with from Sage 6 and netflix days?
I'm not familar with the loop back channel but what you said sounds correct.

I realize with my proposed setup the household would only be able to watch one thing at a time but I think this may be a decent solution for getting HD Netflix into SageTV. My concern isn't so much the cost of having to buy multiple Chromecasts but the fact that I have to change sources on the TV and have something else plugged into the TV. I love the simplicity and functionality of my extender setup.
__________________
Will

OS: Windows 7
Hardware: Intel Core i7-920 with 12GB RAM & an Adaptec 5805 with a Chenbro 36-port SAS Expander
Case: Antec 1200 with 4 iStarUSA trayless hot-swap cages (20 drives max)
Drives: 8 Toshiba/Hitachi 2TB drives in a RAID 6 & 7 Toshiba 3TB drives in a RAID 6
Capture Cards: HDHomeRun Connect Quatro 4, Hauppauge 60 HD-PVR
Players: 5 HD300s, 2 HD200s, 1 Client, 1 MiniClient
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-22-2013, 03:26 PM
Deacon Crusher Deacon Crusher is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 503
Did you get this working? Very interesting idea.

I have all the pieces to put this together (chromecast and spare HD PVR) except for the HDCP defeat piece.

Please share rest of story. What "guide" did you attach to this 1 channel source?

Thanks
__________________
Server: PhenomII X4 810, 16GB, 4850, C: 256GB Samsung SSD, D: HGST 3TB, E: HGST 4TB, H: 3T Seagate, 1.5 TB on NAS via UNC, Win 10 x64,
Sage 9 Cable provider is Comcast, Schedules Direct
Tuners: 4 ATSC - 2 seperate HD Homeruns all via Channel Master CM2016 on roof, 6 cable via 2 hdhomerun primes (opendct), 1 HD-PVR (in tuner priority order)
Clients: Wired: HD300, HD200, HD200 running Squeeze Slave, Placeshifters, HD200 (via wireless N bridge)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-22-2013, 11:34 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,552
I would guess that the delay will drive you nuts. The HD-PVR introduces a couple of second delay in the stream. That is fine when you are watching TV but when you are trying to interact using a remote, or your phone, you don't get immediate feedback when you take action.

I tried doing something similar once and I couldn't take the delay - I tried running the video output of my Control4 Home Automation controller though an SD tuner.

Given that the Chromecast is $35, and I have seen Black Friday sales for $30, then about six Chromecasts equals one HD-PVR in terms of price, unless you have an unused HD-PVR. I think you are better off to just buy a bunch of Chromecasts and save yourself the hassle.

The idea of the loop back was to take the output of your PC's video card and feed it into an HD-PVR so that you could access it from your Sage extenders. But the problem was then how to control the PC when you weren't in front of it.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-23-2013, 07:11 AM
will will is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 797
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deacon Crusher View Post
Did you get this working? Very interesting idea.
I've done a lot of research on this topic and I haven't pulled trigger yet because I am concerned that the HD-PVR 1512 would not work well with my setup. I read on the forums that the HD-PVR 1512 doesn't work with live TV on HD200s which is what I would need with the Chromecast. I thought about using another HD-PVR 1212 but I don't believe that wold work with a 1080p source converted to component (the source would still be 1080p and the HD-PVR 1212 maxes out at 1080i).

As for HDCP, after doing lots of Google searches I discovered a couple switches that cost about $20 which work with HDCP inputs and allow non-HDCP outputs (in essence, HDCP strippers).

Yesterday I learned that PlayOn and PlayLater now support 720p video. I'm considering trying out their software again and seeing if the quality would suffice. I'd be fine with 720p resolution if Netflix would use the 1080p bit rate (5mb/s) but I have read online that 720p uses around 3.5mb/s bit rate so I need to do some testing. I'm thinking the PlayLater feature could work well with my setup: create a new import folder called Netflix or HBO Go and "DVR" the TV shows I want to watch from those services.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
I would guess that the delay will drive you nuts
With a Chromecast the delay wouldn't be an issue because you don't actually have an interface with a Chromecast, you use the standard Netflix app on your phone and then press a button to have it display on the Chromecast...so no delay issues.
__________________
Will

OS: Windows 7
Hardware: Intel Core i7-920 with 12GB RAM & an Adaptec 5805 with a Chenbro 36-port SAS Expander
Case: Antec 1200 with 4 iStarUSA trayless hot-swap cages (20 drives max)
Drives: 8 Toshiba/Hitachi 2TB drives in a RAID 6 & 7 Toshiba 3TB drives in a RAID 6
Capture Cards: HDHomeRun Connect Quatro 4, Hauppauge 60 HD-PVR
Players: 5 HD300s, 2 HD200s, 1 Client, 1 MiniClient
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-23-2013, 10:41 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,552
Quote:
Originally Posted by will View Post
With a Chromecast the delay wouldn't be an issue because you don't actually have an interface with a Chromecast, you use the standard Netflix app on your phone and then press a button to have it display on the Chromecast...so no delay issues.
OK, cool. So all of the content selection is done on your phone/tablet? That solves the issue.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-27-2013, 07:14 AM
trk2 trk2 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 340
I just set this up using my Colossus and the HDMI splitters discussed in this thread to solve the HDCP issues. HD Netflix with 5.1 audio in Sage finally! And it works great!

The delay doesn't bother me since with streaming you are waiting for things to buffer anyway. Since Sage is recording the stream, you have much improved pause/resume/rewind/fast forward response by performing those actions within sage then traditional streaming through the Netflix interface.

Highly recommended.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-27-2013, 08:33 AM
will will is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 797
Quote:
Originally Posted by trk2 View Post
I just set this up using my Colossus and the HDMI splitters discussed in this thread to solve the HDCP issues. HD Netflix with 5.1 audio in Sage finally! And it works great!
Are you using a Roku, Apple TV, Chromecast, or something else? Just curious, I know it shouldn't matter what device you use.
__________________
Will

OS: Windows 7
Hardware: Intel Core i7-920 with 12GB RAM & an Adaptec 5805 with a Chenbro 36-port SAS Expander
Case: Antec 1200 with 4 iStarUSA trayless hot-swap cages (20 drives max)
Drives: 8 Toshiba/Hitachi 2TB drives in a RAID 6 & 7 Toshiba 3TB drives in a RAID 6
Capture Cards: HDHomeRun Connect Quatro 4, Hauppauge 60 HD-PVR
Players: 5 HD300s, 2 HD200s, 1 Client, 1 MiniClient
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-27-2013, 08:59 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,552
The interesting thing is that I bet that you could use an HDMI switch that is IR controlled, like they sell at Monoprice, and use all of the above. The problem would be that you would need a smartphone to control them since you typically would not be in the same room as the device.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-27-2013, 09:07 AM
will will is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 797
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
The interesting thing is that I bet that you could use an HDMI switch that is IR controlled, like they sell at Monoprice, and use all of the above. The problem would be that you would need a smartphone to control them since you typically would not be in the same room as the device.
Yeah, and that is why I think the Chromecast is the best solution for this setup because it doesn't have a remote. You use the phone apps for the services, e.g., Netflix, Hulu, to find what you want and then it plays through the Chromecast. Chromecast still lacks a lot of app support but I think that will be better over time.
__________________
Will

OS: Windows 7
Hardware: Intel Core i7-920 with 12GB RAM & an Adaptec 5805 with a Chenbro 36-port SAS Expander
Case: Antec 1200 with 4 iStarUSA trayless hot-swap cages (20 drives max)
Drives: 8 Toshiba/Hitachi 2TB drives in a RAID 6 & 7 Toshiba 3TB drives in a RAID 6
Capture Cards: HDHomeRun Connect Quatro 4, Hauppauge 60 HD-PVR
Players: 5 HD300s, 2 HD200s, 1 Client, 1 MiniClient
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-27-2013, 09:50 AM
trk2 trk2 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by will View Post
Are you using a Roku, Apple TV, Chromecast, or something else? Just curious, I know it shouldn't matter what device you use.
I'm using Chromecast. Roku or Apple TV would work, but I think it would be a lot more cumbersome trying to control them with an IR remote with the delay. Chromecast being wifi controlled works for me since my sage server is in a closet without IR access anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-28-2013, 07:22 AM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner Send a message via Skype™ to mikejaner
re

Is this the device you were referring to, and are you sure it strips HDMI? If so I want to order one at this price and do the same with my Chrome cast with my Collosus.
http://www.amazon.com/J-Tech-Digital.../dp/B00BIQER0E
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-29-2013, 07:15 AM
trk2 trk2 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikejaner View Post
Is this the device you were referring to, and are you sure it strips HDMI? If so I want to order one at this price and do the same with my Chrome cast with my Collosus.
http://www.amazon.com/J-Tech-Digital.../dp/B00BIQER0E
This is the device I'm using that removes HDCP.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-30-2013, 08:06 AM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner Send a message via Skype™ to mikejaner
Quote:
Originally Posted by trk2 View Post
This is the device I'm using that removes HDCP.
Sweet, thanks.
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-30-2013, 01:41 PM
Deacon Crusher Deacon Crusher is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 503
Doing a little Saturday Sage work.

Have the ViewHD hdmi switch (arrived yesterday, thanks for the direction), have a colussus that's been sitting around doing nothing and have a chromecast.

Curious what format you have the chromecast set to and how you got there. Looks like the Colussus maxes out at 1080i same as all my older hd pvrs. Did you set the chromecast up while plugged into some other TV and then move to the hdmi splitter or?

And then did you set the new tuner up with 1 bogus channel or ??

And did you have any driver issues with the colussus? (I have an hd-pvr in the same system and don't want to mess it up.)

Thanks
__________________
Server: PhenomII X4 810, 16GB, 4850, C: 256GB Samsung SSD, D: HGST 3TB, E: HGST 4TB, H: 3T Seagate, 1.5 TB on NAS via UNC, Win 10 x64,
Sage 9 Cable provider is Comcast, Schedules Direct
Tuners: 4 ATSC - 2 seperate HD Homeruns all via Channel Master CM2016 on roof, 6 cable via 2 hdhomerun primes (opendct), 1 HD-PVR (in tuner priority order)
Clients: Wired: HD300, HD200, HD200 running Squeeze Slave, Placeshifters, HD200 (via wireless N bridge)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chromecast bialio General Discussion 106 12-10-2013 05:37 PM
Any News on if Google will add SageTV to Chromecast??? reubenleeb General Discussion 0 09-13-2013 11:34 AM
Integrating STB with SageTV 7 jbrandon Hardware Support 3 08-26-2010 07:17 AM
Integrating a Wireless Webcam into SageTV CanadianEh Hardware Support 1 03-20-2010 08:37 AM
AVSForum thread about PC PVRs - let your opinion about SageTV be known psxjunky SageTV Software 19 11-18-2003 11:27 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.