SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Clients Development

Notices

SageTV Clients Development This forum is for discussions relating to SageTV Open Source Clients Development.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1081  
Old 06-06-2022, 07:13 AM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
Time to look for alternatives next vacation
It's certainly not the cheapest solution out there, but I don't think you can go wrong with the Nvidia Shield TV. It is a lot more powerful than any of the "stick" streamers and it is really easy to add other programs like a VPN client which can make accessing your home easier.
__________________
i7-6700 server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-300 HD Extenders (hooked to my whole-house A/V system for synched playback on multiple TVs - great during a Superbowl party)
Amazon Firestick 4k and Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all
Reply With Quote
  #1082  
Old 06-18-2022, 11:25 AM
egeller egeller is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Drexel Hill, PA
Posts: 322
Java 11 related I think

Since the JDK and Docker update for Java 11, related to fixing IMDB, I am seeing some apparent font corruption problem in certain parts of the UI. This is only on the mini-client on FireTV. There is no problem on the HDx000 client or the windows client. I run two servers and am seeing the problem on both servers in the Edit Metadata screen. On one server, I am seeing a problem in the Malore recording. Strangely, I do not see it on the other server.

I am running Java 11. I have stopped SageTV, deleted the files in the fontcache directory and restarted. That did not work.

On the Edit Metadata screen the right half of the screen has font corruption.

On the Malore Recording screen (not sure what else to call it) the top line, in yellow, with the recording title, is messed up.

Any thoughts or advice of what else I can try?

Apologies for the wonky look of the photos. I did not know how else to capture the screen and my TV is one of those curved ones.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg EditMetadataScreenPhoto.jpg (231.5 KB, 53 views)
File Type: jpg MaloreRecordingScreen.jpg (275.2 KB, 50 views)
__________________
Server:UnRaid;2x Intel Xeon E5; SuperMicro moboard;Also:BM3000 w/ WMC; 2x Ceton ETH 6; OpenDCT
SageTV Extender:3x HD200 1x HD300 1xFireTV
Sage TV: 9.2 on Java 11, Standard STVi, Comskip Playback, Web Interface, 24 Hour Clock, SRE, Playon
All in lovely Drexel Hill, PA
Reply With Quote
  #1083  
Old 06-18-2022, 11:37 AM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by egeller View Post
Since the JDK and Docker update for Java 11, related to fixing IMDB, I am seeing some apparent font corruption problem in certain parts of the UI. This is only on the mini-client on FireTV. There is no problem on the HDx000 client or the windows client. I run two servers and am seeing the problem on both servers in the Edit Metadata screen. On one server, I am seeing a problem in the Malore recording. Strangely, I do not see it on the other server.

I am running Java 11. I have stopped SageTV, deleted the files in the fontcache directory and restarted. That did not work.

On the Edit Metadata screen the right half of the screen has font corruption.

On the Malore Recording screen (not sure what else to call it) the top line, in yellow, with the recording title, is messed up.

Any thoughts or advice of what else I can try?

Apologies for the wonky look of the photos. I did not know how else to capture the screen and my TV is one of those curved ones.
here is a thread where Narflex posted some ways to resolve placeshifter font/display issues...

https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=55574

K
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page
Reply With Quote
  #1084  
Old 06-18-2022, 12:22 PM
egeller egeller is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Drexel Hill, PA
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post
here is a thread where Narflex posted some ways to resolve placeshifter font/display issues...

https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=55574

K
Thanks, that helped. All the discussion pointed to it being a client-side problem.

Fixing it involved going to the FireTV settings | Applications | Manage Installed Applications | Sage TV Android Client | Clear Cache.

(NOT Clear Data)
__________________
Server:UnRaid;2x Intel Xeon E5; SuperMicro moboard;Also:BM3000 w/ WMC; 2x Ceton ETH 6; OpenDCT
SageTV Extender:3x HD200 1x HD300 1xFireTV
Sage TV: 9.2 on Java 11, Standard STVi, Comskip Playback, Web Interface, 24 Hour Clock, SRE, Playon
All in lovely Drexel Hill, PA
Reply With Quote
  #1085  
Old 08-20-2022, 09:44 AM
llbrott llbrott is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Lancaster, CA
Posts: 2
I am having the same troubles as hb4 had in post #1065.

That is, when I press FF, the timeline skips forward 30-seconds, then quickly jumps back to the original time. The RW works most of the time.

I have gone into the miniclient's setup and used the keystroke debug features. When I press the buttons on the remote, I get either:
COMMAND: Skip Fwd/Page Right - 8_
media_fast_forward-NORM-90

COMMAND: Skip Bkwd/Page Left - 9_
media_rewind-NORM-89

All my miniclient's settings are default except for:
Default Player: IJK
Streaming Mode: Dynamic
Memory Cache: 128MB

My system is:
Miniclient version 1.13.0

Fire TV Stick 4K
Fire OS 6.2.9.1 (NS6291/4110)
Fire TV Home Version 6380025.1

Samsung TV UN32M4500BF

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!
Reply With Quote
  #1086  
Old 08-26-2022, 12:17 PM
phelme's Avatar
phelme phelme is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by llbrott View Post
I am having the same troubles as hb4 had in post #1065.

That is, when I press FF, the timeline skips forward 30-seconds, then quickly jumps back to the original time. The RW works most of the time.
same problem here. I can put up with it, but it drives the wife crazy.

it seems to behave better for me if I use the remote's (of the Firestick or Google TV) digipad (i.e., right arrow) to do a FF as opposed to the Miniclient GUI overlay.

by any chance are you using the Comskip plugins?
Reply With Quote
  #1087  
Old 08-27-2022, 06:57 PM
llbrott llbrott is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Lancaster, CA
Posts: 2
I only have two plugins: java heap monitor, and a signal strength monitor.

I had two weeks to decide whether to return the Firestick, and I just returned it today. Instead, I ordered a very basic Windows laptop to run SageTV on the bedroom TV.

I purchased SageTV way back in 2011, and this is my second post to the forums. That shows how trouble-free it's been all these years. I will stick with what I know and use Windows.
Reply With Quote
  #1088  
Old 08-29-2022, 07:08 AM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by egeller View Post
Thanks, that helped. All the discussion pointed to it being a client-side problem.

Fixing it involved going to the FireTV settings | Applications | Manage Installed Applications | Sage TV Android Client | Clear Cache.

(NOT Clear Data)
You can "force Close" the app and it seems to correct the issue as well. I find that the app routinely has corrupted images when you don't exit it, but rather skip to another app. When you go back into the SageTV app, it's usually corrupted.
__________________
i7-6700 server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-300 HD Extenders (hooked to my whole-house A/V system for synched playback on multiple TVs - great during a Superbowl party)
Amazon Firestick 4k and Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all
Reply With Quote
  #1089  
Old 09-18-2022, 07:06 AM
cerickso88 cerickso88 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Ohio
Posts: 15
Android mini client

I've been wanting to switch to SageTV for sometime now but have not due to no subtitle's or closed captions. I use NextPVR but it is not reliable as it runs on Windows.

I have HDHomeRun that does record closed captions. I am hoping to get the Android mini client (on my nVidia Shields) to support playing back CC.

Is this something that is in the plan? I know that lots of us (myself included) have been asking for a few years now.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #1090  
Old 09-18-2022, 10:58 AM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,721
I'm primarily using HD300's for watching TV on my home network, but I hopped back into my Firestick 4kMAX this morning (on the LAN) to test the CC with Exoplayer. I'm running SageTV server V9.2.2.929 and uninstalled the miniclient from the Firestick and installed the latest version.

I opened the miniclient on the Firestick and attempted to play a program recorded from the HDHR. It just starts the video then crashes almost immediately saying 'max number of retries reached.' It seems nothing I can do will allow the miniclient on Firestick to play native mpeg2 video files from the HDHR. So I went back into the primary settings in the launch screen and forced it to transcode - now it plays, but there are no closed captions.

The Firestick does appear to play native mpeg2 using ijkplayer [EDIT: okay I was wrong on this, I guess the latest miniclient won't play mpeg2 with either exoplayer of ijkplayer]

Last edited by KryptoNyte; 09-18-2022 at 11:03 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #1091  
Old 09-18-2022, 09:40 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
I'm primarily using HD300's for watching TV on my home network, but I hopped back into my Firestick 4kMAX this morning (on the LAN) to test the CC with Exoplayer. I'm running SageTV server V9.2.2.929 and uninstalled the miniclient from the Firestick and installed the latest version.

I opened the miniclient on the Firestick and attempted to play a program recorded from the HDHR. It just starts the video then crashes almost immediately saying 'max number of retries reached.' It seems nothing I can do will allow the miniclient on Firestick to play native mpeg2 video files from the HDHR. So I went back into the primary settings in the launch screen and forced it to transcode - now it plays, but there are no closed captions.

The Firestick does appear to play native mpeg2 using ijkplayer [EDIT: okay I was wrong on this, I guess the latest miniclient won't play mpeg2 with either exoplayer of ijkplayer]
My FireTV 4K max plays mpeg2 nicely using EXOPLAYER ... but I am using OPENDCT to control my HDHR tuners.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #1092  
Old 09-28-2022, 07:00 PM
jvl711's Avatar
jvl711 jvl711 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 825
New release 1.14.0

Hi all,

There is a new release of the Android Client out. It is a minor release and is mainly an update to the latest version of ExoPlayer. It is live in Google Play Store, and should be live in Amazon app store soon.

Just a quick plug.... If you like the work I am doing please think about supporting me on Patreon.
__________________
Projects I am currently maintaining
SageTV Andoid Client
Media Format Parser Plugin
JavaFFmpegLibrary
SageTVTranscoder

If you like the work I am doing and would like to support it you can become a Patreon member.
Reply With Quote
  #1093  
Old 09-29-2022, 05:27 PM
emveepee emveepee is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by cerickso88 View Post
I've been wanting to switch to SageTV for sometime now but have not due to no subtitle's or closed captions. I use NextPVR but it is not reliable as it runs on Windows.
Actually the NextPVR backend runs on Windows, Linux (x64, arm7 and aarch64), macOS and Docker. I am just about to release an update to my Android client uidroid which like the Sage Android mini player uses ExoPlayer and the update adds the CEA 608 CC's back which ExoPlayer removed from the default.

Martin
Reply With Quote
  #1094  
Old 09-30-2022, 05:38 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by cerickso88 View Post
I've been wanting to switch to SageTV for sometime now but have not due to no subtitle's or closed captions. I use NextPVR but it is not reliable as it runs on Windows.

I have HDHomeRun that does record closed captions. I am hoping to get the Android mini client (on my nVidia Shields) to support playing back CC.

Is this something that is in the plan? I know that lots of us (myself included) have been asking for a few years now.

Thanks
What I do is I run Comskip on all recordings which can also extract CC into subtitles. Subtitles are fully supported.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #1095  
Old 10-16-2022, 01:48 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,355
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvl711 View Post
Hi all,

There is a new release of the Android Client out. It is a minor release and is mainly an update to the latest version of ExoPlayer. It is live in Google Play Store, and should be live in Amazon app store soon.
Hey, did version 1.14.0 ever make it out to the Amazon app store? I'm still only seeing version 1.13.0.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, Unraid 6.10.3, sagetvopen-sagetv-server-opendct-java11 Docker (version 2.0.6)
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K Max w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #1096  
Old 10-17-2022, 12:00 PM
Zogg's Avatar
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 426
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
Hey, did version 1.14.0 ever make it out to the Amazon app store? I'm still only seeing version 1.13.0.
Yes, I have 1.14.0 on my Samsung phone.
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #1097  
Old 10-17-2022, 12:46 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,355
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zogg View Post
Yes, I have 1.14.0 on my Samsung phone.
Hmmmm, I am using a Fire TV stick. Are apps for the Fire TV stick stored in a different app store?
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, Unraid 6.10.3, sagetvopen-sagetv-server-opendct-java11 Docker (version 2.0.6)
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K Max w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #1098  
Old 10-17-2022, 01:02 PM
Zogg's Avatar
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 426
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
Hmmmm, I am using a Fire TV stick. Are apps for the Fire TV stick stored in a different app store?
IIRC only if you side-loaded the Google Play Store and installed the miniclient that way.

I can check my Fire Stick in a couple hours when I get off a long work conference call.
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #1099  
Old 10-17-2022, 03:05 PM
jvl711's Avatar
jvl711 jvl711 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 825
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
Hey, did version 1.14.0 ever make it out to the Amazon app store? I'm still only seeing version 1.13.0.
Long story short, I have a VM of SageTV for Amazon to test the app against. Because of my Azure subscription expiring, the VM was shutdown, and when they went to test the app they were not able to connect the client to a server. I started the server back up and submitted the app again. Hopefully it will get approved. It is supposed to be available no later than 10/19. Hopefully it gets approved without any issues

Google app submissions are so easy, Amazon on the other had is a royal pain in the butt.

Josh
__________________
Projects I am currently maintaining
SageTV Andoid Client
Media Format Parser Plugin
JavaFFmpegLibrary
SageTVTranscoder

If you like the work I am doing and would like to support it you can become a Patreon member.
Reply With Quote
  #1100  
Old 10-17-2022, 03:29 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,355
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvl711 View Post
Long story short, I have a VM of SageTV for Amazon to test the app against. Because of my Azure subscription expiring, the VM was shutdown, and when they went to test the app they were not able to connect the client to a server. I started the server back up and submitted the app again. Hopefully it will get approved. It is supposed to be available no later than 10/19. Hopefully it gets approved without any issues

Google app submissions are so easy, Amazon on the other had is a royal pain in the butt.

Josh
OK, that explains things!
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, Unraid 6.10.3, sagetvopen-sagetv-server-opendct-java11 Docker (version 2.0.6)
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K Max w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV MiniClient for Android Indiegogo Campaign (Thanks) stuckless SageTV Clients Development 14 09-18-2022 07:15 AM
Android MiniClient 1.4.3 stuckless SageTV Clients Development 20 03-25-2019 10:32 AM
Android MiniClient 1.2.9 stuckless SageTV Clients Development 53 04-16-2018 07:30 AM
Android Miniclient and UK TV rickgillyon SageTV Clients Development 6 12-01-2016 05:58 PM
Android Miniclient on Mi Box Crashing SageTV Server v9 mackb SageTV Clients Development 9 11-27-2016 07:28 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.