SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Placeshifter

Notices

SageTV Placeshifter Discussion related to the SageTV Placeshifter application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Placeshifter software application should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-24-2008, 03:40 PM
Folkboat's Avatar
Folkboat Folkboat is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Edgewater, FL
Posts: 120
Remote for Placeshifter on a Laptop

Curious as to how Placeshifter is controlled by an IR remote on a Laptop.

I have a number of OFA 8910's or the Hauppauge remote would work (smaller). Or are we committed to remembering keystrokes.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-24-2008, 04:14 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Best bet would be to work with girder, so any remote could be made to work, just by sending the appropriate keystrokes to placeshifter.

My HP Laptop did have a limited function remote (fits in the expresscard slot) that mostly works with sage. It uses standard HID commands, such as arrows, enter, and play/pause/ff/rew... basically all I really need.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-24-2008, 04:31 PM
Folkboat's Avatar
Folkboat Folkboat is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Edgewater, FL
Posts: 120
Thanks for the reply!!

Girder $50.00 USBUIRT $50.00..............

I was thinking cheap...........
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-24-2008, 06:53 PM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Pick up an MCE remote and receiver for around $35.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-24-2008, 09:47 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
Girder isn't needed for the USB-UIRT -- open the Placeshifter's Settings menu from the Servers Manager & tell it the USB-UIRT port.

You could probably configure the Hauppauge remote to control it by editing the irremote.ini file, but I've never looked into setting it up for Placeshifter & you would need to have the Hauppauge receiver on the PC.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-25-2008, 01:10 PM
Folkboat's Avatar
Folkboat Folkboat is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Edgewater, FL
Posts: 120
I like the idea of the Microsoft remote combo......

Unfortunatly all my existing remotes are programmable..............the Microsoft remote would not be used. Oh well..................

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-25-2008, 01:28 PM
CollinR CollinR is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,305
EventGhost = $0
Snapstream FireFly = $50


It's a killer setup with the regular sage but placeshifter IIRC doesn't support windows messages (??? Andy ???) so you'll map to keyboard shortcuts which work fine. EventGhost can send keystrokes to specific windows like messaging.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-25-2008, 04:08 PM
QueOnda's Avatar
QueOnda QueOnda is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,093
ATI remote wonder could work also.

Do you have an RF or IR dongles???
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-27-2008, 08:14 PM
Folkboat's Avatar
Folkboat Folkboat is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Edgewater, FL
Posts: 120
Thats the problem, I have all the universal remotes I need just no IR nor RF dongle to connect to my laptop. My SageTV server uses the Hauppauge ir receiver, MVP's have there own.........
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-04-2008, 07:41 PM
Folkboat's Avatar
Folkboat Folkboat is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Edgewater, FL
Posts: 120
We will be travelling for a while and would like to take the laptop and use Placeshifter or use the laptop as a DVD player.

The laptop would be connected to a larger TV display, and in true "couch potato" style control the laptop with a remote.

We have two issues: 1) the S-Video out on my Dell Vostro 1500 does not work with an s-video to composite converter. Works fine with straight s-video to s-video input.
2) the remote control......short of storing movies (mp2) on the laptop, having access to the SageTV server makes more sense. If connection speed is an issue than using the laptop as a DVD player might be a decent substitute.
...............has anyone used a remote control for placeshifter on a laptop or PC?? If so what have you used? Saw nothing in the Sage INSTRUCTIONS.

30 years ago I would be discussing which books to take on a trip, alas....how things have changed.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-07-2008, 03:39 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,026
It would be nice if cheap Bluetooth remotes became prevalent since laptops often have built in bluetooth and if not it is very cheap to add a USB BT adapter.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zalman remote or Hauppauge remote bmac.to Hardware Support 4 11-12-2008 12:41 PM
Help with Hauppauge IR Remote use in SageTV twistedsymphony Hardware Support 2 12-21-2007 12:13 PM
Harmony 520 Remote With Hauppauge Commands Taddeusz Hardware Support 5 04-27-2007 06:04 AM
MCE Remote not work fully with Placeshifter devinteske SageTV Placeshifter 5 02-08-2007 11:45 PM
anyone know of a remote that will work for a Laptop? xxilikedirtxx Hardware Support 2 04-20-2006 08:20 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.