SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV HD Theater - Media Player

Notices

SageTV HD Theater - Media Player Discussion related to using the SageTV HD Theater as a Media Player, i.e.: in use while not connected to a SageTV server. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to using a SageTV HD Theater as a Media Player should be posted here. Use the SageTV Media Extender forum for issues related to using it while connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-26-2009, 03:45 PM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
Playon transcodes to mpeg2?

When using playon it seems like the Playon server I have setup is transcoding flash video from HULU to mpeg2 - shouldn't the uPNP server in playon know that the HD200 can support that video in it's original form?

It's sucking down 1/2 of the CPU power in of the server it's on to do this, which seem unnecessary.....
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-27-2009, 05:14 AM
paulbeers paulbeers is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,550
The HD200 is technically not a supported device. So no, Playon would not know what capabilities the HD200 has. Secondly, this is why Playon has such high processing requirements on their website because this is the standard functionality of Playon.
__________________
Sage Server: AMD Athlon II 630, Asrock 785G motherboard, 3GB of RAM, 500GB OS HD in RAID 1 and 2 - 750GB Recording Drives, HDHomerun, Avermedia HD Duet & 2-HDPVRs, and 9.0TB storage in RAID 5 via Dell Perc 5i for DVD storage
Source: Clear QAM and OTA for locals, 2-DishNetwork VIP211's
Clients: 2 Sage HD300's, 2 Sage HD200's, 2 Sage HD100's, 1 MediaMVP, and 1 Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-27-2009, 06:32 AM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
SageTV HD Theatre is one of the devices listed on the Playon website.....
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-27-2009, 09:27 AM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,760
The HD Theater has a folder on their forums, but I don't believe it is officially supported.

Even if it were, they don't have native streaming working on any platform yet. So, it's transcoding everything to every device for now.

The PlayOn guys seem somewhat interested in the HD Theater. Maybe if they could their hands on a free HD200 (I'd chip in) and if Sage would offer some sort of support PlayOn would officially support the HD Theater.

By the way, I assume the DLNA protocol includes a handshake where the device tells the server what media types it can play. I don't think the HD Theater is DLNA-compliant, but if it were maybe PlayOn wouldn't need to do anything special for the Hd200.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-27-2009, 02:01 PM
davidjade davidjade is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 45
So when PlayOn transcode, what does it transcode to? Is it cropping/resizing/dropping frames or anything else like that? What bitrate is it spitting out?

My understanding is the DLNA spec has a very limited set of profiles that it supports (codecs along with limited bitrates, images sizes, etc...) It is a subset of standard UPnP protocols. So if PlayOn is being a good DLNA server, they must adhere to this more limited set of profiles.

I ask because I am trying to figure out whether to use PlayOn for Netflix or get a Roku unit. I don't want to degrade the video too much if I can help it, but having PlayOn would be useful for Hulu too.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-27-2009, 02:58 PM
paulbeers paulbeers is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by bialio View Post
SageTV HD Theatre is one of the devices listed on the Playon website.....
Yes it is listed, but did you read what it stated above the list?

If you are brave enough to try PlayOn with another DLNA/UPnP media device, you should take part in the Unofficial Devices forum, and share your feedback with us as well as other users. Currently, we have had reports of people using PlayOn with moderate to great success on the following devices:
DirecTV HR21-100 HD DVR, HR20 Receiver
D-Link DSM-510, DSM-520, DSM-750
Pioneer Elite PRO-1140HD TV
Popcorn Hour A-100
SageTV HD Theater
XBMC
Myka


So No. It is not officially supported.
__________________
Sage Server: AMD Athlon II 630, Asrock 785G motherboard, 3GB of RAM, 500GB OS HD in RAID 1 and 2 - 750GB Recording Drives, HDHomerun, Avermedia HD Duet & 2-HDPVRs, and 9.0TB storage in RAID 5 via Dell Perc 5i for DVD storage
Source: Clear QAM and OTA for locals, 2-DishNetwork VIP211's
Clients: 2 Sage HD300's, 2 Sage HD200's, 2 Sage HD100's, 1 MediaMVP, and 1 Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-28-2009, 09:42 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
I would think because of the various devices Playin supports (Playstation, Xbox, Wii, etc.) it has to transcode all to a common format that all of those players can play. I think mpeg2 fits the bill.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help testing something for PlayOn evilpenguin SageTV Customizations 84 09-27-2009 05:25 PM
Playon slowww SageGk SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 11 07-17-2009 06:27 AM
Whats the best mpeg2 software video decoder for mpeg2 1080i? mkanet SageTV Software 7 12-19-2008 05:14 PM
Why is the iPod Transcodes set to 512x384 edbmdave SageTV Software 1 02-01-2008 11:26 AM
Placeshifter transcodes mp3 (sometimes!) motobarsteward SageTV Beta Test Software 0 03-13-2007 02:05 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.