SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-10-2010, 09:48 AM
LehighBri LehighBri is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 694
Hauppauge launching new MediaMVP-HD

Just read the following report from CES:

http://www.zatznotfunny.com/2010-01/...hd-next-month/

Quote:
I sat down for a nice chat with the Hauppauge folks earlier this afternoon. Where I learned they’ll be launching the MediaMVP-HD next month for $149. This device resides in the same space as Western Digital’s HD WD TV, in allowing you to playback a variety of local media via USB storage or the network (UPnP, Windows share). The MediaMVP-HD is also an Internet-connected device with several services, such as YouTube (displayed below), in development. Speaking of Internet-connected, while the initial rev of this device requires a hardline, Hauppauge intends to bring support for 802.11 to the line. And, obviously, unlike the MediaMVP this replaces, high def is supported (including 1080p).
Given the current MediaMVP can work as an extender with Sage, I'm wondering if there's a way/plan to support the new MediaMVP-HD as well. I'd love to see some detailed specs on this as well to see how it compares to Sage's HD200.
__________________
Server: Sage 7.1.9 beta; Dell Inspiron 530; Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit (UAC turned off); 2TB Internal SATA (TV Recordings)
Storage: Synology DiskStation DS411+, RAID 5, 5x 2TB SATA for (DVDs/Music/Other Videos)
Tuners: Ceton InfiniTV w/ Verizon FIOS cablecard (using babgvant's SageDCT plugin)
Clients: 1x STP-HD300; 1x Acer Aspire Revo 3610 (Atom/Ion) w/ SageTV client (Win 7, EVR, FSE on)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-10-2010, 10:33 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
I would doubt it. I'm pretty sure sage doesn't have the interest in it since they are now selling their own hardware. It's not good to compete with yourself.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-10-2010, 10:44 AM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,760
Sage doesn't support the PCH extenders, so I don't see why they'd start supporting the MediaMVP-HD. It would be nice if Sage supported some third-party extenders though. It opens up consumer choices and reduces vendor lock-in.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-10-2010, 11:25 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,026
The other thing that this brings attention to is the price of the HD-200 at $180. When the product first came out 13 months ago it seemed a good deal at $200 but given the changes in the landscape maybe it is time for a priced reduction, or a new model with more/better features.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-10-2010, 11:37 AM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
The other thing that this brings attention to is the price of the HD-200 at $180. When the product first came out 13 months ago it seemed a good deal at $200 but given the changes in the landscape maybe it is time for a priced reduction, or a new model with more/better features.
At least for now, the HD200 price is still pretty fair. The MediaMVP-HD's MSRP is $150. That probably means the street price will be around $130. If Sage were to support a third-party extender, like the MediaMVP-HD, you'd need to buy extender licenses which are currently at $30. So, that brings the total cost of the MediaMVP-HD to $160 versus the HD200's $180. That's not so bad.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-10-2010, 11:57 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by reggie14 View Post
Sage doesn't support the PCH extenders, so I don't see why they'd start supporting the MediaMVP-HD. It would be nice if Sage supported some third-party extenders though. It opens up consumer choices and reduces vendor lock-in.
Don't see why Sage (the Vendor) would try to avoid vendor Lock-In.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-10-2010, 12:02 PM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
Don't see why Sage (the Vendor) would try to avoid vendor Lock-In.
Yeah, I don't think it will happen either.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-10-2010, 12:05 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
And really, I don't see being locked in to the best product that much of a negative.. ;-)
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-10-2010, 06:44 PM
korben_dallas's Avatar
korben_dallas korben_dallas is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,250
No HDMI ?
__________________
SageTV server & client: Win 10 Pro x64, Intel DH67CF, Core i5 2405s, 8 GB ram, Intel HD 3000, 40GB SSD system, 4TB storage, 2x HD PVR component + optical audio, USB-UIRT 2 zones + remote hack, Logitech Harmony One, HDMI output to Sony receiver with native Intel bitstreaming
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-11-2010, 10:25 AM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,318
Quote:
Originally Posted by korben_dallas View Post
No HDMI ?
Doesn't look like it which is really surprising. While I hardly use HDMI (I have a component video distribution system in my house), I think it is basically a requirement at this point for the general public. They will loose sales if they don't offer HDMI.
__________________
i5 quad core server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-300 HD Extenders (hooked to my whole-house A/V system for synched playback on multiple TVs - great during a Superbowl party)
Amazon Firestick 4k and Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-11-2010, 11:05 AM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner
Seriously guys? You don't see the HDMI cable plugged in? It's the biggest connector in the picture. Hint, it's the closest cable to you.

http://www.zatznotfunny.com/wordpres...a-mvp-hd-1.jpg
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5

Last edited by mikejaner; 01-11-2010 at 11:13 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-11-2010, 11:13 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,026
You're right Mike but from the angle of the picture that almost looks like a full size AC power cable. But the power would be the farthest left connector as your typical DC cord from a power brick or wall wart. But it does look like there is only one USB port and it is on the front which wouldn't be very attractive if used permanently for a wifi USB dongle.

Let's hope the software on this is better than the drivers for the HD-PVR.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-11-2010, 11:37 AM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,318
Yup, I missed it. I also thought that was a power cord (like the removeable cords from computers or monitors). But clearly the power cord is on the other side and a LV power connector. The box clearly has an external PS - I just wasn't thinking!

__________________
i5 quad core server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-300 HD Extenders (hooked to my whole-house A/V system for synched playback on multiple TVs - great during a Superbowl party)
Amazon Firestick 4k and Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-11-2010, 02:31 PM
cat6man's Avatar
cat6man cat6man is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West of NYC, East of SF
Posts: 870
hdmi1.3 ??

sigma 86??
__________________
Q: dad, when will you stop changing all the electronics?
A: never, so you might as well get used to it.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-11-2010, 08:10 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,579
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-11-2010, 10:06 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
It's been a while since this was posted, but it would be nice to see a client come out for this device. For the simple fact that it is more powerful than the HD-200 and has hdmi 1.3.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-11-2010, 06:13 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
It's been a while since this was posted, but it would be nice to see a client come out for this device. For the simple fact that it is more powerful than the HD-200 and has hdmi 1.3.
What are you thinking you'd get extra with HDMI 1.3? It doesn't list ANY HD Audio capabilities, and I really doubt it's going to support xYCC color spaces. the HD200's processor is already plenty powerful enough for pretty much anything out there.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-11-2010, 07:25 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,579
Hauppauge has a Sigma 8655
SageTV HD200 has a 8635
The diff in the two MIPS 200MHz faster, FPU is 133Mhz faster, Audio 33Mhz faster, DDR-2, HDMI 1.3a and Flash memory is NAND and 4GB Flash ROM, 1GB RAM DDR2 DDR667 vs HD200 256 Flash ROM, 512MB RAM DDR1 DDR400.
Video and Audio capabilities are the same with both chip
The best option would be custom Intel Atom dual-core D510 at 1.6GHz with NVIDIA Ion 2 but with slim DVD Player and SSD 16GB or 32GB drive

Last edited by SHS; 05-11-2010 at 07:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-13-2010, 07:32 PM
flavius flavius is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 1,257
What is all the nice hardware good for if there's no decent software to make use of it?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-13-2010, 11:25 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
What are you thinking you'd get extra with HDMI 1.3? It doesn't list ANY HD Audio capabilities, and I really doubt it's going to support xYCC color spaces. the HD200's processor is already plenty powerful enough for pretty much anything out there.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
Hauppauge has a Sigma 8655
SageTV HD200 has a 8635
The diff in the two MIPS 200MHz faster, FPU is 133Mhz faster, Audio 33Mhz faster, DDR-2, HDMI 1.3a and Flash memory is NAND and 4GB Flash ROM, 1GB RAM DDR2 DDR667 vs HD200 256 Flash ROM, 512MB RAM DDR1 DDR400.
Video and Audio capabilities are the same with both chip
The best option would be custom Intel Atom dual-core D510 at 1.6GHz with NVIDIA Ion 2 but with slim DVD Player and SSD 16GB or 32GB drive
I honestly don't care about this product. It just looked interesting for those who think the hd-200 is inadequate for hd audio streaming. If the hdmi version doesn't indicate that capability for the hauppauge unit then the difference is irrelevant. I'm just going to use a client for all my HD audio needs.

It is odd that it has the 1.3a version with no hd audio streaming. I wonder why it isn't supported like the popcorn hour stuff? Thats all other people are really asking from sage.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hauppauge MediaMVP audio paulb SageTV Media Extender 1 02-22-2008 10:25 PM
Hauppauge MediaMVP kamikaze2112 SageTV Media Extender 12 10-20-2007 07:32 AM
Hauppauge MediaMVP and SageTV 4+ h8dk97 Hardware Support 8 03-15-2006 09:58 PM
Hauppauge MediaMVP 69.99 ARB rcleav General Discussion 0 01-18-2004 10:44 AM
Hauppauge MediaMVP jmeeks Hardware Support 34 10-18-2003 08:16 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.