SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV EPG Service

Notices

SageTV EPG Service Discussion related to the SageTV EPG Service used within SageTV. Questions about service area coverage, channel lineups, EPG listings, XMLTV, or anything else related to the service or programming guide data for SageTV should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-17-2011, 12:04 PM
mwhittaker1024 mwhittaker1024 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 35
DirecTV truTVHD

I'm having trouble getting the truTVHD channel activated on SageTV. I'm using the 7.1.5 beta on WHS with a DirecTV HD box. I'm using the Paterson Tech cable to change the channels.

I enabled the channel on the DirecTV box.

I set up a new channel (246-1) but cannot preview it.

I then tried to change the physical channel ID for the existing channel (truTV) to 246-1 but cannot preview it.

Any suggestions?

Thanks

Mark
__________________
Mark J Whittaker
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-17-2011, 12:35 PM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
I could certainly be mistaken, but I was under the impression that DirecTV no longer used the "-1" channels and you simply had to tune to the main channel (246 in this case) and the STB would automatically pull in the appropriate SD or HD broadcast, based on your setup. That's how all of mine have been for quite some time now.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-17-2011, 03:01 PM
mwhittaker1024 mwhittaker1024 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skirge01 View Post
I could certainly be mistaken, but I was under the impression that DirecTV no longer used the "-1" channels and you simply had to tune to the main channel (246 in this case) and the STB would automatically pull in the appropriate SD or HD broadcast, based on your setup. That's how all of mine have been for quite some time now.
Skirge,

DirecTV has the HD version of truTV only for the NCAA Tournament games (including pre and post game coverage). The channel comes up in the DirecTV Guide as 246-1. I think they're using the -1 because it's a temporary channel.

Here's an article about it:

http://www.tvpredictions.com/dtru031011.htm
__________________
Mark J Whittaker
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-17-2011, 03:25 PM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
Gotcha. I see the same thing now. I believe the issue is that we don't know what the actual station ID is. Without inputting it, my STB is tuning to station ID 275, but actually showing 246 (SD). I've been searching, but I can't find the station ID. My guess is that it's a 5 digit number, though, somewhere in the 60k range.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-18-2011, 06:17 AM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
I managed to find the station ID (I think) as 64490, but I can't figure out how to add it correctly. Adding TRUTVHD, 64490, 246-1, 246-1 does not work (neither does any combination of 246/246-1). Sage returns a "null" message that it failed to tune the channel. I'm really not sure what's going on. I actually had to restart SageTV on the server in order for tuning to work again on any channel after all my attempts.

I would definitely suggest contacting support about this.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-19-2011, 04:05 PM
mwhittaker1024 mwhittaker1024 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 35
I just submitted a support request. I'll post back here the results.

Thanks

Mark
__________________
Mark J Whittaker
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-21-2011, 09:25 AM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
I got a notice last night that truTVHD was added to the lineup, so it should be working fine now. However, I'd still like to know what we were doing wrong.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DirecTv -1 channels davenlr Hardware Support 8 04-06-2010 08:33 PM
HDHomeRun and DIRECTV? szirger Hardware Support 6 04-03-2010 12:55 PM
DirecTV on your PC Jesse General Discussion 41 02-15-2008 09:53 AM
directv rubenspencer Hardware Support 2 03-11-2005 12:41 PM
Directv justlearnin SageTV Recorder Software 1 03-25-2003 05:12 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.