SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v7 Customizations

Notices

SageTV v7 Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV version 7 application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss plugins for SageTV version 7 and newer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 06-03-2016, 07:34 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by bialio View Post
WHO are you talking to here

The only time I've been able to get the x-vfs.xml file to stick is in @stuckless's docker image for some reason. I had to manually download it there also, but it stayed after a sage service restart.
So I checked the Phoenix zip for the plugin and it does have the x-vfs.xml included there... so if you installed the Phoenix UI then it will have installed the x-vfs.xml... so something else is removing it.

I'm wondering if this is a "windows" issue of some sort. Could something in windows be removing this file?? I don't think that SageTV is removing it, and I don't think the phoenix core code would remove it.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 06-03-2016, 08:01 AM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
Looks like something in the server STOPPING is what nukes the file.

Code:
bialio@Serenity:/opt/sagetv/server$ find . | grep x-vfs
./STVs/Phoenix/vfs/x-vfs.xml
bialio@Serenity:/opt/sagetv/server$ sudo service sagetv stop
Stopping SageTV Server: sagetvChanging to SageTV directory /opt/sagetv/server
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
bialio@Serenity:/opt/sagetv/server$ find . | grep x-vfs
bialio@Serenity:/opt/sagetv/server$
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06-03-2016, 08:57 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by bialio View Post
Looks like something in the server STOPPING is what nukes the file.

Code:
bialio@Serenity:/opt/sagetv/server$ find . | grep x-vfs
./STVs/Phoenix/vfs/x-vfs.xml
bialio@Serenity:/opt/sagetv/server$ sudo service sagetv stop
Stopping SageTV Server: sagetvChanging to SageTV directory /opt/sagetv/server
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
bialio@Serenity:/opt/sagetv/server$ find . | grep x-vfs
bialio@Serenity:/opt/sagetv/server$
do you have a SageTV log of a shutdown where it's removed the file? Might help us identify where in the code this is coming from.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 06-03-2016, 09:02 AM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
I'll grab one soon. I just did the ultimate linux blunder
Code:
(sudo chown -R me:me ./*)
- so i'm reinstalling stuff
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 06-03-2016, 09:38 AM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
OK - back installed. Is there a way to turn up the logging in the core? I don't see anything in the logs for the shutdown other than this:

Code:
Fri 6/3 10:31:46.577 [Shutdown@64da8e4a] ::INFO:  Shutdown hook executing
Fri 6/3 10:31:46.577 [Shutdown@64da8e4a] ::INFO:  Graceful shutdown SelectChannelConnector@0.0.0.0:8080
Fri 6/3 10:31:46.595 [Shutdown@64da8e4a] ::INFO:  Graceful shutdown org.mortbay.jetty.handler.ContextHandler@1c15d6f6{/,file:/opt/sagetv/server/jetty/static}
Fri 6/3 10:31:46.595 [Shutdown@64da8e4a] ::INFO:  Graceful shutdown org.mortbay.jetty.webapp.WebAppContext@4f9cf4fb{/apps,/opt/sagetv/server/jetty/webapps/apps.war}
Fri 6/3 10:31:46.595 [Shutdown@64da8e4a] ::INFO:  Graceful shutdown org.mortbay.jetty.webapp.WebAppContext@40bc166e{/bmt,/opt/sagetv/server/jetty/webapps/bmt.war}
Fri 6/3 10:31:46.597 [SageTV Shutdown@557ad5e3] ::INFO:  Stopping Jetty
Fri 6/3 10:31:46.598 [SageTVMiniDiscoveryServer@616cd684] Error w/SageTV client connection:java.net.SocketException: Socket closed
Fri 6/3 10:31:47.025 [SageTV Shutdown@557ad5e3] Error calling finishWatch from VF goodbye:java.lang.NullPointerException
Fri 6/3 10:31:47.716 [Shutdown@64da8e4a] ::INFO:  Shutdown hook complete
Fri 6/3 10:31:48.716 [Shutdown@64da8e4a] ::INFO:  Shutdown hook complete
Fri 6/3 10:31:49.283 [SageTV Shutdown@557ad5e3] Error calling finishWatch from VF goodbye:java.lang.NullPointerException
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 06-03-2016, 11:09 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by bialio View Post
OK - back installed. Is there a way to turn up the logging in the core? I don't see anything in the logs for the shutdown other than this:

Code:
Fri 6/3 10:31:46.577 [Shutdown@64da8e4a] ::INFO:  Shutdown hook executing
Fri 6/3 10:31:46.577 [Shutdown@64da8e4a] ::INFO:  Graceful shutdown SelectChannelConnector@0.0.0.0:8080
Fri 6/3 10:31:46.595 [Shutdown@64da8e4a] ::INFO:  Graceful shutdown org.mortbay.jetty.handler.ContextHandler@1c15d6f6{/,file:/opt/sagetv/server/jetty/static}
Fri 6/3 10:31:46.595 [Shutdown@64da8e4a] ::INFO:  Graceful shutdown org.mortbay.jetty.webapp.WebAppContext@4f9cf4fb{/apps,/opt/sagetv/server/jetty/webapps/apps.war}
Fri 6/3 10:31:46.595 [Shutdown@64da8e4a] ::INFO:  Graceful shutdown org.mortbay.jetty.webapp.WebAppContext@40bc166e{/bmt,/opt/sagetv/server/jetty/webapps/bmt.war}
Fri 6/3 10:31:46.597 [SageTV Shutdown@557ad5e3] ::INFO:  Stopping Jetty
Fri 6/3 10:31:46.598 [SageTVMiniDiscoveryServer@616cd684] Error w/SageTV client connection:java.net.SocketException: Socket closed
Fri 6/3 10:31:47.025 [SageTV Shutdown@557ad5e3] Error calling finishWatch from VF goodbye:java.lang.NullPointerException
Fri 6/3 10:31:47.716 [Shutdown@64da8e4a] ::INFO:  Shutdown hook complete
Fri 6/3 10:31:48.716 [Shutdown@64da8e4a] ::INFO:  Shutdown hook complete
Fri 6/3 10:31:49.283 [SageTV Shutdown@557ad5e3] Error calling finishWatch from VF goodbye:java.lang.NullPointerException
There is no 'verbosity level', but many of the various main modules in sage have their own debug switch that adds a lot. I'll have to look to see if there is one for the plugin system.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 06-03-2016, 11:17 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Doens't look like there is much in the way of debug logging in the plugin system, and there is a delayed deleting and renaming process that runs when the system shuts down (this is how files get altered or deleted when sage is currently using them). Before shutdown, see if there is a stageddeletes.txt or stagedrenames.txt file in your sage path somewhere.

Some of the plugin system actions are event triggered, so you might turn on core event debugging via:
debug_core_events=true
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 06-03-2016, 12:30 PM
sacrament055 sacrament055 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 431
Not exactly a solution but I've found that when Gemstone doesn't show me fanart that if I browse the fanart and select a "default" image sometimes that triggers it to show up. When it gets into the state that setting a default doesn't work it usually works fine after I restart my SageTV Service on the server.

I have a feeling it might be Java Heap related.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 06-03-2016, 02:58 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by sacrament055 View Post
Not exactly a solution but I've found that when Gemstone doesn't show me fanart that if I browse the fanart and select a "default" image sometimes that triggers it to show up. When it gets into the state that setting a default doesn't work it usually works fine after I restart my SageTV Service on the server.

I have a feeling it might be Java Heap related.
Yeah, that's a totally different issue. The problem here isn't so much a fanart issue, as it is actually filtering and organizing the views, because the base set of views that everything is based on is being lost.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 06-04-2016, 05:59 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,540
OK, Think there 2 issues going on here...

1. When phoenix-core is started it will check for x-vfs.xml and if it's not there it will try to download it. Since google code went away, that file is not there, so it fails. When it fails it gets marked for deletion since we don't want an empty file lying around.

The problem here is that Phoenix UI does install this file. But, core is installed first, and then started, which sees there is no file, tries to download it, and then marks it for deletion. Then UI is installed and installs the file, but, the file is marked, and so when sagetv shuts down, the file gets removed.

If you start sage, then later copy the x-vfs.xml and then shut down, the file will get deleted (since it wasn't there when sagetv starts).

If sagetv is shutdown, and you copy the file to the directory, and then start sagetv, then the file will never get deleted.

And this leads to the second problem.

2. When sagetv starts and the x-vfs.xml exists, there are no views in BMT.

I discovered that i've been sending the WRONG x-vfs.xml link. Basically in Phoenix 9, there a a bunch of new views, and these views are not known to Phoenix 7. This causes the vfs loader to crap out, resulting in no views.

The correct link to x-vfs is this file.
https://raw.githubusercontent.com/st.../vfs/x-vfs.xml

So, stop sagetv, download this file, copy it to STVs/Phoenix/vfs/x-vfs.xml, then start sagetv.

It should work. I setup a clean sagetv this morning to test these scenarios, and it is now all working for me.

Sorry
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 06-04-2016, 10:42 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Is there work that still needs to be done on the Phoenix Core that's on github before it's ready to come out and play?
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 06-04-2016, 11:50 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
Is there work that still needs to be done on the Phoenix Core that's on github before it's ready to come out and play?
The version on github is the latest... but, yeah, Jusjoken and I have a little work to do before we can release it. For me, it's really about doing some more testing, and clean up (want to remove to lesser used things and clean it up a bit).

I'll probably do that in a couple weeks (I'm travelling this weekend, and won't be back until end of next weekend, so nothing happing in the next couple of weeks).

But, we should get it published.. especially since Jusjoken has added some new views around missing TV episodes and some other stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 06-05-2016, 08:34 PM
HDMission HDMission is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 28
Houston We Have Flows!

Stuckless that did the trick!

I copied the file and restarted sage and the flows are there. I don't have time to play with it tonight but I will tomorrow and report back.

Thanks for working this out.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 10-04-2016, 11:22 AM
flowjoe flowjoe is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SoCal
Posts: 10
I seem to be having the same issue with the phoenix null error, however the recommendations above have not corrected the problem.

I made sure the x-vfs file is in both location, and cleared the log files.

Is there possibly any other place I should be looking for the problem?
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 10-06-2016, 06:33 PM
mwhittaker1024 mwhittaker1024 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 35
Similar Issue

I'm having a similar issue using version 9 on Windows 10 Pro. Anytime I reboot SageTV, I get the following error:

Error in VFS File: .\userdata\Phoenix\cache\vfs-cached.xml; null

Thanks
__________________
Mark J Whittaker
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 10-07-2016, 05:13 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,540
Are you running the latest phoenix-core (3.0.1)? If so, see if you have a file x-vfs.xml in the userdata/Phoenix/vfs/ directory, and if there is one there... remove it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phoenix Fanart Plugins wayner Phoenix 4 01-15-2012 04:45 PM
getting banners and other fanart using the phoenix api razrsharpe Batch Metadata Tools 11 01-17-2011 01:23 PM
How Do I Correct Genre Errors and Fanart Location Errors ThePaladinTech Batch Metadata Tools 3 05-25-2010 12:26 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.