SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Clients Development

Notices

SageTV Clients Development This forum is for discussions relating to SageTV Open Source Clients Development.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #641  
Old 04-08-2021, 08:10 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,906
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
I have it installed on a Toshiba FireTV works great ... I am sure it can be Installed on any Android or FireTV.
Tell me, as there are NO number buttons on the Toshiba remote, how do you input OTA channel selections?
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #642  
Old 04-08-2021, 08:16 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,469
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
Tell me, as there are NO number buttons on the Toshiba remote, how do you input OTA channel selections?

Say what ? I don't I use the miniguide. I do not use an OTA antenna on the TV that is what the HDHomeRun units are for.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #643  
Old 04-08-2021, 08:25 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,906
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
Say what ? I don't I use the miniguide. I do not use an OTA antenna on the TV that is what the HDHomeRun units are for.
Ah. So itís not possible. Thatís what I was thinking.
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #644  
Old 04-08-2021, 08:38 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,469
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
Ah. So it’s not possible. That’s what I was thinking.
Very few TV's have number inputs my Samsung 4K tv Remote does not have number inputs if you find one that does let me know ? You have to invest in another remote if you want number inputs.

This thread has become a TV thread lol.

Getting back the SageTV Miniclient has been rock solid on AndroidTV and FireTV. So you have many options.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 04-08-2021 at 08:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #645  
Old 04-08-2021, 09:23 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,906
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
Very few TV's have number inputs my Samsung 4K tv Remote does not have number inputs if you find one that does let me know ? You have to invest in another remote if you want number inputs.

This thread has become a TV thread lol.

Getting back the SageTV Miniclient has been rock solid on AndroidTV and FireTV. So you have many options.
lol. Yes, the miniclient angle has blurred, but is still the primary focus. A quality, inexpensive tv with an OS which flawlessly handles the SageTV Miniclient is the focus - and then, what else, like remotes. Here’s the competitor. Android TV with a FULL remote:
https://www.bestbuy.com/site/sony-55...?skuId=6400728

https://www.amazon.com/OEM-Remote-So...7895591&sr=8-4
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson

Last edited by tvmaster2; 04-08-2021 at 09:27 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #646  
Old 04-08-2021, 09:46 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,469
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
lol. Yes, the miniclient angle has blurred, but is still the primary focus. A quality, inexpensive tv with an OS which flawlessly handles the SageTV Miniclient is the focus - and then, what else, like remotes. Hereís the competitor. Android TV with a FULL remote:
https://www.bestbuy.com/site/sony-55...?skuId=6400728

https://www.amazon.com/OEM-Remote-So...7895591&sr=8-4
As far as remotes go I have someone in my household that requires large easy accessible remote buttons so I solved that with a FLIRC and these remotes ... control everything... and very cheap and durable.

https://www.amazon.com/Pack-DIRECTV-...7896611&sr=8-8
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #647  
Old 04-08-2021, 11:26 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,469
If anybody is interested this is the kit I use to add Storage and NIC to my FireTV4K and TV's

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #648  
Old 04-08-2021, 12:09 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,469
Just got the new FireTV update ... Changed the whole ui.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #649  
Old 04-09-2021, 05:04 AM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 805
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
If anybody is interested this is the kit I use to add Storage and NIC to my FireTV4K and TV's

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
I use this for a LAN only option https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01N1X28F1/
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU; 8GB (2 x 4GB); 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: (2) HD300
Client: Mini-Client, ShieldTV
Client: (2) Mini-Client, Fire TV Stick 4K
Reply With Quote
  #650  
Old 04-09-2021, 09:16 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,906
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
Just got the new FireTV update ... Changed the whole ui.
What do you think of the new UI? Seems like the pictures got even more obnoxiously larger?

On another note, decided to go with the stable company and the more robust remote. As we used to say way back in the days of Betacam, “Nobody ever got fired for buying Sony.”
AndroidTV loaded up SageTV MiniClient and Plex without trouble, and the TV played this cool, tranquil music similar to what Bill & Ted heard while visiting Rufus in the future. And, TWO USB ports. So far so good. Thanks for the tips everyone.

https://www.amazon.com/Sony-X750H-55.../dp/B085M7HHHN
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #651  
Old 04-09-2021, 09:33 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,469
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
What do you think of the new UI? Seems like the pictures got even more obnoxiously larger?

On another note, decided to go with the stable company and the more robust remote. As we used to say way back in the days of Betacam, ďNobody ever got fired for buying Sony.Ē
AndroidTV loaded up SageTV MiniClient and Plex without trouble, and the TV played this cool, tranquil music similar to what Bill & Ted heard while visiting Rufus in the future. And, TWO USB ports. So far so good. Thanks for the tips everyone.

https://www.amazon.com/Sony-X750H-55.../dp/B085M7HHHN
Good Choice on TV enjoy ... I hate the new FireTV UI glad the TV's did not update
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV MiniClient for Android Indiegogo Campaign (Thanks) stuckless SageTV Clients Development 13 10-27-2020 01:49 PM
Android MiniClient 1.4.3 stuckless SageTV Clients Development 20 03-25-2019 10:32 AM
Android MiniClient 1.2.9 stuckless SageTV Clients Development 53 04-16-2018 07:30 AM
Android Miniclient and UK TV rickgillyon SageTV Clients Development 6 12-01-2016 05:58 PM
Android Miniclient on Mi Box Crashing SageTV Server v9 mackb SageTV Clients Development 9 11-27-2016 07:28 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.