SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV HD Theater - Media Player

Notices

SageTV HD Theater - Media Player Discussion related to using the SageTV HD Theater as a Media Player, i.e.: in use while not connected to a SageTV server. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to using a SageTV HD Theater as a Media Player should be posted here. Use the SageTV Media Extender forum for issues related to using it while connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old Yesterday, 08:23 PM
Striker:WG Striker:WG is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 384
HD200 Network Traffic

Does anyone know exactly how the HD200 communicates over the network to the Sage TV server?

I have a couple of VLAN's setup and I can packet capture the traffic coming from my PC based clients to the server without issue. When I try to capture the same traffic from my HD200 units I get 0 activity logged even though the unit is actively streaming recorded TV. I've tried capturing both when monitoring the server IP (I see activity to the PC clients but not to the HD200) and monitoring the HD200 IP (I see 0 activity). I've triple checked the IP of the HD200. I think my VLANs are setup properly because I can use SageTV, and if I ping the HD200 I can see the ping response in the packet capture.

I'm monitoring by IP address and i'm looking for any type of packets (although i'm expecting to see TCP packets). Does anyone have any experience or knowledge around these things? Ideally I want to setup some restrictive firewall rules to lock down my IOT VLAN to only the ports that need to be open.

Last edited by Striker:WG; Yesterday at 08:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Today, 05:25 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,636
From the docker container configuration, it has this information regarding ports...

Code:
# Client (TCP 42024 for connecting, TCP 7818 for streaming, UDP 8270 for finding servers)
# All extenders (UDP 31100 for discovery, TCP 31099 for connections?)
# Hauppage extender (all UDP) 16867 16869 16881
# Web Server 8080
# jstatd is port 9010
EXPOSE 42024 7818 8270 31100 31099 16867 16869 16881 8080 9010
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Today, 06:50 AM
Striker:WG Striker:WG is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 384
Yeah, i've tried monitoring those ports, but I'm not seeing any traffic though. Maybe it's a limitation of the pfsense packet capture tool, or maybe the traffic is going direct from the HD200 to the docker since it doesn't need to traverse a vlan. I thought that all traffic had to talk to pfsense though to confirm if the traffic was allowed to pass or not.

The information you posted though conflicts with what I see the container doing. The container is only using TCP ports, but the note indicates that some should be UDP. I guess that means my docker isn't setup correctly?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Network Traffic Flow Question dgeezer General Discussion 8 10-08-2013 09:11 AM
HDHomerun Network traffic load MalibuDave42 Hardware Support 10 01-07-2009 07:50 PM
Traffic QueOnda SageTV Customizations 2 12-16-2008 05:30 PM
Traffic congestion and traffic cams zzmystique SageTV Australia/New Zealand 9 05-23-2008 03:03 AM
Network traffic to/from MVP navels SageTV Media Extender 0 07-23-2007 05:54 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.