SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-09-2010, 08:08 AM
ThePaladinTech's Avatar
ThePaladinTech ThePaladinTech is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Lyon, MI
Posts: 452
Hyper-V and Sage?

I am looking at going virtual for two reasons: save power, and be able to run virtual machines so I can pursue certifications. I have been running an ESXi server for the past 2+ years, so I am very comfortable with it.

Currently my sage PC is windows XP and runs 24x7. My ESXi Server is booted only when I am doing training. My ESXi box is a 2u Tyan behemoth: with dual quad core Opteron 2350's, 16gb RAM, Adaptec 5805 SAS and eight 1TB Drives. Unfortunately it doesn't appear to support PCI Pass-thru. My chipset has an IOMMU setting... but it just doesn't appear to work- if it would I'd stay with ESXi and do the pass-thru thing.

So this leads me to trying Hyper-V, I know very little about hyper-v. If I understand Hyper-V correctly I will not technically be running sage virtually. I'll be running sage on the Windows 2008 R2 Hyper-V OS. and all of my certification OS's will be running virtually. If I can do this I'll be happy.

And I think I can run Windows 2008 R2 and run virtual machines on it - but my limited understanding of Hyper-V is there are three flavors:
1. 'free' Command line only interface hyper-V server
2. pay hyper-v server with windows interface
3. Windows Server running Hyper-V
Am I correct that there are three versions? I'll find out soon enough i guess.

Is anyone doing something similar? (hyper-v that is)
__________________
(current) SageServer: SageTV Open Source V9 - Virtual Ubuntu on Win10 HyperV MSI 970A-G46, AMD FX-8370 , SD Prime via OpenDCT, Donater ComSkip
Clients: HD-200, Nexus Player w/ Android miniclient
Storage: "nas" 16 drive Win10 w/ DrivePool running Plex, Emby, & SD PVR
Retired - Hava, MediaMVP, HD-100, HD-PVR, HVR-2250, Ceton InfiniTV4, Original (white) HDHomeRun Died - HD-100, HD-300
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-09-2010, 09:53 AM
King of Bayonne's Avatar
King of Bayonne King of Bayonne is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 51
We need to be clear about exactly which OS you're discussing here...

If you mean "Hyper-V Server 2008 R2" (the free one), that is the version that most closely matches up with ESXi -- a dedicated hypervisor OS that does nothing more than act as a host for guest VMs. (It's basically the Windows Server 2008 R2 Hyper-V feature code with just enough Windows OS stuff glued onto the outside so it will run standalone.) Hyper-V does not support PCI/PCI-X/PCI-e passthrough like ESXi does, so you will not be able to access your tuner cards from within a VM.

If you mean "Windows Server 2008 R2 with the Hyper-V role installed", what you have is a full-blown installation of Windows Server 2008 R2 which can *also* host VMs. You can install and run Sage normally in the "real OS" and host all of your other stuff in VMs running in Hyper-V.

So to do what you want to do, you would need to install "real" Windows Server 2008 R2. A Standard Edition license covers you for 4 CPU *sockets* and 32 GB RAM, so your 2 CPU / 8 core 16 GB system would be properly licensed. You install Sage on that box normally. You then add the Hyper-V role using Server Manager and create your VMs for your other stuff. You can probably use tools to migrate your existing virtual disk images.


tkarp
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-09-2010, 10:32 AM
ThePaladinTech's Avatar
ThePaladinTech ThePaladinTech is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Lyon, MI
Posts: 452
Thanks for the clarification I will be (out of necessity) doing the Windows 2008 R2 with Hyper-V Role.
__________________
(current) SageServer: SageTV Open Source V9 - Virtual Ubuntu on Win10 HyperV MSI 970A-G46, AMD FX-8370 , SD Prime via OpenDCT, Donater ComSkip
Clients: HD-200, Nexus Player w/ Android miniclient
Storage: "nas" 16 drive Win10 w/ DrivePool running Plex, Emby, & SD PVR
Retired - Hava, MediaMVP, HD-100, HD-PVR, HVR-2250, Ceton InfiniTV4, Original (white) HDHomeRun Died - HD-100, HD-300
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-09-2010, 03:02 PM
will will is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 797
When I first got into SageTV I really wanted to Virtualize it. However, I discovered that too many stability issues exist with using HD-PVRs through USB on a virtual machine.

My solution was to virtualize everything else my server does except for SageTV. So I run 4 severs on one box. The host OS runs SageTV and the other three virtual machines (everything works great).

PCI pass through with most virtual setups was never intended for video or capture cards so you will probably encounter more problems that it is worth. I suggest you install SageTV to the Windows 2008 host and then virtualize the other OS.
__________________
Will

OS: Windows 7
Hardware: Intel Core i7-920 with 12GB RAM & an Adaptec 5805 with a Chenbro 36-port SAS Expander
Case: Antec 1200 with 4 iStarUSA trayless hot-swap cages (20 drives max)
Drives: 8 Toshiba/Hitachi 2TB drives in a RAID 6 & 7 Toshiba 3TB drives in a RAID 6
Capture Cards: HDHomeRun Connect Quatro 4, Hauppauge 60 HD-PVR
Players: 5 HD300s, 2 HD200s
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-09-2010, 03:41 PM
joematt's Avatar
joematt joematt is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Starks, LA
Posts: 100
I've been running 2008 R2 now for about 6 months with Hyper-V. I run Sage service (HDHomerun only) in a VM with no problems. I suggest you look into a a TechNet Pro subscription to save and to be legal.
__________________
Mine's bigger then yours!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-09-2010, 08:09 PM
will will is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 797
Quote:
Originally Posted by joematt View Post
I suggest you look into a a TechNet Pro subscription to save and to be legal.
Technically, TechNet subscription is only for testing and the TOS forbids any production use what so ever (installing SageTV and using it daily is definitely production use). For example, you can't install Office then use Outlook to access your daily e-mails.

It seems like MS turns a blind eye to TechNet subscription use but there is always that possibility they could come after you...
__________________
Will

OS: Windows 7
Hardware: Intel Core i7-920 with 12GB RAM & an Adaptec 5805 with a Chenbro 36-port SAS Expander
Case: Antec 1200 with 4 iStarUSA trayless hot-swap cages (20 drives max)
Drives: 8 Toshiba/Hitachi 2TB drives in a RAID 6 & 7 Toshiba 3TB drives in a RAID 6
Capture Cards: HDHomeRun Connect Quatro 4, Hauppauge 60 HD-PVR
Players: 5 HD300s, 2 HD200s
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hyper-v, sage 7, virtual


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Optimal Architecture - How To use Sage.Server, Sage.Client and Sage.Recorder together edbmdave SageTV Software 4 08-24-2004 04:35 PM
XP Patch: A Crash Occurs In Ks.sys On PC's With Intel Hyper-Threading CPU Mark Lamutt Hardware Support 1 08-11-2003 12:06 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.