SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-27-2009, 04:56 PM
jarredduq's Avatar
jarredduq jarredduq is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Stockton, CA - Most miserable city in the USA, SageTV makes it bearable
Posts: 201
Passing 5.1 DD & DTS w/MKV files

Hello,

I've searched high and low on this forum and can't find a solution for my issue. I was able to fix the 5.1 issue with my OTA recordings by adjusting the settings in ACFilter, but I'm still not passing 5.1 audio with H.264/MKV files.

My system is an ACER x1700 with on board sound. I'm using the optical output.

I'm running Vista x64 SP1.

Thanks in advance,

Jarred
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-27-2009, 09:24 PM
cychou cychou is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by jarredduq View Post
Hello,

I've searched high and low on this forum and can't find a solution for my issue. I was able to fix the 5.1 issue with my OTA recordings by adjusting the settings in ACFilter, but I'm still not passing 5.1 audio with H.264/MKV files.

My system is an ACER x1700 with on board sound. I'm using the optical output.

I'm running Vista x64 SP1.

Thanks in advance,

Jarred
I assumed that you are just trying to play MKV files using default Sage config. which does not allow ac3/dts pass thru. Try add the following line into your sage.property file:

always_use_dshow_player=true

Then configure sage to use your preferred H.264 decoder, and you should be able to pass it through.

videoframe/h264_video_decoder_filter=CyberLink H.264/AVC Decoder (PDVD8)
__________________
SageTV 6.6.2 / 42" Plasma Panasonic TH-42PX600A/ Intel Pentium DC E6500/ 2Gb Ram/KWorld DVB-T PC160-2T/ Logitech Harmony Remote X360/ Gigabyte GeForce 8500 GT (Silent)/ Winfast DTV1000T/ WD Caviar Green 808Gb HD/ Win 7 Ultimate/ Mission Cinema 7/ Denon AVR-1800
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-27-2009, 10:14 PM
jarredduq's Avatar
jarredduq jarredduq is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Stockton, CA - Most miserable city in the USA, SageTV makes it bearable
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by cychou View Post
I assumed that you are just trying to play MKV files using default Sage config. which does not allow ac3/dts pass thru. Try add the following line into your sage.property file:

always_use_dshow_player=true

Then configure sage to use your preferred H.264 decoder, and you should be able to pass it through.

videoframe/h264_video_decoder_filter=CyberLink H.264/AVC Decoder (PDVD8)
The line videoframe/h264_video_decoder_filter does not exist in my Sage properties file. Is this something that should be there by default?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-28-2009, 12:55 PM
phelme's Avatar
phelme phelme is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by jarredduq View Post
The line videoframe/h264_video_decoder_filter does not exist in my Sage properties file. Is this something that should be there by default?
No, you'll have to add it in. Though it's possible SageTV adds it to your sageclient.properties file by selecting "DirectShow" in "Detailed Setup-Video/Audio". Right now you'll be using the SageTVPlayer app which doesn't have the pass thru. Do you know what H.264 decoder(s) you have installed?

Good luck with getting to dshow to work with everything, it can be a struggle.
__________________
Server: AMD 9600 Phenom on XP, Gigabyte GA-MA78GPM, 2GB RAM, 320+250+500 GB SATA drives, HDHomeRun Prime, HD-PVR x.5.1, Paterson serial
Client/Encoder:AMD 3800+ X2, 512 MB RAM, ATI X1650 XT, nMediaPC case, Hauppauge HD-PVR, Cyberlink/ArcSoft decoders, USB-UIRT
Client/Encoder: AMD 3800+ X2, 512 MB RAM, 6150 graphics, nMediaPC case, ArcSoft decoders
Client: HD300, Asus Pundit P1-AH1, AMD 3800+ X2 CPU, 1 GB RAM, 6150 graphics, ArcSoft decoders
Backup: Synology
SageTV version: FINAL

Last edited by phelme; 03-28-2009 at 12:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-28-2009, 06:30 PM
jarredduq's Avatar
jarredduq jarredduq is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Stockton, CA - Most miserable city in the USA, SageTV makes it bearable
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by phelme View Post
No, you'll have to add it in. Though it's possible SageTV adds it to your sageclient.properties file by selecting "DirectShow" in "Detailed Setup-Video/Audio". Right now you'll be using the SageTVPlayer app which doesn't have the pass thru. Do you know what H.264 decoder(s) you have installed?

Good luck with getting to dshow to work with everything, it can be a struggle.
I installed the Vista Codec package and 64-bit add-on. DD and DTS pass-through when playing them in Windows Media Player.

The package I downloaded is here: http://shark007.net/vistacodecpackage.html

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-29-2009, 09:08 AM
jarredduq's Avatar
jarredduq jarredduq is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Stockton, CA - Most miserable city in the USA, SageTV makes it bearable
Posts: 201
It got it working by adding the following:

videoframe/h264_video_decoder_filter=ffdshow Video Decoder
always_use_dshow_player=true

Thanks for every bodies help!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-02-2009, 12:36 AM
jarredduq's Avatar
jarredduq jarredduq is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Stockton, CA - Most miserable city in the USA, SageTV makes it bearable
Posts: 201
I thought everything was working, but I'm having issues with MKV's with DTS audio. When playing an MKV w/DTS, the video studders, and the audio is trying to play, but the digital input indicator on my receiver flickers, and the audio sounds like it is turning on/off very fast.

Dolby Digital encoded files seems to be okay, so far.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DTS in some MKV files crackles (via SPDIF) horseflesh SageTV Software 0 12-23-2008 04:19 PM
No audio from MKV with DTS showson1 SageTV Media Extender 3 11-22-2008 03:27 AM
HD Extender not passing AC3/DTS? ejp SageTV Media Extender 4 08-26-2008 08:11 AM
SageTV not passing DD/DTS over S/PDIF rickeo SageTV Software 2 06-15-2008 11:13 AM
DTS output of Divx files jhughesjr SageTV Software 0 03-30-2008 02:09 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.