SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV BETA Release Products > SageTV Beta Test Software

Notices

SageTV Beta Test Software Discussion related to BETA Releases of the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. regarding SageTV Beta Releases should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-04-2009, 10:59 AM
jarredduq's Avatar
jarredduq jarredduq is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Stockton, CA - Most miserable city in the USA, SageTV makes it bearable
Posts: 201
Placeshifter Beta for SnowLeopard?

I'm hoping for a release that fixes the display issues with Snow Leopard, as I just purchased a new Mac that had Snow Leopard pre-installed.

Thanks,

Jarred
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-07-2009, 09:15 AM
sandor's Avatar
sandor sandor is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Posts: 621
Quote:
Originally Posted by jarredduq View Post
I'm hoping for a release that fixes the display issues with Snow Leopard, as I just purchased a new Mac that had Snow Leopard pre-installed.

Thanks,

Jarred
i'll second that, and i think it is all versions of Sage's software that aren't working fully on 10.6
__________________
MacBook Core2Duo 2 ghz
nVidia 9400M GPU
46" Sammy HLP4663 720p DLP
2x HDHR, all OTA
QNAP TS-809:
12.5 TB for Recordings/Imports/TimeMachine/Music
HD200 via 802.11n in Living Room
802.11n client in bedroom
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-04-2009, 11:03 PM
etrigan63's Avatar
etrigan63 etrigan63 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 58
I third this request, as PlaceShifter is the only client on the Mac that plays HD content back smoothly and the garbled menus are a pain.
__________________
Carlos
Server: HP MediaSmart EX487 + SageTV WHS + HD-PVR
Client 1: Mac Pro (Jan 2008) 2.8GHz Dual Quad Core Xeon + 12GB RAM + nv8800GT video card + SageTV Client & PlaceShifter
Client 2: Alienware Laptop 2.2GHz Core2 Duo + 2GB RAM + SageTV PlaceShifter
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-07-2009, 04:45 PM
merneric merneric is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 63
Might as well add me to the list.

I'm no java expert, but I think it must have something to do with how sage talks to the newer implementation of Java 1.6 32bit in snow leopard. I'm hoping it will be an easy fix for Sage, maybe just a matter of recompiling?

Its just really strange how when SageTV Mac server and SageTV Mac Client are running on a snow leopard machine, it runs ok, menus are NOT garbled, but that when running SageTV Mac placeshifter and/or a SageTV Extender, one gets the garbled menus. So it must have something to do with the code within these apps, or maybe something to do with how snow leopard reads it--again, as you can tell, I am no expert in this.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-07-2009, 06:33 PM
LehighBri LehighBri is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 694
Just released: http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=44611
__________________
Server: Sage 7.1.9 beta; Dell Inspiron 530; Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit (UAC turned off); 2TB Internal SATA (TV Recordings)
Storage: Synology DiskStation DS411+, RAID 5, 5x 2TB SATA for (DVDs/Music/Other Videos)
Tuners: Ceton InfiniTV w/ Verizon FIOS cablecard (using babgvant's SageDCT plugin)
Clients: 1x STP-HD300; 1x Acer Aspire Revo 3610 (Atom/Ion) w/ SageTV client (Win 7, EVR, FSE on)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-07-2009, 07:18 PM
forthehandyman forthehandyman is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3
Just downloaded the latest Beta of Placeshifter with supposed Snow Leopard support. It crashes every time I try to launch it...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-07-2009, 07:59 PM
etrigan63's Avatar
etrigan63 etrigan63 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 58
Both of these beta clients are bogus. Placeshifter also crashes on launch and the full client still has playback issues with HD.
__________________
Carlos
Server: HP MediaSmart EX487 + SageTV WHS + HD-PVR
Client 1: Mac Pro (Jan 2008) 2.8GHz Dual Quad Core Xeon + 12GB RAM + nv8800GT video card + SageTV Client & PlaceShifter
Client 2: Alienware Laptop 2.2GHz Core2 Duo + 2GB RAM + SageTV PlaceShifter
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-07-2009, 08:41 PM
dertb dertb is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 39
Same thing playshifter crashes on launch .10.6.1
__________________
Sage 6.2.10
AMD Athlon FX-60, A8N32-SLI Deluxe, 2 GB DDR400, GeoForce 7800 GT 91.47, Recording Drive SATA II (5 Maxtor @300 gig raid 5), LiteOn DVDRW 16X Dual Layer, 2 Hauppauge PVR 500 Cards, VBOX Cat's Eye USB-A-3560, FW-> SA 3150HD, DirMon2, ShowAnalyzer v.0.8.2
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-07-2009, 09:03 PM
merneric merneric is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 63
Thank you very much for this--its good to know you guys are actively working on it. I loaded Placeshifter, but it immediately shuts down on my machine. I'll wait to hear from others before sending a bug report, as it may just be my particular setup...Client seems to work ok though.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-07-2009, 10:36 PM
transco transco is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 85
Anybody got V6.6.2 to work?

No luck on my Mac Pro. Program runs and appears in the menu bar, but no windows open.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-07-2009, 10:58 PM
jarredduq's Avatar
jarredduq jarredduq is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Stockton, CA - Most miserable city in the USA, SageTV makes it bearable
Posts: 201
Broken for me as well. I've submitted a bug report.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-08-2009, 05:52 AM
merneric merneric is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 63
Same on my Mac Pro as well--I thought maybe it was just me...anyone else have any luck with the 6.6.2 Placeshifter beta?

PS. I posted this back in the SageMC Mac forum but it got moved. Basically I tried loading it last night, almost as soon as it came out, and yes it loads, but then immediately quits. I was going to wait and see what others experience before submitting a bug report. That was with a fresh install--I completely removed old Placeshifter with AppZap. I tried the Client as well, and it seems to work ok--no longer get the prompt to reinstall each time it is loaded...

Anyway, at least its good to know that they are working on it.

Last edited by merneric; 10-08-2009 at 01:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-08-2009, 08:53 AM
transco transco is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 85
I just tested it V6.6.2 on my MacBook and iMac and it crashed immediately on both. Like you, I always clean out previous rev's with AppZapper. I'm curious now as to what flavor of Mac SageTV used to test it.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-08-2009, 09:00 AM
transco transco is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 85
Question

The only thing I haven't tried is a MacMini, but since it runs the Media Center I've been afraid to update it to Snow Leopard.

Last edited by transco; 10-08-2009 at 09:12 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-08-2009, 11:50 AM
merneric merneric is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 63
Hmm,

Well this has been a little confusing with all the editing of the threads, but I understand its better to get everything in one place.

It looks like there is indeed a problem with the latest beta (multiple confirmed posts), but according to Narflex they are working on it, so hopefully it won't take too much longer.

Again, I am just glad its on their "To-do" list.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-08-2009, 08:33 PM
SprDtyF350 SprDtyF350 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southern Maryland
Posts: 436
Quote:
Originally Posted by transco View Post
The only thing I haven't tried is a MacMini, but since it runs the Media Center I've been afraid to update it to Snow Leopard.
I have an Intel MacMini and the placeshifter does the same thing on it. Crashes on start. Not real hot on how the full client works either. The client works, but I have to hit pause for a few seconds during live tv or the video will stutter. Hope that Sage fixes them.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-09-2009, 03:46 PM
merneric merneric is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 63
I just tested the newly available SageTV Mac Placeshifter beta on my system (Mac Pro + Snow Leopard) and I am happy to state that IT WORKS!!!

No more garbled menus etc, I haven't watched much video on it yet, but this is definitely a good sign...

Thank you Sage!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-14-2009, 11:13 PM
transco transco is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by merneric View Post
I just tested the newly available SageTV Mac Placeshifter beta on my system (Mac Pro + Snow Leopard) and I am happy to state that IT WORKS!!!

No more garbled menus etc, I haven't watched much video on it yet, but this is definitely a good sign...

Thank you Sage!
Is this 6.6.2 or something later? I just downloaded the latest and it doesn't work at all on my Mac Pro. I get the menu bar, but nothing else.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-15-2009, 05:24 PM
transco transco is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 85
I'm confused as to the builds of V6.2.2. There was the original release on 10/08, then it was pulled and a new 'fixed' release was posted on 10/09. I assume this is the one that Merneric says works on his Mac Pro. Unfortunately, I tried it on a Mac Pro, iMac, and Mac Book and it didn't work on any of them. I downloaded the beta again just to make sure I had the latest build and the results were the same. Is there anyone still having problems with Placeshifter running under Snow Leopard, or am I the only one?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-16-2009, 07:18 PM
merneric merneric is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 63
Ok this is my current setup:

SageTV Mac Server 6.6.1 running on a PowerMac G5

SageTV Mac Placeshifter 6.6.2 (2nd version) running on a MacPro (1stGen)

Placeshifter 6.6.1 = Garbled Menus
Placeshifter 6.6.2 (1st ver) = Did not run at all
Placeshifter 6.6.2 (2nd ver) = Runs "ok"

======

Now, something that I just picked up on tonight: If I install SageTV Mac server (latest 6.6.2 release) on a Snow Leopard Mac, and THEN run latest SageTV Mac Placeshifter, I get garbled menus again.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
End of 6.5.20 beta placeshifter trial still expired wallaceff SageTV Placeshifter 6 07-27-2009 09:37 AM
Mac 6.4.0 beta Placeshifter - no video phelme SageTV Beta Test Software 35 04-23-2008 11:09 PM
Beta Placeshifter abbott_m SageTV Beta Test Software 2 07-12-2007 06:12 PM
Proxy server support in placeshifter 6.x beta? mkanet SageTV Beta Test Software 0 11-18-2006 07:57 AM
Placeshifter v6 beta pauses after each song Francois Parent SageTV Beta Test Software 1 11-08-2006 09:22 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.