SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1261  
Old 05-29-2011, 02:51 PM
sleonard's Avatar
sleonard sleonard is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,506
Disable auto start of the Sage service.
Shutdown
Install Colossus, start PC
Cancel Window hardware detect
Install latest Colossus driver (29111) using installer
Enable auto start of Sage service
Reboot
Setup Colossus in Sage
Done

S

BTW, I used to be nervous when using HWClear to wipe all of the Hauppauge drivers and reinstall them but I soon realized it pretty trivial. Just stop, and disable the autostart of, the Sage service first and then go to town.
Reply With Quote
  #1262  
Old 05-30-2011, 12:36 AM
Hunter69 Hunter69 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 301
The only way I found the colossus to be stable was to wipe away the hauppage drivers using hcwclear. Reinstall. I don't have any idea how stable your setup will be with the colossus and the hvr1600. I know that I have one colossus installed with no other hauppage tuner. I have one good hd pvr but when it was installed with the colossus my server was very unstable. I am currently contemplating the purchase of another colossus.

The colossus by itself has been pretty good with a few weird things (that I am not sure who to blame). I did find that my audio got out of sync when using spdif for audio. If I use analog, everything seems fine.

I have the colossus using component with analog sound currently.
__________________
Server: Antec 300, AMD Phenom 9750, 4 gig ram, 4 tb-with pooled recording , Lite on Blu-ray drive
Tuners: 2 HD-PVR, 1 HDHR
Clients: 2 HD200
Reply With Quote
  #1263  
Old 05-30-2011, 01:40 AM
korben_dallas's Avatar
korben_dallas korben_dallas is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hunter69 View Post
I did find that my audio got out of sync when using spdif for audio. If I use analog, everything seems fine.

I have the colossus using component with analog sound currently.
Same observation here. Optical audio on the Colossus still needs some serious work.
__________________
SageTV server & client: Win 10 Pro x64, Intel DH67CF, Core i5 2405s, 8 GB ram, Intel HD 3000, 40GB SSD system, 4TB storage, 2x HD PVR component + optical audio, USB-UIRT 2 zones + remote hack, Logitech Harmony One, HDMI output to Sony receiver with native Intel bitstreaming
Reply With Quote
  #1264  
Old 05-30-2011, 05:53 AM
jptheripper jptheripper is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 956
I have only used optical audio. It works great for me. My settop is fixed output.

And as you can see by my sig, i have 4 hauppauge tuners. I always use hwclear.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3/4gb DDR2/AMD Phenom 955 3.2ghz Quad Core
Windows 7 64bit Home Premium
Hauppauge 1600/1850/2250/colossus/2650(CableCard 2 tuner)
8tb RAID5 storage/media/other &3tb RAID5 backup storage on a HighPoint RocketRaid 2680
1tb 3 disk Recording Pool
all in a beautiful Antec 1200
SageMyMovies/Comskip/PlayON/SageDCT/SRE
HD100/HD300 extenders

Last edited by jptheripper; 05-30-2011 at 05:55 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #1265  
Old 05-30-2011, 07:20 AM
bits bits is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 398
Optical audio has worked great in my setup, no problems at all.
__________________
bits (Windows Media Center Convert)

PC: W7 32bit, Intel Q9550 2.83 Quad, 4GB DRAM
Cap Devices: Colosuss+UIRT+Cable STB; HDHR QAM+OTA, USB MediaSonic (6TB)
Network Players: HD200, (2) HD300s
Viewing: Samsung 55" 8000, Sony 50" and HP 37"
The more complicated it is the more likely it will break!
Reply With Quote
  #1266  
Old 05-30-2011, 09:12 AM
jptheripper jptheripper is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 956
its curious, all the "32bit" ppl seem to think optical is fine..
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3/4gb DDR2/AMD Phenom 955 3.2ghz Quad Core
Windows 7 64bit Home Premium
Hauppauge 1600/1850/2250/colossus/2650(CableCard 2 tuner)
8tb RAID5 storage/media/other &3tb RAID5 backup storage on a HighPoint RocketRaid 2680
1tb 3 disk Recording Pool
all in a beautiful Antec 1200
SageMyMovies/Comskip/PlayON/SageDCT/SRE
HD100/HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
  #1267  
Old 05-30-2011, 11:12 AM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by sleonard View Post
BTW, I used to be nervous when using HWClear to wipe all of the Hauppauge drivers and reinstall them but I soon realized it pretty trivial. Just stop, and disable the autostart of, the Sage service first and then go to town.
I'm a little confused about this statement. Are you saying I should run HWClear, or that I can get away with not running it?

My main concern about running it is that I don't want to have to set up the QAM mappings for my HVR-1600. I'm not sure if wiping away the drivers wipes away those mappings. It takes forever to set that up.
Reply With Quote
  #1268  
Old 05-30-2011, 11:25 AM
jptheripper jptheripper is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 956
Quote:
Originally Posted by reggie14 View Post
I'm a little confused about this statement. Are you saying I should run HWClear, or that I can get away with not running it?

My main concern about running it is that I don't want to have to set up the QAM mappings for my HVR-1600. I'm not sure if wiping away the drivers wipes away those mappings. It takes forever to set that up.
The qam mappings are stored in a file within sage (.frq). HWCLear will not remove them. In fact

1. Stop Sage Service
2. Set to not auto start
3. Run hwclear
4. Reboot as needed
5. Start Sage and set to autostart, resume as normal with all mappings intact.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3/4gb DDR2/AMD Phenom 955 3.2ghz Quad Core
Windows 7 64bit Home Premium
Hauppauge 1600/1850/2250/colossus/2650(CableCard 2 tuner)
8tb RAID5 storage/media/other &3tb RAID5 backup storage on a HighPoint RocketRaid 2680
1tb 3 disk Recording Pool
all in a beautiful Antec 1200
SageMyMovies/Comskip/PlayON/SageDCT/SRE
HD100/HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
  #1269  
Old 05-30-2011, 11:37 AM
Ender Ender is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Upsate New York
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by reggie14 View Post
I'm a little confused about this statement. Are you saying I should run HWClear, or that I can get away with not running it?

One thing of note, if you use the IR receiver on one of your hauppauge cards as I do for remote control, then install the drivers for the device you have the receiver attached to last.

Oh, and make sure you have a copy of your ir.ini file handy. If I recall it will be removed as well.
Reply With Quote
  #1270  
Old 05-30-2011, 11:39 AM
texneus texneus is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: DFW
Posts: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by jptheripper View Post
its curious, all the "32bit" ppl seem to think optical is fine..
I'm using 32 bit and it's not fine here. Same problem. It appears to be a provider problem with local commercials (audio stream change?). I've noticed each time a local commercial is "injected" I lose a small amount of sync (Fios, DFW area) and the effect accumulates over several commercial breaks. If there are no local commercials the audio sync holds.
Reply With Quote
  #1271  
Old 05-30-2011, 07:50 PM
bits bits is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 398
Quote:
Originally Posted by jptheripper View Post
its curious, all the "32bit" ppl seem to think optical is fine..
My optical audio does not 'seem' to work fine, it works properly, no audio sync issue.
__________________
bits (Windows Media Center Convert)

PC: W7 32bit, Intel Q9550 2.83 Quad, 4GB DRAM
Cap Devices: Colosuss+UIRT+Cable STB; HDHR QAM+OTA, USB MediaSonic (6TB)
Network Players: HD200, (2) HD300s
Viewing: Samsung 55" 8000, Sony 50" and HP 37"
The more complicated it is the more likely it will break!
Reply With Quote
  #1272  
Old 05-31-2011, 12:24 AM
korben_dallas's Avatar
korben_dallas korben_dallas is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,250
Perhaps then it is the combination of HD-PVR w/ optical audio and Colossus w/ optical audio.

If that is the case, it really sucks, because my HD PVR is rock-solid these days. I'd be very hesitant to get another Colossus to replace it.
__________________
SageTV server & client: Win 10 Pro x64, Intel DH67CF, Core i5 2405s, 8 GB ram, Intel HD 3000, 40GB SSD system, 4TB storage, 2x HD PVR component + optical audio, USB-UIRT 2 zones + remote hack, Logitech Harmony One, HDMI output to Sony receiver with native Intel bitstreaming
Reply With Quote
  #1273  
Old 05-31-2011, 04:47 AM
Hunter69 Hunter69 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 301
My optical will start out synced and stay that way for hours but eventually (say 6 to 8 hours) it will be out of sync. I only have the colossus installed. My os is whs 32 bit. I watch sage only through extenders. 2 HD200's and 1 HD300
__________________
Server: Antec 300, AMD Phenom 9750, 4 gig ram, 4 tb-with pooled recording , Lite on Blu-ray drive
Tuners: 2 HD-PVR, 1 HDHR
Clients: 2 HD200
Reply With Quote
  #1274  
Old 05-31-2011, 05:04 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hunter69 View Post
My optical will start out synced and stay that way for hours but eventually (say 6 to 8 hours) it will be out of sync.
Rebooting every four hours seems like it should fix that.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, Unraid 6.9.2, sagetvopen-sagetv-server-opendct-java11 Docker
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K Max w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #1275  
Old 05-31-2011, 06:16 AM
mistergq's Avatar
mistergq mistergq is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by jptheripper View Post
its curious, all the "32bit" ppl seem to think optical is fine..
That is not true. 32bit ppl are having the issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by texneus View Post
I'm using 32 bit and it's not fine here. Same problem. It appears to be a provider problem with local commercials (audio stream change?). I've noticed each time a local commercial is "injected" I lose a small amount of sync (Fios, DFW area) and the effect accumulates over several commercial breaks. If there are no local commercials the audio sync holds.
I agree. FIOS boxes originally had a problem with HD PVR where the audio did not work with optical. I am confident that they will eventually get this fixed with the audio. I have debated about putting the rca cables in for the audio, but I have not yet because I am waiting to see what the next update does and I have a nice 5.1 setup, which would defeat the 5.1 setup.
__________________
Media Server: Win 7 Home (32 bit), GIGABYTE GA-EP43-UD3L LGA 775 Intel P43 ATX Intel Motherboard, Intel Core 2 Quad Q9505 Yorkfield 2.83GHz, 4 GB Ram, Geforce 9600 GT PCI-E, 1x HD PVR, HD homerun (2x for OTA, 1x for FIOS QAM), 1 x HD Homerun Prime with cablecard from FIOS.

Client: Windows 10 Pro

Media Extenders: HD-200 x 3, HD-200 x 2
Reply With Quote
  #1276  
Old 05-31-2011, 01:05 PM
metzz71 metzz71 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 113
WHERE'S THE NEW DRIVER!!!!!
__________________
{Server: Gigabyte EP45-DS3R - Q9550 - 4GB RAM - 2TB Storage - Win7 - Sage 7.x}
{Tuners: (2) Colossus' (1) HDPVR attached to (3) U-Verse STB - (2) Pinnacle USB HD Sticks OTA - (2) HVR1600's OTA}
(Clients: (2) HD200 (1) HD300}
Reply With Quote
  #1277  
Old 05-31-2011, 01:41 PM
sleonard's Avatar
sleonard sleonard is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,506
I DON'T KNOW!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #1278  
Old 05-31-2011, 01:48 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,586
That good Question metzz71, Answers is no idea, maybe it a tough cookie to crack.
Reply With Quote
  #1279  
Old 05-31-2011, 01:59 PM
c5davey c5davey is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 23
How confident are you that a new driver will fix the various problems that many are having? I'm certainly not.
Reply With Quote
  #1280  
Old 05-31-2011, 03:38 PM
sleonard's Avatar
sleonard sleonard is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,506
Quote:
Originally Posted by c5davey View Post
How confident are you that a new driver will fix the various problems that many are having? I'm certainly not.
More confidant than I would be if they had said "What problem?"

S
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PVR-150 and PVR-250 together with hauppauge 45-button remote eallen Hardware Support 0 03-16-2009 06:28 PM
Hauppauge PVR-350 Silver Remote conflicts with PVR-150MCE mayamaniac Hardware Support 45 08-19-2006 07:53 PM
Hauppauge PVR-250 w/ PVR-500MCE Truxton Hardware Support 3 11-24-2005 02:17 PM
Wintv pvr 150 vs the USB2 PVR from hauppauge? steingra Hardware Support 9 10-14-2005 02:23 PM
Hauppauge PVR-350 & PVR-500 coexisting? rwc Hardware Support 7 01-19-2005 01:48 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.