SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-09-2011, 11:03 PM
jarredduq's Avatar
jarredduq jarredduq is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Stockton, CA - Most miserable city in the USA, SageTV makes it bearable
Posts: 201
Question regarding Windows Media Center 7

I'm starting to dabble again with Windows Media Center, and will be purchasing a Ceton tuner.

Although I will be looking to use SageDCT to allow the Ceton to work with SageTV, can you run SageTV and Media Center on the same server at the same time, if I want to play with Media Center.

I'm hoping I can allocate 1 of the 4 tuners to Media Center and the remaining 3 to Sage.

I bought a used Linksys extender to experiment with as well. Got it really cheap, and I know it is nowhere near as good as as my Sage extenders, but I have to experiment with other solutions for customers of mine.

If this works out, I'll purchase a new generation XBox to test further.
__________________
Server: HP w/Intel i7-4770S CPU @ 3.10GHz , 500GB SSD, 16GB DDR3, Win 10 64-bit, 4TB of SSD for recording
SageTV: 9.2 - 64-Bit
Capture Devices: 2xHD Homerun Prime and HD-PVR (Comcast Premium/Music Channels)
Client 1, 2, 3, and 4: HD200.
NAS: Synology DS220+ 8TB (Movie Storage)
Sage Add-ons: Jetty, Neilms Webserver (Jetty), Mobile Web, Play-On Plug-in, Comskip Plug-in
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-10-2011, 06:34 AM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
There shouldn'tbe any issues as long as you adding the correct tuners to each program.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-10-2011, 06:37 AM
SWKerr SWKerr is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,178
I have run WMC on my SageTV server for years. I have one OTA dedicated to Media Center and the others are all Sage. Not certain about the Centon but I think as long as you dedicate tuners you should be fine.

You will also want to look at some of the WMC plugins as well. It generally sucks without them.

The xbox360 works well enough but it has some warts as well. Not everything that plays on the server will play on the Xbox. Not sure about other extenders. I have found I have to be logged into xbox live to play h.264 files for some reason as well.

Long story short, SateTV is still better but if you can't get the channels you want then you are stuck. I have DirecTV righ now with the HD_PVRs working perfectly so I have no compelling reason to change and the fact is SageTV still offers a better experience by quite a bit.
__________________

Retired SageTV in favor of Plex\Emby and YouTubeTV.

Last edited by SWKerr; 11-10-2011 at 06:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thinking of going to windows media center Mailman74 SageTV Software 41 05-01-2011 08:42 PM
Windows Media Center Assistance inghamb SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 2 11-26-2009 10:53 AM
Windows 7 Media Center ikarus79m General Discussion 178 05-23-2009 06:04 AM
Need help want to use sage tv and windows media center gav Hardware Support 1 03-09-2006 11:25 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.