SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #61  
Old 07-12-2012, 02:03 PM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
I thought that plug-in was dead at this point? As in no more support or something?
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 07-12-2012, 02:25 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skybolt View Post
I thought that plug-in was dead at this point? As in no more support or something?
The only thing dead about it is that it just works.
http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...82&postcount=3
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 07-12-2012, 03:02 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skybolt View Post
Nope, that was exactly what I was talking about. And yes h.264, I have tried Handbrake and DVDFab. HandBrake seems to do a better job and much faster as well. But in the end I can see some of the compression, pixel loss, from straight DVD to converted DVD(MKV). But the DVD's as you pointed out are not the real issue it's the BD. Sorry I still refer to BD as DVD at times, when things are ripped I tend to loose track, since I have only recently started ripping BD.

I didn't know there was anyother format better then h.264 when using the MKV wrapper? Also isn't .vob format basicly meg2?
Yep. If you look at the stream of a vob compared to an mpeg 2 they are the same. There may be something special about vob's other than that, but I'm not aware of what they might be.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 07-12-2012, 03:25 PM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
The only thing dead about it is that it just works.
http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...82&postcount=3
Cool, Thanks, That's good to know. Sounds promising.
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 07-12-2012, 03:27 PM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,027
I guess I'll take this thread a little more off topic - Sorry.


Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
Yep. If you look at the stream of a vob compared to an mpeg 2 they are the same. There may be something special about vob's other than that, but I'm not aware of what they might be.
That's pretty much what I thought, so the conversion of the vob to h.264 realy isn't that good right? Or am I doing something wrong and I should look into that?
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 07-12-2012, 04:37 PM
BobPhoenix BobPhoenix is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,151
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
Yep. If you look at the stream of a vob compared to an mpeg 2 they are the same. There may be something special about vob's other than that, but I'm not aware of what they might be.
Shouldn't be ANY difference. You can take the VOBs and use a DOS copy command to append them together into a single file. Then just change the extension (or do it in the copy command that appends them) to an MPEG2 and play the file. A VOB is just an MPEG2 file that is split into 1GB segments as that was suppose to be the maximum size the earliest players would work with or so I read somewhere anyway. I've definitely used the copy command before to append the files together to get a final MPEG2. The trick is to get the files in the correct sequence. If you don't you will get playback problems to crashes since the split is not done on a frame boundary (or so I've read). These statements assume you are dealing with an un-protected DVD or a program running that will decode it for you in the background.
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 07-13-2012, 07:08 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skybolt View Post
I guess I'll take this thread a little more off topic - Sorry.




That's pretty much what I thought, so the conversion of the vob to h.264 realy isn't that good right? Or am I doing something wrong and I should look into that?
It's not that it isn't good, it's just pointless unless you need to save space. If you aren't needing all the space you can free up then I wouldn't mess with it.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 07-13-2012, 07:22 AM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobPhoenix View Post
Shouldn't be ANY difference. You can take the VOBs and use a DOS copy command to append them together into a single file. Then just change the extension (or do it in the copy command that appends them) to an MPEG2 and play the file. ...
Thanks, I actually have tried this and it does work quite well.
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 07-13-2012, 07:27 AM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
It's not that it isn't good, it's just pointless unless you need to save space. If you aren't needing all the space you can free up then I wouldn't mess with it.
Unless you need them to play on say an Xbox 306 extender ... Since the state of Sage being what it is, I have been looking for viable alternitives which also include playing all on my stored content including the DVD, BD rips. Since the 360 will not play DVD\BD direct rips I must convert them, or at least do what BobPheonix suggests for DVD's and then convert the BD's.

Thanks for all of the input and I'll stop hyjacking now
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 07-13-2012, 11:03 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwc View Post
For me personally, I haven't given up on using sage--I'm still running sage and considering expanding it in my house because it really fits a need and works well with my family.

Since narflexes' post, we've had:

1. Google TV Dropped by logitech
2. Google TV 2.0 shipped
3. a "mystery" device that was being tested by google...
4. The "mystery" device turned out to be google glasses.
5. another "mystery" device registered w/ the FCC for testing
6. a google TV settop box (that seemed similar but different "enough" to the extended) shipped
7. Google fiber seems like they will be distributing some sort of video/cable tv
8. The mystery device from #5 turns out to be the nexus Q

Every step of the way when I thought 'OK--this will be the next version of "Sage" or at least the new 'Sage-Like' item' it hasn't happened.

So I haven't "given up" on using sage, but I am disillusioned that we will see a "new" sage (or something that we can say "That's why google bought sage") in the near future.
As far as I can tell #8 is not true. What makes you think the mystery "GFHD100" (I think that was what was in the picture) is the Nexus Q?
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 07-13-2012, 11:14 AM
rwc rwc is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 284
Somehow I forgot about the set top box... I was thinking the FCC application for streaming device. Maybe I was too narrow minded and thought of it incorrect?

http://venturebeat.com/2012/02/09/go...eaming-device/
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 07-13-2012, 11:58 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
The GFHD100 is their FTTU IPTV box. Hooray acronyms....
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 07-13-2012, 02:58 PM
hemicuda's Avatar
hemicuda hemicuda is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north of Chattanooga, Tennessee
Posts: 1,118
Since you mentioned IPTV STB..... The one thing I'm missing at this point is a capture device like that (not HD-PVR). My provider does a 2-78 selection in analog, but the "good" stuff is IP-based on derivatives of AT&T STB's. Wish there was something to bridge the gap (multi-stream of course) that would talk to SageTV.
__________________
Server: MS Win7 SP1; FX8350 (H2O cooled); 8GB RAM; Hauppauge HVR-7164 (OTA); HVR-885 (OTA); SageTV 9.1.5.x; 12+TB Sage Storage

Clients: HD300 x2; HD200 x2; Placeshifter

Service: EPB Fiber (1Gb); OTA (we "cut the cord"); Netflix, Hulu, etc.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ok, so I got MMoivies installed and happy, and SMM installed and happy, So now what? SomeWhatLost Sage My Movies 9 11-02-2010 09:15 AM
Are you happy with your PC PVR? stanger89 General Discussion 37 01-03-2007 01:38 PM
I'm so happy I could cry! broderp SageTV Studio 1 11-12-2005 01:44 PM
Happy B-Day SHS EncoderHouse General Discussion 6 02-15-2004 01:57 AM
Happy B-Day Dan EncoderHouse General Discussion 7 02-14-2004 12:28 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.