SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > The SageTV Community

Notices

The SageTV Community Here's the place to discuss what's worth recording, HTPC deals at retail stores, events happening outside of your home theater, and pretty much anything else you'd like. (No For-Sale posts)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 02-16-2013, 06:15 PM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,760
I had been using Acronis Backup and Recovery, but Acronis has practically abandoned that line. I'd like to find something to migrate to, but I have't identified a great option.

I'd like something that will automatically do differential backups each night to my unRAID server. Preferably it would be grandfather-father-son backups, but I don't care too much as long as it does full backups monthly, incremental/differential backups regularly, and cleans up after itself.

TrueImage won't clean up after itself. Plus I'm concerned about some of the extra features it does these days (though I imagine I don't need to use secure zone, right?).

ShadowProtect looks pretty good, although I don't really feel like spending $200 on the 3-license pack for my systems.

Is there anything else I should be looking at?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02-16-2013, 09:58 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikejaner View Post
Confirmed. I just tested the Drive to Drive function of DriveImageXML, and it cloned live. One note, make sure you create a parition on your target drive before you launch DriveImage, and make the partition active before you try to boot off it. You can even schedule jobs, so that might be useful.
did you clone a drive-to-drive, or a partition-to-partition?
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-17-2013, 08:00 AM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by reggie14 View Post
I'd like something that will automatically do differential backups each night to my unRAID server. Preferably it would be grandfather-father-son backups, but I don't care too much as long as it does full backups monthly, incremental/differential backups regularly, and cleans up after itself.
I've been searching extensively for a backup solution ever since downgrading from WHS v1 to the failure that is WHS 2011 and I'm pretty sure I'll be moving to EaseUs' Todo Backup. It's pretty inexpensive, too.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-17-2013, 11:17 AM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skirge01 View Post
I've been searching extensively for a backup solution ever since downgrading from WHS v1 to the failure that is WHS 2011 and I'm pretty sure I'll be moving to EaseUs' Todo Backup. It's pretty inexpensive, too.
Looks pretty good. Out of curiosity, why that over True Image?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02-17-2013, 05:52 PM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
did you clone a drive-to-drive, or a partition-to-partition?
Drive to drive. But for some reason it wanted the target to have a partition already. The cool thing is, unlike Acronis etc, it clones the live drive while windows is running. So all you have to do is change your boot order.
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 02-17-2013, 05:55 PM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner
Quote:
Originally Posted by reggie14 View Post
I had been using Acronis Backup and Recovery, but Acronis has practically abandoned that line. I'd like to find something to migrate to, but I have't identified a great option.

I'd like something that will automatically do differential backups each night to my unRAID server. Preferably it would be grandfather-father-son backups, but I don't care too much as long as it does full backups monthly, incremental/differential backups regularly, and cleans up after itself.

TrueImage won't clean up after itself. Plus I'm concerned about some of the extra features it does these days (though I imagine I don't need to use secure zone, right?).

ShadowProtect looks pretty good, although I don't really feel like spending $200 on the 3-license pack for my systems.

Is there anything else I should be looking at?
You could just use Windows 7 backup. It works pretty well, and saved my SageTV box a couple of times. Pro even let's you send to a network target.
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 02-18-2013, 01:02 AM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikejaner View Post
You could just use Windows 7 backup. It works pretty well, and saved my SageTV box a couple of times. Pro even let's you send to a network target.
I've tried it in the past. It's really barebones, and lacks some important features, particularly when backing up to a network location. Notably, you can only have one backup version at a time.

I've been reading up on TrueImage 2013. The backup scheduler looks quite a bit better. I still can't create a grandfather-father-son backup scheme with it, but I can tell it to do full and incremental backups at regular intervals. I might go with that.

But, part of me is still thinking about going with ShadowProtect. Seems overly expensive, though.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 02-18-2013, 07:50 AM
JerryB JerryB is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by reggie14 View Post
But, part of me is still thinking about going with ShadowProtect. Seems overly expensive, though.
I switched from Acronis to ShadowProtect about 5 years ago after a couple of instances in which I couldn't restore from Acronis backup images. ShadowProtect works great and only once have I had a ShadowProtect backup image fail to restore and, in this case, I was able to do the restore by going to an earlier image in the chain. I especially like the easy with which I can mount a backup image as a drive and then just copy the necessary files/directory from the backup to my system without having to restore the entire drive. To me its capabilities and reliability justify the cost but every system is different and you'll need to evaluate this for yourself.

In evaluating the cost of ShadowProtect you should also consider the cost of an annual maintenance agreement. I believe that 1 year is included with the initial purchase. Currently, I'm paying about $55/year for a maintenance agreement that covers 3 computers/licenses. The principal advantage of this agreement is that it covers all updates/upgrades. Since my initial purchase there has been 2 major upgrades, including one within 30 days of Windows 8 release that provided full Windows 8 compatibility, and probably 5 or 6 minor updates to the program.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 02-18-2013, 08:49 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikejaner View Post
Drive to drive. But for some reason it wanted the target to have a partition already. The cool thing is, unlike Acronis etc, it clones the live drive while windows is running. So all you have to do is change your boot order.
and you've tried to boot from the clone, as a test?
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 02-18-2013, 09:31 AM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
and you've tried to boot from the clone, as a test?
Yes, I successfully booted from the clone drive.
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 02-18-2013, 01:13 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikejaner View Post
Yes, I successfully booted from the clone drive.
haha sorry I keep forgeting things to ask
is your backup drive external, or internal, and how often do you do it? is it automated or manual.
thanks
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 02-18-2013, 02:52 PM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
haha sorry I keep forgeting things to ask
is your backup drive external, or internal, and how often do you do it? is it automated or manual.
thanks
I ran the test on a Virtual Machine, so internal drives.
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 02-19-2013, 09:45 AM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by reggie14 View Post
Looks pretty good. Out of curiosity, why that over True Image?
Until you asked that, I hadn't looked at Acronis at all. Now that I have, the only compelling reason I see to stick with EasUs is price. I don't see much of a benefit to the added cost of Acronis.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 02-24-2013, 12:30 PM
blade blade is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,500
Quote:
Originally Posted by reggie14 View Post
I've been reading up on TrueImage 2013. The backup scheduler looks quite a bit better. I still can't create a grandfather-father-son backup scheme with it, but I can tell it to do full and incremental backups at regular intervals. I might go with that.
Actually you can create generational backups using a third party script. I think it's ridiculous that the program doesn't have the feature built in, but the script works great. Basically what you'd do is set True Image to perform incremental backups with no limit on the number or incremental backups to perform. So basically the program would just continue to do incremental backups and never do another full backup. True Image has an option to run a script before performing a backup. You set the number of incremental backups you want before beginning a new chain as well as how many generations you want to keep via the script. Before a backup is performed the script will check the backup folder. Once you have reached the chosen number of incremental backups in the folder the script moves the chain to another folder leaving the current backup folder empty. For example if you're doing 3 generations you'll have set0, set1 and set2. If all 3 folders have backups the files in set2 are deleted and the backups from set1 are moved to set2 and set0 to set1. When True Image starts the incremental backup it will see set0 as empty and will do a full backup since there isn't an ongoing chain.

I know it sounds convoluted, but I've been using it for over a year now without a hitch. I have 5 backup tasks running and don't think it's missed one yet.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 02-24-2013, 01:05 PM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade View Post
Actually you can create generational backups using a third party script. I think it's ridiculous that the program doesn't have the feature built in, but the script works great.
Well, at least TrueImage 2013 added support for scheduling a full backup every X many incremental backups. And can delete backup chains older than Y many days. Still, I liked my monthly full backup, weekly differential, and nightly incremental backup scheme.

Are you talking about using Chain2Gen? I looked into that a couple years ago and was sort of scared off. That's what drove me to Acronis Backup and Recovery over TrueImage.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 02-26-2013, 08:32 AM
brainbone brainbone is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 624
I use r-DriveImage from http://www.r-tt.com.

You can schedule full/incremental backups, then set as a trigger on successful completion of your backups a command line to restore to a different drive.

It may also be possible to do disk-to-disk via command line in r-DriveImage, but I've never tried.

see:
http://www.drive-image.com/
http://www.r-tt.com/downloads/Drive_Image_Manual.pdf

They have a 30 day demo.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 02-26-2013, 10:02 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,122
would any of these work with either an external 1394 or USB2 drive?
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 02-27-2013, 08:38 AM
brainbone brainbone is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 624
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
would any of these work with either an external 1394 or USB2 drive?
I believe just about all drive image software will work standard external drives.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 03-17-2013, 06:30 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikejaner View Post
Confirmed. I just tested the Drive to Drive function of DriveImageXML, and it cloned live. One note, make sure you create a parition on your target drive before you launch DriveImage, and make the partition active before you try to boot off it. You can even schedule jobs, so that might be useful.
can you tell me your settings for drive-to-drive
whas it "try volume locking first" - "Raw" mode or not - or "try volume shadow services first"

how big is your boot drive, and how long did it take to do the drive-to-drive? mine's 90 gigs, and it's showing a 10-hour backup time....seems long to me
oh, and that's hooked up via USB 2, which could explain things

thanks
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson

Last edited by tvmaster2; 03-17-2013 at 06:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 03-18-2013, 05:11 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skirge01 View Post
Until you asked that, I hadn't looked at Acronis at all. Now that I have, the only compelling reason I see to stick with EasUs is price. I don't see much of a benefit to the added cost of Acronis.
I am looking for a reliable, quick, inexpensive way to make backups of my SageTV C: drive.

Gave 'DriveImage xml' a go (free), but wasn't feeling the love for it.

Did you find EaseUs all of the above mentioned adjectives? Automation isn't necessary, but would be helpful I suppose. Oh, and the backup drive would be external, via USB port, since all my SATA slots are taken.

any thoughts? I'd prefer to not have to deal with boot discs and recabling. If my Sage SSD crashed, I would want to be able to just assign the USB drive in Bios, and re-boot
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WHS - System Drive Backup/Production Strategy matterw Hardware Support 12 02-18-2010 09:38 AM
Backup/Restore/upgrade OS rileydogmi SageTV Software 9 05-12-2009 05:28 PM
WHS Backup - Restore SageTV woribhabor SageTV Software 1 04-26-2009 12:18 AM
backup and restore gilded07 SageTV Software 1 01-10-2008 11:27 PM
need to reload OS... what to backup/how to restore salsbst SageTV Beta Test Software 17 02-20-2004 07:04 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.