SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-30-2013, 07:44 PM
Dargason Dargason is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 516
Help me repartition my sagetv system drive

It's a long and uninteresting story as to how I got where I am, so I'll spare you. (It was a dual-boot WinXP/Win8 system.)

The system drive on my Sage server is a 80gb SSD that has been partitioned into 2 40 gb disks. I'm finding that 40gb just isn't quite enough space (Windows updates keep eating it.) So I want to remove the second 40gb partition (which is empty) and allow the system to use it.

The odd thing is that the 40gb I want to keep is at the 'top' of the disk, while the 40gb I want to get rid of is in the 'bottom', along with the boot loader stuff, so I can't just grow the partition normally.

I'm thinking what I need to do is to make an image of the Win7 boot disk, re-partition the 80gb, then install the image to the now-80gb system disk.

But I'm not very familiar with this sort of operation, and I know it can be perilous. Can you re-install a disk image to a larger partition? Will it care that it's not in the same physical (or logical) location on the disk?

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-31-2013, 08:35 AM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
If you have a backup image of the entire drive to start with, then you have nothing to lose by trying. Use any free partition utility such as Gparted or EaseUS Partition Master. If the MBR gets messed up, Windows 7 is pretty good at fixing itself. Worst case, you have to restore from your backup image.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-31-2013, 10:00 AM
pjwerdna pjwerdna is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: UK, Slough
Posts: 397
If this is windows 7, why not just extend the C drive from within windows?

Open computer management.
Goto Disk Management
Right click the the first partition and select "Shrink volume..."
...
Right click the C drive and select "Extend Volume..."

Provided you dont mind having a small partition for bootloading etc this would work and save havign to mess with images and repairing.

Not actually tried extending recently so I cant remember the remaining steps, but the shrink option is definitely easy and works well as I used it on a laptop to dual boot it to windows 8.
__________________
SageTV Server : Akasa Inifiiti Case, Gigabyte GA-P35C-DS3 MB, 8600GT, Core2 Duo (E6850 3GHz), 4GB RAM, ~6TB Filestore , Nova-TD500, TBS 6280, SageTV 7.1.9
New Client 2 :MSI P67A-GD53, i5 2500K Quad core (3.3GHz), 12GB, Windows 10 Pro (and test SageTV 9 Install)
Sage Client 1 : HD300, Logitech Harmony One

Last edited by pjwerdna; 08-31-2013 at 10:03 AM. Reason: missed a bit
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-07-2013, 01:44 PM
Dargason Dargason is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 516
Didn't mean to ignore you guys... Labor day was a busy time and it wasn't until today that I've had time to play with this again.

Quote:
If this is windows 7, why not just extend the C drive from within windows?
Because the Win7 partition is 'to the right' of the Win8 partition. Windows 7 tool cannot extend a partition 'backwards.'

Here's what I ended up doing.

1. Make a backup image of the Win7 partition. (I do this weekly anyway using Paragon Backup and Restore Free)
2. Restore the backup image to the Win8 partition.
3. This hosed my boot manager and the computer wouldn't boot at all... but as Skirge01 said, the Windows 7 installation disk was able to locate the two bootable partitions and generate a new boot manager.

So now I have the same data on two partitions. I figure I'll run using the new partition for a while just to be sure everything's working correctly. Then I can delete the second partition and 'extend' the new partition to be entire drive.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switching System Drive to SSD wayner Hardware Support 11 04-15-2011 09:10 PM
Recommended SSD for Sage System drive wayner Hardware Support 19 03-10-2011 05:42 AM
WHS Operating System Drive Size HuMan321 Hardware Support 11 08-07-2009 03:28 PM
Replacing 1 system drive and 2 video drives something fishy Hardware Support 8 05-04-2005 10:47 PM
Backing up your system drive to another hd bboldschool General Discussion 11 11-13-2003 12:04 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.