SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Clients Development

Notices

SageTV Clients Development This forum is for discussions relating to SageTV Open Source Clients Development.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-18-2016, 10:34 PM
Gustovier Gustovier is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 460
Android mini client screen draw issues

Hey Stuckless,

I still run the original Phoenix STV and the android mini client isn't handling some things so well. When a video is playing and i pull up the OSD I think there's multiple graphic layers that the client doesn't seem to handle. It's difficult to get back to the original video. I know you haven't done development in a few months but is this something you can take a look at? I really don't want to switch to another STV.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-19-2016, 05:16 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gustovier View Post
Hey Stuckless,

I still run the original Phoenix STV and the android mini client isn't handling some things so well. When a video is playing and i pull up the OSD I think there's multiple graphic layers that the client doesn't seem to handle. It's difficult to get back to the original video. I know you haven't done development in a few months but is this something you can take a look at? I really don't want to switch to another STV.
I noticed this as well... I tried to use P2 stv and while the menus worked and I could play a video, etc, when I tried to get out of the video it was a mess... My android tv unit ended up rebooting itself, so I'm not sure what was going on there. I was just doing it to test it, and I have no ideas as to why it was doing this.

My thought was that it might be related to the navigation controls, etc. Have you tried the on screen navigation controls to see if that works... ie, HOME, back, etc?

I have been focusing lately on trying to get some of the other parts of sagetv updated, ie, Phoenix, BMT, web server, etc... but I do need to get back the MiniClient as well.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-21-2016, 09:11 PM
Gustovier Gustovier is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 460
I found that if I bring up the mini guide in the original Phoenix (didn't really like phoenix2) and then "back" out of that I can get back to video that's playing. It's just pretty tedious.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-25-2016, 08:47 AM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
I think generally whenever there is an Options menu (Widget type in Studio) open in the STV the android mini client gets a little confused with it's rendering.

So it's probably a layer issue as @Gustovier initially posited. On P3 I see this on the mini-guide mostly. There aren't too many other option menus in that code base, but once it's available that's an easy way to see this issue..

btl.
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-25-2016, 10:22 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by bialio View Post
I think generally whenever there is an Options menu (Widget type in Studio) open in the STV the android mini client gets a little confused with it's rendering.

So it's probably a layer issue as @Gustovier initially posited. On P3 I see this on the mini-guide mostly. There aren't too many other option menus in that code base, but once it's available that's an easy way to see this issue..

btl.
NOt sure what this could be... The default STV has a number of Options Menus and they all appear to work fine... so, I wonder what is unique about Phoenix?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-25-2016, 01:25 PM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
Transparency maybe?
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-25-2016, 02:33 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by bialio View Post
Transparency maybe?
Could be... I know I had some issues initially with transpariencies... The Default STV, I think uses them, and I've never seen any issues in Gemstone...

Have you pushed your changes, yet? If I can get a build before the weekend, then I'll spend some time on this on the weekend trying to figure it out.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Android TV Mini-client observations panteragstk SageTV Clients Development 29 10-29-2017 04:07 PM
Android Miniclient Screen Orientation snorth87 SageTV Clients Development 3 08-02-2016 08:57 AM
[Android Mini Client] Integrate with Android TV 'Live Channels' dinki SageTV Clients Development 11 01-31-2016 09:43 AM
[Android MiniClient] Need a better start screen stuckless SageTV Clients Development 16 01-29-2016 01:55 PM
Linux Mini Client Playback Issues kn4ppst3r SageTV Linux 3 01-22-2007 09:20 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.