SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-07-2017, 09:31 AM
SomeWhatLost's Avatar
SomeWhatLost SomeWhatLost is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: earth
Posts: 531
SageTV - unRAID docker HW requirments?

so, I was asked about setting up a media streaming thingy for a friend, ie sage+ shields (why are they like ~$200 now? I thought they were cheaper than that?) or maybe sheilds + kodi? (does kodi need anything server side? or is it all done in the client?)
anyway, on the storage side of things, what would be a good unRAID low budget hw setup?
I know what I would do, but it would probably end up not being low $$, would be way overkill, and it would definitely be awesome!
ie, Supermicro 24 bay SAS case, redundant power supplies, intel Xeon, supermicro server MB with IPMI, ECC mem, the whole works... my setup works great 20TB's of storage (not counting unassigned drives/etc) and plenty of room to grow...

but what would the more sane and responsible members of our little community do? what really is an adequate setup?
__________________
NOTE: As one wise professional something once stated, I am ignorant & childish, with a mindset comparable to 9/11 troofers and wackjob conspiracy theorists. so don't take anything I say as advice...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-07-2017, 11:22 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,711
Unless your friend is really hell bent on getting sagetv, you can get by with just the Shield. The Sheild can actually run a Plex Server, and it act as a client for netflix, kodi, plex, etc, as well.

I went through a similar process recently for a friend of mine... Given that he wanted to run Plex and have multiple clients (no sagetv)... I opted for a decent core i5 server (more cores the better) with 16 gigs of memory... and he run Plex docker and a few other dockers now as well. Given that plex will likely transcode everything... having a decent server will be good.

BTW, the Shield has always been $200, but they gone on sale for $149. You need a Shield to get decent sagetv, plex, netflix performance... It's a great box, and I have 2 of them. But the MiBox from Walmart (made by Xiaomi) is also a decent box for $69 (+$15 for a usb network adapter -- optional, but probably want it if you are hooking up to sagetv)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-07-2017, 11:38 AM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,656
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
But the MiBox from Walmart (made by Xiaomi) is also a decent box for $69 (+$15 for a usb network adapter -- optional, but probably want it if you are hooking up to sagetv)
I have 802.11ac and the wireless has not been a hindrance to a good SageTV experience. This is using the Mi Box and Nexus Player.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-07-2017, 02:47 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
I have 802.11ac and the wireless has not been a hindrance to a good SageTV experience. This is using the Mi Box and Nexus Player.
All my Clients are Wireless I have a AC3200 Ultra Wi-Fi Router and it works flawlessly with my Nexus Player ... Shield ... ASUS Stick SageClients .
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-07-2017, 03:12 PM
dgeezer dgeezer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 293
I repurposed my 4 year old plus or minus, windows desktop as an unraid server. I actually just pulled the hdd and put it in a drawer thinking that I could easily just reinstall that drive if I needed better hardware for my server later. Or if I decided to go with something like Qnap.

It is an Intel® Core™ i3-2130 CPU @ 3.40GHz with 6gb of ram

I have a 512 gb ssd cache drive and 2 6tb data drives well actually one parity and one data.

I had my server plugged in to my kill-a-watt for weeks and it always seemed to draw about 32 watts.

I have had this running for about 5 months now with no problems. I run about 6 dockers including crashplan, sagetv and emby. I had a linux media sever before this unraid server and the difference is night and day. My time spent messing with the server has been reduced to almost nothing. I'm not the most technical user and it seemed every time I want to do anything in pure linux I would have to spend about 10 to 20 minutes looking up cli commands on google.....

Oh,by the way I purchased this WD HDD enclosure and pulled out the two 6tb WD red drives ($399.00). I'm hoping that these are exactly the same drives as the ones sold individually for $245.00.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-07-2017, 03:14 PM
dgeezer dgeezer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 293
I don't run plex and don't do any transcoding so I think that's probably why I can get away with weaker hardware than a lot of folks here.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-07-2017, 10:01 PM
SomeWhatLost's Avatar
SomeWhatLost SomeWhatLost is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: earth
Posts: 531
Thanx for the inputs...
This all started because their little people are my brothers God children, and they essentially grew up watching my sage setup...
And so they finally got around to asking what it would take to do the local streaming of movies only part...
I loaded up kodi on my phone...
People actually like kodi?
Just seems wrong to me...
Fast... Probably storing everything on my phone and using up all available storage space...
But it is fast...
I guess I am probably the only one here that prefers gemstone...
But thanks everyone, the using of an old pc could be the ticket...
__________________
NOTE: As one wise professional something once stated, I am ignorant & childish, with a mindset comparable to 9/11 troofers and wackjob conspiracy theorists. so don't take anything I say as advice...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-07-2017, 10:14 PM
SomeWhatLost's Avatar
SomeWhatLost SomeWhatLost is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: earth
Posts: 531
Oh and fwiw while kodi on my phone just received a "meh"
The sage mini client with gemstone got a" wow that's cool"
__________________
NOTE: As one wise professional something once stated, I am ignorant & childish, with a mindset comparable to 9/11 troofers and wackjob conspiracy theorists. so don't take anything I say as advice...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-08-2017, 08:02 AM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,562
Quote:
Originally Posted by SomeWhatLost View Post
I guess I am probably the only one here that prefers gemstone...
I prefer gemstone but i may be a little biased

k
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-08-2017, 09:15 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post
I prefer gemstone but i may be a little biased

k
I make it at least a three person group.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-08-2017, 09:29 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
BTW, the Shield has always been $200, but they gone on sale for $149. You need a Shield to get decent sagetv, plex, netflix performance... It's a great box, and I have 2 of them. But the MiBox from Walmart (made by Xiaomi) is also a decent box for $69 (+$15 for a usb network adapter -- optional, but probably want it if you are hooking up to sagetv)
How does your Android client work these days compared to an HD200 or HD300, including playback of MPEG-2 files? I tried it several months ago and found it wasn't quite as good as the extenders, but I don't have any decent Android devices as we are an iOS household so I just had a cheap Android tablet and a cheap Android TV box. I bought up a bunch of extenders over the years, mainly HD200s, so I figure I may as well use those unless there is a compelling reason, like Netflix, Plex, etc, but most of our TVs have other devices like BR players or Xboxen that can handle Netflix.

Do you know if you can you buy the MiBox in Canada? I checked their online store but they are OOS.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-08-2017, 11:04 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
How does your Android client work these days compared to an HD200 or HD300, including playback of MPEG-2 files? I tried it several months ago and found it wasn't quite as good as the extenders, but I don't have any decent Android devices as we are an iOS household so I just had a cheap Android tablet and a cheap Android TV box. I bought up a bunch of extenders over the years, mainly HD200s, so I figure I may as well use those unless there is a compelling reason, like Netflix, Plex, etc, but most of our TVs have other devices like BR players or Xboxen that can handle Netflix.

Do you know if you can you buy the MiBox in Canada? I checked their online store but they are OOS.
Here's the comparison between the Android MiniClient and the HD300...

https://github.com/OpenSageTV/sagetv-miniclient/wiki

As for the MiBox... I was in port huron last month, so I picked one up at the walmart.

The Shields, I bought for 149 when they went on sale, from NVidia's site.

My collection is entirely h264 (.ts, mp4 and mkv) and I have 0 issues. Not sure if mpeg2 is quite as reliable on the MiniClient... My test files all work fine, but, I don't really have anything other than test files.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-08-2017, 11:13 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
That looks pretty good - any feel for UI responsiveness? Do you know if there is any material difference between the HD300 and the MiBox? Most of my extenders are HD200s which are even a bit slower than the 300.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-08-2017, 03:44 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
That looks pretty good - any feel for UI responsiveness? Do you know if there is any material difference between the HD300 and the MiBox? Most of my extenders are HD200s which are even a bit slower than the 300.
The UI feels about the same on the Shield and MiBox... both are as fast HD300 in my experience... I've retired my 3 HD300s and I use 2 Shields and 1 MiBox.

The Shield is definately better hardware, but is costs much more... Given the price difference between Shield and MiBox... I'd go with the MiBox... But if price isn't a factor, it's the Shield all the way.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-08-2017, 03:53 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
The Mi Box is available for C$105 at Amazon.ca but it appears to be the Chinese only version, assuming that this is the same device.
https://www.amazon.ca/Chinese-Versio...keywords=mibox

I should try the latest version on my current Android TV device.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-08-2017, 03:58 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
The Mi Box is available for C$105 at Amazon.ca but it appears to be the Chinese only version, assuming that this is the same device.
https://www.amazon.ca/Chinese-Versio...keywords=mibox

I should try the latest version on my current Android TV device.
No, it's confusing, because that isn't the box.. The box you want is this one...
http://www.androidpolice.com/2016/09...mart-costs-69/

But, you can only get it at Walmart, from what I can tell.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-09-2017, 11:15 AM
technazz's Avatar
technazz technazz is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hamilton, ON, CA
Posts: 490
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
No, it's confusing, because that isn't the box.. The box you want is this one...
http://www.androidpolice.com/2016/09...mart-costs-69/

But, you can only get it at Walmart, from what I can tell.

Walmart Canada does not sell it. I just got a new version with the Newest Amlogic S912 Cortex-A53 on sale last week for $105 CDN. Which would be a better spec than the Mi-Box that has the S905.

It works very quick on the Mini-Client almost no difference to the Shield which I have 2 of.

https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B01...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
__________________
SageTV V9.xx 2 x HD300's, 2 x Nvidia Shields Running Mini Client
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-09-2017, 11:28 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by technazz View Post
Walmart Canada does not sell it. I just got a new version with the Newest Amlogic S912 Cortex-A53 on sale last week for $105 CDN. Which would be a better spec than the Mi-Box that has the S905.

It works very quick on the Mini-Client almost no difference to the Shield which I have 2 of.

https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B01...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
The problem with that box, is that it doesn't run Android TV, which is why we are all recommending the Mi Box, or the Shield TV. The Android TV front end really is worth trying to track down one of those boxes.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-10-2017, 10:39 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
Is the original Shield dropping in price now that a new model was announced at CES? It seems like inside the box the hardware is pretty much the same so this may be a good thing for SageTV users allowing us to pick up the "old" Shield at a good price.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-10-2017, 02:31 PM
drvnbysound drvnbysound is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: US
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Is the original Shield dropping in price now that a new model was announced at CES? It seems like inside the box the hardware is pretty much the same so this may be a good thing for SageTV users allowing us to pick up the "old" Shield at a good price.
I doubt it since it's reportedly the same exact hardware:

http://m.androidcentral.com/heres-wh...eld-android-tv
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Docker Image for unRaid ChaOConnor SageTV Linux 73 05-28-2017 11:57 AM
SageTV Docker LIRC/FireWire issues Tomahawk51 SageTV for unRAID/Docker 19 01-30-2017 07:23 PM
SageTV Docker on macOS benjamintm SageTV for unRAID/Docker 8 12-12-2016 07:29 AM
SageTV Server Linux with Comskip for Docker (and unRAID) Support Thread stuckless SageTV for unRAID/Docker 409 10-10-2016 07:22 AM
SageTV Docker/unRAID now has a sub-forum stuckless SageTV for unRAID/Docker 0 10-10-2016 07:20 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.