SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Clients Development

Notices

SageTV Clients Development This forum is for discussions relating to SageTV Open Source Clients Development.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-11-2017, 12:36 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,711
Android MiniClient 1.2.12 Released

Fixes to Skip ahead for ExoPlayer
Fixed Paused Issue (ie, timeline changes when paused)
Fixed issue where pause/play would be intercepted by background app

This release to fix some issues that I noticed with ExoPlayer (ie, sometimes it would revert a skip or commercial skip action).

I think the issue whereby when you pause a video, and then resume it, the video initially thinks that it wasn't paused at all, and the timeline jumps ahead, and then back, if it didn't reach an end of stream.

I also think the audio issue whereby a background app would capture the pause/play action has been fixed.

Bintray, Amazon, and Google have all been updated 1.2.12.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-12-2017, 07:46 AM
rickgillyon's Avatar
rickgillyon rickgillyon is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Whitley Bay, England
Posts: 1,950
Been running 1.2.12 since yesterday, have already seen the pause jump ahead thing happen a few times.
Edit: Sorry, ignore that, hadn't switched to ExoPlayer. Still an issue in IJK.

Any plans to handle 18:9 and 18.5:9 aspect ratios? It seems like most new phones are one or other of these.
__________________
unRAID Server: Intel Core i5 7600K, 48GB DDR4, 2x512GB PCIe M.2 Cache Pool, 2x10TB SATA3 Parity Drive, 3x8TB SATA Array, 1x hdHomeRun DVB-T2 Quattro, IPTV via xTeVe, unRAID 6.8.3, tvHeadEnd for recording back end, Emby
Clients: 3 Nvidia Shields, 3 FireTV, 3 Win10 Pro PC Clients

Last edited by rickgillyon; 11-12-2017 at 07:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-12-2017, 11:09 AM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 999
Yikes, I tried playing a few recordings and nothing worked in ExoPlayer. Some were like in fast forward (no audio) and others were just a blank screen also with no audio. IJKPlayer seemed to work fine, (I played a few videos and skipped around before I realized I was not using ExoPlayer). Verified I had 1.2.12.
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-12-2017, 12:06 PM
rickgillyon's Avatar
rickgillyon rickgillyon is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Whitley Bay, England
Posts: 1,950
Yeah, in Exo the pause issue is gone, and it works really well on imported videos, but anything recorded from TV always shows 4:3, plays speeded-up, and has regular pauses.
__________________
unRAID Server: Intel Core i5 7600K, 48GB DDR4, 2x512GB PCIe M.2 Cache Pool, 2x10TB SATA3 Parity Drive, 3x8TB SATA Array, 1x hdHomeRun DVB-T2 Quattro, IPTV via xTeVe, unRAID 6.8.3, tvHeadEnd for recording back end, Emby
Clients: 3 Nvidia Shields, 3 FireTV, 3 Win10 Pro PC Clients
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-12-2017, 02:33 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by KarylFStein View Post
Yikes, I tried playing a few recordings and nothing worked in ExoPlayer. Some were like in fast forward (no audio) and others were just a blank screen also with no audio. IJKPlayer seemed to work fine, (I played a few videos and skipped around before I realized I was not using ExoPlayer). Verified I had 1.2.12.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickgillyon View Post
Yeah, in Exo the pause issue is gone, and it works really well on imported videos, but anything recorded from TV always shows 4:3, plays speeded-up, and has regular pauses.
yeah, I'm doubtful, that exoplayer will work on anything other than imported videos and h264 ts files. If you are recording in something other than h264 ts, ijkplayer will have to be the player of choice.

For the last week I've been using nothing but exoplayer for imported and record tv. It's been working extremely week, for me... better than ijkplayer, actually. But all my content is 720p h264 ts recordings and some imported videos (typically mkv and mp4 files)

Also, for a phone/tablet, you'll always want to use ijkplayer.

Last edited by stuckless; 11-12-2017 at 02:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-12-2017, 02:43 PM
rickgillyon's Avatar
rickgillyon rickgillyon is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Whitley Bay, England
Posts: 1,950
Guess it's IJK until UK TV moves on from MPEG2-TS...

Any thoughts on the AR question?
__________________
unRAID Server: Intel Core i5 7600K, 48GB DDR4, 2x512GB PCIe M.2 Cache Pool, 2x10TB SATA3 Parity Drive, 3x8TB SATA Array, 1x hdHomeRun DVB-T2 Quattro, IPTV via xTeVe, unRAID 6.8.3, tvHeadEnd for recording back end, Emby
Clients: 3 Nvidia Shields, 3 FireTV, 3 Win10 Pro PC Clients
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-12-2017, 03:25 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickgillyon View Post
Guess it's IJK until UK TV moves on from MPEG2-TS...

Any thoughts on the AR question?
I have no idea what it would take to support another AR. I would have thought that the existing ARs would simply crop, or add black bars without distorting the video to account for a 18/9 screen.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-12-2017, 03:53 PM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 999
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
I have no idea what it would take to support another AR. I would have thought that the existing ARs would simply crop, or add black bars without distorting the video to account for a 18/9 screen.
My tablet is 4:3 and it works fine with black bars on the top and bottom.
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-12-2017, 04:03 PM
rickgillyon's Avatar
rickgillyon rickgillyon is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Whitley Bay, England
Posts: 1,950
With an 18.5:9 device, the only setting that doesn't distort is Stretch, and that cuts off top and bottom.
__________________
unRAID Server: Intel Core i5 7600K, 48GB DDR4, 2x512GB PCIe M.2 Cache Pool, 2x10TB SATA3 Parity Drive, 3x8TB SATA Array, 1x hdHomeRun DVB-T2 Quattro, IPTV via xTeVe, unRAID 6.8.3, tvHeadEnd for recording back end, Emby
Clients: 3 Nvidia Shields, 3 FireTV, 3 Win10 Pro PC Clients
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-13-2017, 07:54 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickgillyon View Post
With an 18.5:9 device, the only setting that doesn't distort is Stretch, and that cuts off top and bottom.
What devices are 18/9 or 18.5/9? I have Pixel, but I've never actually run the miniclient video on it... I'll give it a tray if it 18/9.

I'm wondering if this is a somehow related the actual pixel height/width for the device. Unless your video is exactly 18/9 then a stretch will distort it. The only case where this might not be true if the pixel AR is different, somehow. LIkely I won't be able to fix this until I an get a physical device.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-13-2017, 08:03 AM
rickgillyon's Avatar
rickgillyon rickgillyon is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Whitley Bay, England
Posts: 1,950
Pixel is 16:9, only Pixel 2 XL is 18:9 in the Pixel range. Samsung flagships are 18.5:9, LG 18:9, new flagships from others are following one or the other.

Mine is a Samsung Note8, 18.5:9, and as I say Stretch cuts off but is the only one that doesn't distort. Not a huge deal in any case, don't use it for video that often...
__________________
unRAID Server: Intel Core i5 7600K, 48GB DDR4, 2x512GB PCIe M.2 Cache Pool, 2x10TB SATA3 Parity Drive, 3x8TB SATA Array, 1x hdHomeRun DVB-T2 Quattro, IPTV via xTeVe, unRAID 6.8.3, tvHeadEnd for recording back end, Emby
Clients: 3 Nvidia Shields, 3 FireTV, 3 Win10 Pro PC Clients
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-13-2017, 08:43 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
18:9? How is that different from 2:1?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-13-2017, 08:44 AM
rickgillyon's Avatar
rickgillyon rickgillyon is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Whitley Bay, England
Posts: 1,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
18:9? How is that different from 2:1?
You tell me.
__________________
unRAID Server: Intel Core i5 7600K, 48GB DDR4, 2x512GB PCIe M.2 Cache Pool, 2x10TB SATA3 Parity Drive, 3x8TB SATA Array, 1x hdHomeRun DVB-T2 Quattro, IPTV via xTeVe, unRAID 6.8.3, tvHeadEnd for recording back end, Emby
Clients: 3 Nvidia Shields, 3 FireTV, 3 Win10 Pro PC Clients
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-13-2017, 08:49 AM
dgeezer dgeezer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 293
Itís 9 times better.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-13-2017, 09:27 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickgillyon View Post
You tell me.
I would think they are the same unless they want to emphasize that 18:9 is wider than 16:9 and some folks are bad at maths so you want to keep the denominator constant.

Just like Nigel Tufnel's amps that go to 11. It's one louder, idn't it?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-13-2017, 09:34 AM
rickgillyon's Avatar
rickgillyon rickgillyon is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Whitley Bay, England
Posts: 1,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
I would think they are the same unless they want to emphasize that 18:9 is wider than 16:9 and some folks are bad at maths so you want to keep the denominator constant.
Just like Nigel Tufnel's amps that go to 11. It's one louder, idn't it?
I think some dimwits would think 2:1 is smaller...
__________________
unRAID Server: Intel Core i5 7600K, 48GB DDR4, 2x512GB PCIe M.2 Cache Pool, 2x10TB SATA3 Parity Drive, 3x8TB SATA Array, 1x hdHomeRun DVB-T2 Quattro, IPTV via xTeVe, unRAID 6.8.3, tvHeadEnd for recording back end, Emby
Clients: 3 Nvidia Shields, 3 FireTV, 3 Win10 Pro PC Clients
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-13-2017, 09:39 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickgillyon View Post
I think some dimwits would think 2:1 is smaller...
Then I will sell them a phone with a 32:18 aspect ratio. It is only $1000 more but it is worth it since 32:18 is WAY better than 18:9.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-13-2017, 12:54 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Then I will sell them a phone with a 32:18 aspect ratio. It is only $1000 more but it is worth it since 32:18 is WAY better than 18:9.
Doesn't Apple do this already?

__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-13-2017, 01:05 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
Doesn't Apple do this already?

Not only that, but with iOS 11 my iPhone 6S+ has a new feature called "hand-warming". The phone gets very warm to keep your hands nice and toasty while you are using the phone. Less useful for you folks in Florida, very useful here in Canada.

Of course the downside is that your battery only lasts for an hour.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Android MiniClient 1.2.9 stuckless SageTV Clients Development 53 04-16-2018 07:30 AM
Android MiniClient v1.2.0 - Released stuckless SageTV Clients Development 189 03-01-2017 07:32 AM
Android MiniClient for TV is Released to the Play Store stuckless SageTV Clients Development 106 01-08-2017 01:42 AM
Android MiniClient 1.0.5 - Released stuckless SageTV Clients Development 11 11-16-2016 01:32 PM
Android MiniClient 1.0.7 - released stuckless SageTV Clients Development 11 10-15-2016 10:45 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.