SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 01-29-2020, 02:05 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
Yes, but back then you could also buy boxes from Rogers or FutureShop for decent prices. So Rogers wasn't overly concerned about monthly revenue from cable boxes. I think the best deal I got was something like $200 for a 3250HD or 4250HD with a $100 programming credit for Rogers. I had about 10 boxes and I owned them all. They are starting to die, but I need at least two connected to the HD-PVRs on my SageTV server. You can still find them used on Kijiji.

It is interesting that TiVo was never able to really capitalize on what was revolutionary technology. I wonder if they were just in a weak competitive position due to the strength of the cable/sat providers, or if they screwed up their business strategy.

My first DVR (circa 2001) was a hacked Series 1 TiVo since they didn't sell their service in Canada. But you could download the guide data from XMLTV, reformat it and FTP it to your S1 TiVo. But you needed a special TiVonet card to do that. That was WAY harder then keeping a SageTV server running. From there I went to BeyondTV to WinMCE and then to SageTV.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 01-29-2020, 06:39 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,657
I just want everyone to note that the Schedules Direct API is versioned in that we can tell it what version of the API we want to use. SageTV is not in any peril if their insanely longstanding support for their first XML API is any indication. The only thing this is likely to mean is that we won't be able to take advantage of new features. I have posted a question in their forums about this specific thing.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 01-29-2020, 07:41 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,799
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
I just want everyone to note that the Schedules Direct API is versioned in that we can tell it what version of the API we want to use. SageTV is not in any peril if their insanely longstanding support for their first XML API is any indication. The only thing this is likely to mean is that we won't be able to take advantage of new features. I have posted a question in their forums about this specific thing.
Thanks.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 01-29-2020, 11:08 PM
newyankee's Avatar
newyankee newyankee is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Palo Alto
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
I just want everyone to note that the Schedules Direct API is versioned in that we can tell it what version of the API we want to use. SageTV is not in any peril if their insanely longstanding support for their first XML API is any indication. The only thing this is likely to mean is that we won't be able to take advantage of new features. I have posted a question in their forums about this specific thing.
+1 Thanks, just what I needed to know
__________________
Asus Z170Pro, I7 skylake, hyperthread off, Win 7 64 Ult, 32Gig, 2ea Hauppauge 2250, DTV SD & OTA, HD300
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 01-30-2020, 12:12 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
I just want everyone to note that the Schedules Direct API is versioned in that we can tell it what version of the API we want to use. SageTV is not in any peril if their insanely longstanding support for their first XML API is any indication. The only thing this is likely to mean is that we won't be able to take advantage of new features. I have posted a question in their forums about this specific thing.
Thanks. Good idea to look in their forums a well. The more Sage people who use that and comment could help going forward...
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300’s networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 01-30-2020, 01:47 AM
VCRUser VCRUser is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
Thanks. Good idea to look in their forums a well. The more Sage people who use that and comment could help going forward...
I checked into their forum, but couldn't find the place where this is discussed. Can you post a link? I'd be glad to add a supportive comment if I could find the right place.
__________________
Server: Windows 8.1 4gb RAM; 4TB SATA + others. Homebrew quad core AMD. Inputs: Haup. 980, 850 & 950Q on ATSC; Haup 1600 on ATSC & Comcast 2 DTAs with USBUIRT for NTSC. Haup 1800 on ATSC. HDHR Dual (ATSC). Sage 9.22 64 bit.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 01-30-2020, 06:00 AM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 869
Quote:
Originally Posted by VCRUser View Post
I checked into their forum, but couldn't find the place where this is discussed. Can you post a link? I'd be glad to add a supportive comment if I could find the right place.
+1. I will also.
__________________
Hardware: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU; 8GB (2 x 4GB); 2-4TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s HDD; Windows 7
Servers: ChannelsDVR, Plex, AnyStream, PlayOn,
Tuner: HDHomeRun Connect Quatro
Tuner: HDHomeRun Connect Duo
Sources: OTA, Sling Blue, Prime, Disney+,
Clients: ShieldTV (2), Fire TV Stick 4K (4)
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 01-30-2020, 08:27 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,799
https://forums.schedulesdirect.org/v...7&p=9987#p9987
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 01-30-2020, 08:42 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
Those forums are comatose!
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 01-30-2020, 09:53 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Those forums are comatose!
but maybe the SD people look in?
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300’s networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 01-31-2020, 01:22 AM
VCRUser VCRUser is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
Thanks. I found the topic, but can't post to it because apparenty though I'm registered with the SD service, I may not be registered with the forum - and i can't find a link to use for registration. I used the "contact us" so maybe the board admin will help me out. Meanwhile, if you know where they hide the registration link...
__________________
Server: Windows 8.1 4gb RAM; 4TB SATA + others. Homebrew quad core AMD. Inputs: Haup. 980, 850 & 950Q on ATSC; Haup 1600 on ATSC & Comcast 2 DTAs with USBUIRT for NTSC. Haup 1800 on ATSC. HDHR Dual (ATSC). Sage 9.22 64 bit.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 01-31-2020, 08:30 AM
emveepee emveepee is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 389
Are you guys really serious about abandoning SageTV because of this? That would be pretty much be the only case you could make.

If I was on the SD end I'd tell you to look at an XMLTV options they source, using their native service, mc2xml, or epg123. It's a business and why run a parallel service indefinitely for a few users. It might be different if there was a developer here willing to give some time estimates.

Martin
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 01-31-2020, 08:57 AM
btrcp2000 btrcp2000 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 888
My preference is to stay put, but per your comment about developers, lots of things would be different or better if any were available. I think we are probably okay for a while, and I'm okay putting time in, but I'm not putting more money into sage at this point.

I'm learning about Channels because it's interesting anyway, but I don;t want us to be without a DVR for a week while I figure it out. Done that before and it's very annoying.
__________________
[size=1]Current Server:V9 UNRAID Docker, SuperMicro x9dri-LNF4+, 32 GB ECC, 2x Xeon e5-2660v2, storage array 6TB, 2 Dish r5000HD tuners, 1 HDHomerun Quatro, 1 HDHomerun Extend
4 Nvidia Shield TVs with Miniclient

Last edited by btrcp2000; 01-31-2020 at 11:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 01-31-2020, 10:20 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by emveepee View Post
Are you guys really serious about abandoning SageTV because of this? That would be pretty much be the only case you could make.
The problem is that we are losing so many of the folks that did all of the developing. I believe the original SD work was done as a plugin by Slugger which was an alternative to the original guide data that still came from SageTV. A lot the work in recent years on SageTV, including the Android TV client development was done by stuckless but he has recently left. Fuzzy used to also help out and was a great resource in helping folks, but he also appears to be gone. Sure there are still a few folks around doing some great work - so thanks to all of those people.

If something big changes that SageTV depends on then who is going to be left to fix it? We have to start to get prepared for that to happen.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 01-31-2020, 02:06 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,657
I hope you all can take some comfort in that I have previously stated, I will do whatever is required to keep the Schedules Direct EPG working. If they EOL the current API version in a year, I will make sure we are already using the new version before then. I may poke around the beta version over the next few months, but I will not push any changes to the main project until the new API is out of beta.

One of the things a lot of users will like is that the service will start to allow up to 5 tokens at a time so you don't have multiple servers fighting over who gets the token.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 01-31-2020, 02:19 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
I hope you all can take some comfort in that I have previously stated, I will do whatever is required to keep the Schedules Direct EPG working. If they EOL the current API version in a year, I will make sure we are already using the new version before then. I may poke around the beta version over the next few months, but I will not push any changes to the main project until the new API is out of beta.

One of the things a lot of users will like is that the service will start to allow up to 5 tokens at a time so you don't have multiple servers fighting over who gets the token.
On behalf of every active SageTV user, thank you!
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, Unraid 6.9.2, sagetvopen-sagetv-server-opendct-java11 Docker
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K Max w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 01-31-2020, 03:20 PM
jpwegas jpwegas is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 492
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
I hope you all can take some comfort in that I have previously stated, I will do whatever is required to keep the Schedules Direct EPG working. If they EOL the current API version in a year, I will make sure we are already using the new version before then.
Thank you for this!

--John
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 01-31-2020, 03:26 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,475
Ditto on the thanks. As a long time user of only OTA and ripped DVD's I would certainly step up to take on SD changes but that would be a big task. Thankfully I don't have to for the near future at least.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 01-31-2020, 04:26 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
I hope you all can take some comfort in that I have previously stated, I will do whatever is required to keep the Schedules Direct EPG working. If they EOL the current API version in a year, I will make sure we are already using the new version before then. I may poke around the beta version over the next few months, but I will not push any changes to the main project until the new API is out of beta.

One of the things a lot of users will like is that the service will start to allow up to 5 tokens at a time so you don't have multiple servers fighting over who gets the token.
of course, besides Todd Rundgren, you’re now ‘our hero’
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300’s networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 01-31-2020, 06:21 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,657
What I find most interesting is that downloading images with the new API now requires authentication. I suspect we'll need to create a custom path in the image downloading code to know when to use a Schedules Direct token.

What I would prefer is that SDRipper can register a custom handler with the part of SageTV that handles image downloading (probably via an interface) and that would be how we can make sure we have a valid token for each request. I might attempt to implement this mechanism in the mean time.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV Docker Schedules direct cerickso88 SageTV for unRAID/Docker 6 02-24-2020 11:18 AM
SageTV V9, HDHomeRun, & Schedules Direct ttatraveler Hardware Support 9 06-01-2017 05:01 PM
Using Schedules Direct in UK jamesdisco SageTV United Kingdom 28 02-06-2017 11:54 AM
Plugin: Schedules Direct EPG Source for SageTV OSS Slugger SageTV v9 Customizations 89 10-11-2016 07:31 AM
Schedules Direct or what? Ryel SageTV EPG Service 6 01-25-2008 03:03 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.