SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-17-2020, 11:39 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,118
HDPVR audio: optical vs. rca inputs

As I continue to hunt HDPVR gremlins - the RCA L/R audio inputs: those only decode/process two channel stereo, correct? If I want 5.1 audio from a satellite receiver or set top box, then the toslink optical is the only way, right?
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-18-2020, 09:46 AM
dstanley's Avatar
dstanley dstanley is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: LaHave, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 291
Yes - the RCA inputs are stereo only - the only way for 5.1 sound recording (if on the source) is through the toslink optical cable.
__________________
SERVER: Intel Core i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz - UnRaid Server 6.8.0/DVB LibreELEC with Docker stuckless-sagetv-server-java9 MOTHERBOARD: ASRock-Z77 Extreme4 / 32GB RAM CACHE DRIVE: SSD 1TB ARRAY: 24TB/7 DRIVES PARITY: 8TB
EXTERNAL DEVICES: 4x HD-PVR's Firewire Channel Changing
TUNERS:NO LONGER RECORDING LIVETV
CLIENTS: 2xHD300 2xHD200 SONY ANDROIDTV MINI-CLIENT
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-18-2020, 02:03 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,118
Quote:
Originally Posted by dstanley View Post
Yes - the RCA inputs are stereo only - the only way for 5.1 sound recording (if on the source) is through the toslink optical cable.
super, thanks.
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
One HDPVR - Two inputs? davenlr Hardware Support 6 03-05-2010 06:44 PM
HDPVR Source - Weird Inputs jsonnabend Hardware Support 3 10-07-2009 07:12 AM
HD-PVR optical audio, dropping out? SageGk Hardware Support 1 12-19-2008 10:15 PM
HD-PVR optical audio sleonard Hardware Support 7 08-27-2008 09:08 PM
HD-100 : Only Audio Is Via Optical Out parkimar SageTV Media Extender 8 06-12-2008 05:41 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.