SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Clients Development

Notices

SageTV Clients Development This forum is for discussions relating to SageTV Open Source Clients Development.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #841  
Old 12-15-2021, 04:25 PM
cjbojrab cjbojrab is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Berwyn
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
What a difference when using the miniclient on the 4K MAX ... no problem at all playing MPEG2 with hardware decoding. Quick response on GUI.


@Josh ...

Is there any reason why SageTV cannot be moved to a USB Internal Storage flash drive. ?
What were the decoder settings you used for the Fire TV Stick 4K Max? I would like to get the MPEG2 hardware decoder working as well.
Reply With Quote
  #842  
Old 12-16-2021, 10:17 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,799
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjbojrab View Post
What were the decoder settings you used for the Fire TV Stick 4K Max? I would like to get the MPEG2 hardware decoder working as well.
The defaults ... but I do use OPENDCT on all my HDHomeRun units and that fixes any problems with the stream.

If you do not use OPENDCT you can try and set the miniclient to always remux..

Make sure you have the latest jar and SageTV transcoder plugin.
https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=66405
https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=66607
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 12-16-2021 at 10:24 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #843  
Old 12-17-2021, 10:41 AM
sacrament055 sacrament055 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 474
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
You really should state what your source is .... As using OPENDCT with connects the mpeg2 has no problem what so ever using EXOPLAYER.
Happens on ShieldTV as well as all of my FireTV devices. I do have OPENDCT in place. I will say that the video quality looks better (Smoother) with EXOPLAYER my only annoyance is it's issues with skipping. If I just let it play and don't skip it's great.
Reply With Quote
  #844  
Old 12-17-2021, 01:34 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,799
Quote:
Originally Posted by sacrament055 View Post
Happens on ShieldTV as well as all of my FireTV devices. I do have OPENDCT in place. I will say that the video quality looks better (Smoother) with EXOPLAYER my only annoyance is it's issues with skipping. If I just let it play and don't skip it's great.
I do not have problems skipping rewinding ... holding down rewind etc ... Are you sure you are using the defaults in your MiniClient and have the sage,jar from Josh also the sagetvtranscoder plugin ?

if you do ...
You might want to clear all data on your SageTV miniclient and start over with the defaults.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #845  
Old 12-17-2021, 02:16 PM
hvymetal hvymetal is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by sacrament055 View Post
Happens on ShieldTV as well as all of my FireTV devices. I do have OPENDCT in place. I will say that the video quality looks better (Smoother) with EXOPLAYER my only annoyance is it's issues with skipping. If I just let it play and don't skip it's great.
I never had good playback on the MiniClient without either using transcoding or recording with OpenDCT with EXOPLAYER. Even though the MiniClient should be able to remux the same as OpenDCT I could never get it to work. Not sure if remuxing in the client is even working. Nvidia Shield and FireTV sticks 4k have enough power for using Dynamic Mode. Non 4k will require fixed and always transcode with a bit rate 8K.

Try installing the the transcoder plugin and updated profiles for remuxing. Then Remux one video and try it. It should work.

https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=66607
Reply With Quote
  #846  
Old 12-17-2021, 03:40 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,799
This is a short vide of how fast it seeks with everything Josh has provided jar miniclient.


https://drive.google.com/file/d/1rH9...ew?usp=sharing
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #847  
Old 12-17-2021, 08:33 PM
gtallan gtallan is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by hvymetal View Post
I decided to update my SageTV Docker installation so Android Mini Client would work better. Below is a HOWTO for installing everything below in one UnRaid docker container:
That's a great list. Does jv711_MediaFormatParserPlugin actually work on linux? I could never quite understand that - I went through manual installation steps but couldn't tell! I probably didn't follow the thread fully.
Reply With Quote
  #848  
Old 12-17-2021, 08:44 PM
jhkoenig's Avatar
jhkoenig jhkoenig is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Posts: 181
Transcode MP4 to MKV?

So I am very happy with the performance and stability of the mini-client, but it is frustrating not to be able to play MP4 movies. Is there a way for the Sage server to transcode MP4s to a MKV file as needed?
__________________
Win10@16GB RAM, 30TB Disk across 6 disks. 2 Prime tuner units
Sage v9 (64bit) using OpenDCT to control the Primes
2 HD-300s, an Android mini-client, and a Windows client
Reply With Quote
  #849  
Old 12-17-2021, 09:00 PM
hvymetal hvymetal is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtallan View Post
That's a great list. Does jv711_MediaFormatParserPlugin actually work on linux? I could never quite understand that - I went through manual installation steps but couldn't tell! I probably didn't follow the thread fully.
No I thought it would but currently it has dependence on windows DLL's. Jv711 mention a another user submitted changes for Linux but he has not release as of yet. Good news it will fallback to the transcoder. You read the details in the MediaFormatParserPlugin thread.
Reply With Quote
  #850  
Old 12-29-2021, 07:47 PM
anotherhaus anotherhaus is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 26
This miniclient is very cool. I've tried installing it on a couple of Fire TV Stick 4K's and a 4K Max. I haven't studied the entire thread here but I have things mostly working with Exo Player with only a few errors popping up from time to time.

One thing I've noticed is that if I choose "Use Source" for audio channels I only get stereo, or maybe 3 channels. If I choose 5.1, I get 5.1 for the same sources. I'm testing with a Dolby channel check MVK file that has 7.1 audio.
__________________
SageTV Server 9 64-bit on Intel NUC7i3 recording to DS918+ // SageTV Client 9 (x3)
Reply With Quote
  #851  
Old 12-30-2021, 05:16 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,636
I picked up a cheap Galaxy Tab A7. I loaded up the miniclient and watched a local station (mpeg2 with HDHR Prime cable card) and it's fantastic - very smooth video using the default [Exoplayer].

I then tried to watch another show from a capture unit https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07TKMPCZH/
(mp4 recording)
which gave me an "Exo2mediaplayer - unexpected runtime error"
When I switch to IJK player, it does play, but the video isn't very smooth.

Is there a way I can get Exoplayer to play the mp4 content?

(I did try and use IJK player with the mpeg2 content and the video wasn't as smooth, and it pixelates heavily every time I enter a recording and when it skips commercials)
Reply With Quote
  #852  
Old 12-30-2021, 06:19 PM
hb4 hb4 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 342
Anyone know how to remove a server from the Firestick 4K Sage app without uninstalling and re-installing? I have three and want to just keep one of them.
__________________
Server: Intel i5-11400 @4.4GHz 6 cores Windows10 Pro, Sage 9.2.6.976, Comskip Donators
Capture: Now> Xfinity/TVEverywhere/Channels OpenDCT_0.5.32_x86.
Future> remote HDHR Prime with Firmware version 20150826
Storage: 120gB SSD, 4tB HD on Server
Network: Now> gb LAN; Future> 500Mb Comcast to WAN to 20Mb rural ISP.
Playback: FireStick 4K, miniclient V1.9.3
Tech Level: Hobbyist
Reply With Quote
  #853  
Old 12-30-2021, 06:32 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,636
tap and hold the server, should give you the option to remove
Reply With Quote
  #854  
Old 12-30-2021, 08:03 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,799
Josh,

There is confusion on what Jar to use if you can please clarify this ...


https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/sho...249#post632249
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #855  
Old 12-31-2021, 08:50 PM
technazz's Avatar
technazz technazz is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hamilton, ON, CA
Posts: 490
Server 9.2.6

Does 9.2.6 version include the Patched Sage.jar for HD transcoding?
__________________
SageTV V9.xx 2 x HD300's, 2 x Nvidia Shields Running Mini Client
Reply With Quote
  #856  
Old 01-01-2022, 10:43 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,799
Quote:
Originally Posted by technazz View Post
Does 9.2.6 version include the Patched Sage.jar for HD transcoding?
Right now I am also confused only Josh can answer this for sure.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #857  
Old 01-01-2022, 08:40 PM
jhkoenig's Avatar
jhkoenig jhkoenig is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhkoenig View Post
So I am very happy with the performance and stability of the mini-client, but it is frustrating not to be able to play MP4 movies. Is there a way for the Sage server to transcode MP4s to a MKV file as needed?
So now that I have actually followed ALL of the instructions regarding the Android client, everything gets transcoded on the fly to the client with outstanding results!
__________________
Win10@16GB RAM, 30TB Disk across 6 disks. 2 Prime tuner units
Sage v9 (64bit) using OpenDCT to control the Primes
2 HD-300s, an Android mini-client, and a Windows client
Reply With Quote
  #858  
Old 01-02-2022, 08:31 AM
jvl711's Avatar
jvl711 jvl711 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 803
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
Josh,

There is confusion on what Jar to use if you can please clarify this ...


https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/sho...249#post632249
Hi Edwin,

Saw your message on Patreon. Happy New Year! 9.2.6 has all changes that I have added to SageTV. It includes HD Transcoding and Remuxing. I generally post my changes to the core SageTV project, but they need to wait until there is a new release posted. That is why I post beta Sage.jar files. They are generally only needed until the next version of SageTV is released.

This is a good place to check: https://github.com/google/sagetv/blo...r/CHANGELOG.md

I have been working a lot on Android Client over the holidays....

Thanks,
Josh
__________________
Projects I am currently maintaining
SageTV Andoid Client
Media Format Parser Plugin
JavaFFmpegLibrary
SageTVTranscoder

If you like the work I am doing and would like to support it you can become a Patreon member.
Reply With Quote
  #859  
Old 01-02-2022, 08:57 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,799
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvl711 View Post
Hi Edwin,

Saw your message on Patreon. Happy New Year! 9.2.6 has all changes that I have added to SageTV. It includes HD Transcoding and Remuxing. I generally post my changes to the core SageTV project, but they need to wait until there is a new release posted. That is why I post beta Sage.jar files. They are generally only needed until the next version of SageTV is released.

This is a good place to check: https://github.com/google/sagetv/blo...r/CHANGELOG.md

I have been working a lot on Android Client over the holidays....

Thanks,
Josh
Great happy new Year thanks for the info.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #860  
Old 01-02-2022, 09:25 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,799
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvl711 View Post
Hi Edwin,

Saw your message on Patreon. Happy New Year! 9.2.6 has all changes that I have added to SageTV. It includes HD Transcoding and Remuxing. I generally post my changes to the core SageTV project, but they need to wait until there is a new release posted. That is why I post beta Sage.jar files. They are generally only needed until the next version of SageTV is released.

This is a good place to check: https://github.com/google/sagetv/blo...r/CHANGELOG.md

I have been working a lot on Android Client over the holidays....

Thanks,
Josh
You might want to remove the Jar from your first post it is 922.... once again thanks.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 01-02-2022 at 09:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV MiniClient for Android Indiegogo Campaign (Thanks) stuckless SageTV Clients Development 13 10-27-2020 01:49 PM
Android MiniClient 1.4.3 stuckless SageTV Clients Development 20 03-25-2019 10:32 AM
Android MiniClient 1.2.9 stuckless SageTV Clients Development 53 04-16-2018 07:30 AM
Android Miniclient and UK TV rickgillyon SageTV Clients Development 6 12-01-2016 05:58 PM
Android Miniclient on Mi Box Crashing SageTV Server v9 mackb SageTV Clients Development 9 11-27-2016 07:28 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.