SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-20-2008, 11:47 AM
wvd wvd is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3
MVP Slow Remote Control Response

I have an MVP connected to my network and it works great in streaming video from my dedicated PC running 6.3. The problem is the response time on remote control operations is awful. When I push a button on the remote, the red light on the front of the MVP blinks immediately, but the operation on the Sage interface displayed on the TV lags by about 2-3 seconds. This is most noticeable when trying to navigate through the SageTV playback menus -- when trying to pan through 40 recordings of a show it takes forever. This also makes it all but unbearable to watch live TV if you are a heavy channel surfer. I thought it might be something to do with the remote, but the same remote works great when navigating menus directly at the PC through the IR on the tuner card. The MVP is hardwired to the network, and the PC sits idle with only the service running. I would like to buy another one of these units, but the remote lag is making them less attractive to the rest of my household.

I'm new to this forum, so my apologies if this has been addressed before. Let me know if more environment specific details are needed.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-20-2008, 05:24 PM
matt91's Avatar
matt91 matt91 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1,185
have you updated the java from the initial sage install? There was one java version a year or so ago (search here and you'll find a discussion of it) that made a huge improvement in remote response time.

I'd bet that's it.

Matt
__________________
Server: Ubuntu 16.04 running Sage for Linux v9
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-20-2008, 06:35 PM
wvd wvd is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3
Java running on the SageTV machine? I did a quick search and found notes on changing the Java settings, but nothing about loading a different version of Java completely.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-20-2008, 09:30 PM
CollinR CollinR is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,305
update your java and remove v1.4
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-21-2008, 07:34 AM
wvd wvd is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks, I updated the Java client on the SageTV box, and the response is better. Still a little sluggish compared to the computer, but much more usable than before the change.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-21-2008, 08:18 AM
matt91's Avatar
matt91 matt91 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
I did a quick search and found notes on changing the Java settings, but nothing about loading a different version of Java completely.
Not that it really matters now, but here are a couple I found:

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=25628
http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=32125
http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=28529
__________________
Server: Ubuntu 16.04 running Sage for Linux v9
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-21-2008, 03:02 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
You may need to increase the JVM heap size on your server. Some time back I was experiencing a slow MVP and increasing the heap size really helped. You can check it by going to Setup->Help->System Information. Scroll down a bit. Just as an example my current JVM Heap Size is 188MB/325MB/533MB. The default maximum value is 200MB. If your Total and Max are both reading 200MB you need to increase it.

If you are indeed bumping into a heap size limit follow the instructions here to increase it:

http://forums.sage.tv/forums/showthr...13&postcount=9
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-26-2008, 04:27 AM
starfire starfire is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: England, UK
Posts: 505
Hi, I'm having the same issue with the MVP taking 2-3 secs. to respond to keypresses and its really irritating and causes WAF issues as keys end up being pressed twice or more and then you get the wrong menu etc...

My Java on the server is 1.6.0_05 and I've increased my JVM heap size to 512MB as I noticed it had hit total 200/max 200.

I've monitored my server which just runs in service mode and there is no noticable CPU usage spikes etc.

I use SageMC, I guess I could try removing that to see if it helps but I really like the interface.

Any other ideas, I would be interested in what sort of response times other users see with the MVP?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-27-2008, 12:05 PM
matt91's Avatar
matt91 matt91 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by starfire View Post
Any other ideas, I would be interested in what sort of response times other users see with the MVP?
I usually see a near-instantaneous response with my MVP. My server is *far* from speedy, and my Java heap size is still 200MB. I also run SageMC.

I would certainly run it with the default STV to see what happens.
__________________
Server: Ubuntu 16.04 running Sage for Linux v9
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-27-2008, 04:01 PM
starfire starfire is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: England, UK
Posts: 505
Thanks for your reply, very interesting to hear you get that sort of response time

Any other people get similar speeds?

I've today installed a PCI NIC rather than using the onboard and this seems so far to have helped a lot so maybe that was the cause, but I need to give it some more testing to see if the problem resurfaces.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-29-2008, 07:55 PM
tchapin tchapin is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 279
slow for me, too

My MVPs have a slow response, mostly in the menus. When playing back video, things seem ok. Switching back to the standard STV does not seem to make a difference for me.

Perhaps I will try installing a PCI network card.

BTW, things used to be speedy until I upgraded to the most recent Sage + SageMC. But, given that things are still slow w/ the default STV, my guess is that Sage is to blame.

--
Sage 6.3.10.166 / Java 1.6.0_03
SageMC STV 6.4.7a-fix / JAR 6.3.7a
PVR 150, IR-UID
Windows XP SP2, AMD Athlon 64 3500+ / 2GB RAM / 300GB HD rec space
JR Media Center 12.xxx (latest version), ORB v1
3 Media MVPs (only regular viewing sources)

Last edited by tchapin; 05-29-2008 at 07:59 PM. Reason: added signature
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-30-2008, 02:15 AM
starfire starfire is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: England, UK
Posts: 505
I'm a new user to Sage so have only used 6.3.10 and the latest SageMC, so cannot say whether it would have been faster with previous versions.

So far with the PCI NIC navigating the menus does seem to be a lot better than it was (tv playback was rarely a problem).

The only reason why I suspected the server's onboard NIC was when doing large file transfers I noticed the transfer rate was poor compared to other machines I had and also when playing back HDTV on my PC via the server it would stutter very occasionally, which I never had with my previous server config. When I monitored with task manager and perfmon there were no obvious problems though.

Worthwhile giving it a go if you have a spare card and slot.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New MCE Remote Software StephaneM Hardware Support 298 11-23-2009 06:13 PM
MVP: remote control gilded07 SageTV Media Extender 7 05-08-2008 06:42 AM
Control Media MVP from PC Tofu SageTV Media Extender 2 05-07-2008 01:40 PM
Does the HD-100 Suffer Slow Response & Pixilation TXVike SageTV Media Extender 9 04-10-2008 02:31 PM
Using a universal remote control mmac911 Hardware Support 2 12-13-2006 07:21 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.