SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Placeshifter

Notices

SageTV Placeshifter Discussion related to the SageTV Placeshifter application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Placeshifter software application should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-29-2008, 08:31 PM
electrofex electrofex is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: So Cal
Posts: 65
Angry Help With pasword

The place shifter works grate within my local network. I doe not ask for a password. This is not a problem for me within my local network. The problem is when I try to use the placeshifter out side my network. I am able to get to the log in screen but it will not except the correct password. I just wont go past the login screen. Just said wrong password.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-29-2008, 08:36 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,619
I'll toss out the simple one that you probably already know: It is case sensitive, so that's one thing to check. Other than that, I'm not sure what else wold cause a problem.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-29-2008, 09:30 PM
electrofex electrofex is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: So Cal
Posts: 65
Type of pasword

The pasword was just numbers. Could that be a problem?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-29-2008, 09:49 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,619
I just tried a user w/a numeric password, so that should work unless you are opening the numeric text input pop-up dialog & aren't actually entering numbers. The number keys aren't entering something else, are they? Were they remapped somehow?

You could try a different password & see what happens.

BTW: for testing, if you set this property to true in sage.properties, then it will ask for a password for local connections too:
miniclient/authenticate_local_connections=true

If no one else has an idea, I suggest checking with support to see what they say.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-29-2008, 09:54 PM
electrofex electrofex is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: So Cal
Posts: 65
sage.properties

how do I get to sage.properties?
also I been using the trial verision which just timed out it's 15 days.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-29-2008, 10:33 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,619
Quote:
Originally Posted by electrofex View Post
how do I get to sage.properties?
That file is in your SageTV install directory (or in the VirtualStore if using Vista) & you have to completely exit SageTV before editing it in a plain text editor such as Notepad. There's a FAQ about why changes may not stick.

Quote:
also I been using the trial version which just timed out it's 15 days.
It should be 21 days now, but an expired trial isn't something I can help with.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-30-2008, 07:25 AM
electrofex electrofex is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: So Cal
Posts: 65
bata

Is it worth trying the beta (6.4.5) ?

Last edited by electrofex; 07-30-2008 at 07:43 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-30-2008, 09:49 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,619
You could try it, but I don't know what version you are using nor whether the trial has been reset from that version to the beta. I'm not even sure if you are talking about the Placeshifter trial or the SageTV server trial.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-30-2008, 03:06 PM
CollinR CollinR is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,305
If numlock isn't on you cannot use the number pad, try entering the pw from the numbers atop the keyboard.

Go ahead and try another version many reset the trial so you can test more.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-30-2008, 08:14 PM
electrofex electrofex is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: So Cal
Posts: 65
Num Lock

That might be it. I switch to a all letter pasword and the problem went away.

Up grading to the beta did not reset the time out.

thank you for your help.

Now for the next problem.. Qam channels
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.