SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-15-2008, 08:08 AM
Beefcake550 Beefcake550 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 706
Help with handling HD Audio

I've read a couple of threads on making bluray backups playable on the extenders and I'm getting confused on the audio side.

What I'd like to do it this:
1) No messing with video side of things...I have no interest in reencoding for smaller/better/faster files.
2) I don't want to downsample the TruHD or DTS-MA tracks to DD or DTS.

I am looking for a way to keep the high-def goodness of the TruHD/DTS-MA/LPCM track on the bluray and have it play out the extenders HDMI port. I know bitstreaming doesn't work, I'd like to know what does. I wouldn't mind spending time reencoding it to some loss-less format if the fidelity could be kept in tact. I've read something about FLAC? maybe lossless WMA?

Please help/advise on how to proceed and where to obtain software to do this. Also, if there is already some post that explains how to do this, could you provide a direct link to that post? Thanks....

I'm trying to decommission my HTPC now that I have the HD200. It's an easy way for me to get my own PC again . If I can't do this, I will probably go out and get a bit-streaming card for the PC.

-Brian
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-15-2008, 08:50 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
I don't think the HD200 supports any lossless audio (yet). Hopefully FLAC will be supported (and TrueHD/DTS-HD may be supported) at some point.

You might be able to convert it to just PCM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-15-2008, 08:53 AM
vexhold's Avatar
vexhold vexhold is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hastings, MN
Posts: 353
I play FLAC currently using the HD200.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-15-2008, 08:56 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
Yeah, but not mutlichannel FLAC in a video file probably.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-15-2008, 08:57 AM
vexhold's Avatar
vexhold vexhold is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hastings, MN
Posts: 353
Point made.

**Goes back to corner**
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-15-2008, 09:14 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
Hey, it could be a bad guess, but everything I've heard about audio (in video files) on the extenders is that FLAC doesn't work. I've never tried it though, so who knows...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-15-2008, 11:45 AM
Beefcake550 Beefcake550 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 706
So is it safe to assume that everyone that is playing back mkvs through the HD200 is only using AC-3 or DTS?

It would seem like the HD200 could handle a PCM stream (not sure about lossless). Oh well, I'll just have to try feeding in an LPCM track in video and see what happens.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-15-2008, 11:55 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beefcake550 View Post
So is it safe to assume that everyone that is playing back mkvs through the HD200 is only using AC-3 or DTS?
For the moment at least.

Quote:
It would seem like the HD200 could handle a PCM stream (not sure about lossless). Oh well, I'll just have to try feeding in an LPCM track in video and see what happens.
The hardware is capable of 7.1 LPCM, I think Jeff confirmed that. But it can't do TrueHD or DTS-HD, and I don't think it can decode multichannel FLAC with video at the moment either.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-15-2008, 12:01 PM
Beefcake550 Beefcake550 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 706
Ok, so I would really just need to test video + LPCM audio and see if that works as is now. If that works, I'll go and look for a way to decode TruHD and DTS-MA to LPCM.

Thanks for the input stanger89.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-15-2008, 12:54 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
Might as well try FLAC too, you're not out anything.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-15-2008, 02:27 PM
Shield Shield is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
For the moment at least.



The hardware is capable of 7.1 LPCM, I think Jeff confirmed that. But it can't do TrueHD or DTS-HD, and I don't think it can decode multichannel FLAC with video at the moment either.


But it can pass through these things, right, if I have a receiver that will decode them?
__________________
HD300/HD200 clients
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-15-2008, 03:08 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
No, it can't bitstream TrueHD or DTS-HD. It's HDMI 1.2.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-15-2008, 03:12 PM
Shield Shield is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
No, it can't bitstream TrueHD or DTS-HD. It's HDMI 1.2.
What if I'm not using HDMI, but TOSLINK?
__________________
HD300/HD200 clients
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-15-2008, 03:40 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
HDMI 1.3 is the only connection that supports DD+, TrueHD, or DTS-HD bitstreams.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-15-2008, 04:40 PM
SWKerr SWKerr is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,178
Will it really make that much difference?

Now I went to my dad's over Thanksgiving and I could really tell a difference watching TV on his HDTV without a surround sound system. I have decent equipment on both HDTV but it is not high end by any means but I think it does sound pretty good.

My Onkyo receiver has so many different standards that it support that I've never even bothered to read all of them. One is DTS-HD. I currently have a ATI 3450 with the HDMI cord going directly into the receiver and everything sounds great. I have Center, Left, Right, Front, Rear and a subwoofer. Sound from Movies and most prime time HDTV shows sounds very directional and I am quite happy with it. I noticed a significant improvement when the HDPVR added 5.1 support so I know there can be a difference but are any of these new standard really going to make a big difference to my ears on mid range hardware.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-17-2008, 11:58 AM
Beefcake550 Beefcake550 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 706
Ok, so I haven't ahd much time to do the testing I mentioned because I live in MA and we had an ice storm on last Friday which caused me to lose power until yesterday afternoon. Don't worry, we have a generator and had the SageTV server up and running on generator power within minutes .

I only had time to test two things
1) Ocean's 11 Bluray rip to m2ts file with AC3 soundtrack
2) Random Bluray rip to m2ts file with only TruHD soundtrack.

#1 worked perfectly.
#2 had no video, but there was intermittent audio coming out of the analog L/R jacks of the HD200. Nothing over HDMI

I will hopefully have to time to find a BluRay with only LPCM track tonight and test that out. If that doesn't work, I'll move onto trying a multichannel FLAC video (once I convert the soundtarck to that with eacto3 (or whatever that tool is called).

-B
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-18-2008, 09:10 AM
Beefcake550 Beefcake550 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 706
I found time last night to try out Cars bluray. I used tsmuxer to create a m2ts file with just the video and the lpcm track. Unfortunately, it didn't work on my analog out setup. I will try the HDMI out setup tonight.

Since then, I think I've almost given up on bluray playback with HD Audio (until that new firmware comes out which supports it).

I've installed MyMovies on the server and client (old HTPC). I'm running VMC to play movies now pretty easily. All movies show up in a single menu (whether DVD or BluRay) and MyMovies automates the process of mounting the image on the server and launching PowerDVD. When I close PowerDVD, it even bring up VMC again for me. It would be nice if I could get it to launch PowerDVD for DVDs as well, but oh well, I'm sure it's not hard.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another HD question, audio this time opy01 Hardware Support 2 09-25-2008 07:20 AM
HD Extender Output HDMI + Analog Audio? jasoninva SageTV Media Extender 3 08-18-2008 03:14 PM
hdmi audio from HD extender to 28" LCD HANNS HG281DPB bjkiller SageTV Media Extender 19 06-07-2008 06:56 PM
List of issues Sage 6.3.6 with HD extender Spriter SageTV Beta Test Software 5 01-24-2008 09:31 AM
HD Audio? jimwhite SageTV Media Extender 2 01-11-2008 11:11 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.